Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 21st December 2007, 04:37 PM
Frank616 Offline

F8 keyring automation in KDE?

I'm new to Fedora, but have used Xandros for the past 6 years full-time. F8 (KDE) accurately detected my Intel Wireless card and set up the driver, and it works just fine. I had to put a password for my router into the keyring, and the password I use is long and convoluted. I may have made a mistake the first time I put it into the keyring, and now it does not always start the wireless for me, but continues to prompt me for the password when booting. Two questions:

1) How can I edit the password for wlan0 in the keyring?

2) Can I automate the use of the keyring so that I do not have to unlock the keyring every time I reboot?

I've searched the forum already, and have found some information for F6 and F7, and something about pam somethingorother, but nothing that appears to answer the two questions I have posted here.

Thanks.

Frank.
Old 21st December 2007, 04:43 PM
kjallcock Offline

You haven't done anything wrong.
As a workaround, there is a pam module that you can use which will use your login password to open your keyring.

If you have auto-login on though, and don't enter a password then this isn't an option.
This is my single biggest gripe with linux ... I hate putting that password in each time I boot

If anyone has a way of not having to put a password in to allow networkmanager to connect to wlan I would love to know.
It has been in the pipeline for ages but never seems to arrive.
Old 21st December 2007, 04:50 PM
Dangermouse Offline
Administrator - (On Leave)

Theres a simple way here
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/...d.php?t=172827
Old 21st December 2007, 06:50 PM
kjallcock Offline

Talking

Worked ! and so simple ....

I think i'm gonna cry ...
Old 22nd December 2007, 12:28 AM
Iron_Mike Offline