Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #16  
Old 27th February 2008, 04:05 PM
SendDerek Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 198
You're welcome!

There isn't a catch that I've come across. The only thing that I've noticed is that they are mostly there for allowing you to host your website to family and friends. It says it right in their FAQ:
Quote:
We're more work and family friendly.
Also:
Quote:
you are a 100% free, no strings attached member or our community.
They seem to be really good so far! I've been using them for about 2 weeks now and things are pretty speedy. It's a great service they're offering. Check out the FAQ when you get the chance and get some of your questions/concerns answered:
http://www.justfree.com/faq.jsp

I have noticed a few quirks about them though. One is that they don't have their support email anywhere on their page (it's support@justfree.com BTW). And two is that they whitelist all of the uploadable files (files with extentions .zip, .tar.gz, ect... are blocked for now). Even .swf files are blocked at the moment but they are trying to decide if they should allow them or not. I think they probably have since I talked with them last but I haven't checked. Once you do get in touch with support, they're very fast to respond and help you with your issue. It's great so far! I recommend them to anybody.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 27th February 2008, 04:08 PM
Angry Dog Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
seems good - id want to use it for my company though lol
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 27th February 2008, 04:18 PM
SendDerek Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 198
Then you'll probably be interested in something a little more reputable.

How large is your company? With a good, strong internet connection and a nice computer you should be able to host your own website if it's a small to medium business (I would imagine anyways).
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 27th February 2008, 04:21 PM
Angry Dog Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
small to medium covers it.. its just a database list of cars i supply ecu remaps for.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 27th February 2008, 04:28 PM
SendDerek Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 198
How much traffic do you expect to your website? 100, 1000, 100000 per day?

If it's relatively small traffic, I would say go for your own hosting solution. If it's larger, then find a place to host your site for $4 a month. I've seen 'em for $3.95 per month (I don't remember the name though, sorry). Justfree.com gives you 3 mySQL databases for free. You could probably still host your site there and then upgrade in the future if it takes off. Just my $.02.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 27th February 2008, 04:30 PM
Angry Dog Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16
i'd say 1000 hits a month..

i may end up setting up a shop type site on it too.. i have the option of paying £50 a year to get 2gb of space on a server...
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11th March 2008, 09:51 AM
fedoranewbi3 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 14
Quote:
yum install php httpd system-config-httpd mod_ssl
Setting up Install Process
Parsing package install arguments
Resolving Dependencies
--> Running transaction check
---> Package mod_ssl.x86_64 1:2.2.8-1.fc8 set to be updated
---> Package system-config-httpd.noarch 5:1.4.4-1.fc8 set to be updated
---> Package php.x86_64 0:5.2.4-3 set to be updated
---> Package httpd.x86_64 0:2.2.8-1.fc8 set to be updated
--> Finished Dependency Resolution

Dependencies Resolved

================================================== ===========================
Package Arch Version Repository Size
================================================== ===========================
Installing:
mod_ssl x86_64 1:2.2.8-1.fc8 updates 86 k
php x86_64 5.2.4-3 fedora 1.3 M
system-config-httpd noarch 5:1.4.4-1.fc8 fedora 623 k
Installing for dependencies:
httpd x86_64 2.2.8-1.fc8 updates 974 k

Transaction Summary
================================================== ===========================
Install 4 Package(s)
Update 0 Package(s)
Remove 0 Package(s)

Total download size: 2.9 M
Is this ok [y/N]: y
Downloading Packages:
(1/4): httpd-2.2.8-1.fc8. 100% |=========================| 974 kB 00:03
ftp://ftp.rhd.ru/pub/fedora/linux/re...-3.x86_64.rpm: [Errno 4] IOError: [Errno ftp error] 421 There are too many connected users, please try later.
Trying other mirror.
(2/4): php-5.2.4-3.x86_64 100% |=========================| 1.3 MB 00:09
(3/4): system-config-http 100% |=========================| 623 kB 00:03
(4/4): mod_ssl-2.2.8-1.fc 100% |=========================| 86 kB 00:00
Running rpm_check_debug
Running Transaction Test
Finished Transaction Test
Transaction Test Succeeded
Running Transaction
Installing: httpd ######################### [1/4]
Installing: mod_ssl ######################### [2/4]
Installing: system-config-httpd ######################### [3/4]
Installing: php ######################### [4/4]

Installed: mod_ssl.x86_64 1:2.2.8-1.fc8 php.x86_64 0:5.2.4-3 system-config-httpd.noarch 5:1.4.4-1.fc8
Dependency Installed: httpd.x86_64 0:2.2.8-1.fc8
Complete!
[root@localhost derek]# chkconfig httpd on
bash: chkconfig: command not found
Sorry for being such a loser, but whats the problem here?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11th March 2008, 10:14 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by fedoranewbi3
Sorry for being such a loser, but whats the problem here?
Wow. That's a bit odd. Please post results of command: echo $PATH

V
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11th March 2008, 11:05 AM
fedoranewbi3 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 14
/usr/kerberos/sbin:/usr/kerberos/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/home/derek/bin
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11th March 2008, 11:23 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by fedoranewbi3
/usr/kerberos/sbin:/usr/kerberos/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/home/derek/bin
OK, I think I know what's wrong: you did not do a full root login to the terminal. Try:
Code:
[root@localhost derek]# su -
That's "su" followed by a space and then a dash ("-"). You should see:
Code:
[root@localhost ~]#
Then try the chkconfig... stuff again.

V
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11th March 2008, 11:48 AM
fedoranewbi3 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hlingler
OK, I think I know what's wrong: you did not do a full root login to the terminal. Try:
Code:
[root@localhost derek]# su -
That's "su" followed by a space and then a dash ("-"). You should see:
Code:
[root@localhost ~]#
Then try the chkconfig... stuff again.

V
Thanks a ton. It WORKS.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11th March 2008, 11:54 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
Glad to hear that. For future reference, using "su" alone gets you root-user privileges, but not root-user environment (HOME folder, PATH - as you discovered, etc., etc., etc.). Personally, I find it pointless, so I always use a full root login with "su -".

Regards,
V
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 18th March 2008, 11:37 PM
Night Fire Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 74
Ok I have to be missing something, being a noob and all. My problem is when i type in my ip it brings me to the router. i do have port 80 fwd. So my question is what am I missing? If I type in my internal ip 192.168.2.11 I see the page.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 22nd March 2008, 04:51 PM
demody Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Same as Night Fire

Quote:
Originally Posted by Night Fire
Ok I have to be missing something, being a noob and all. My problem is when i type in my ip it brings me to the router. i do have port 80 fwd. So my question is what am I missing? If I type in my internal ip 192.168.2.11 I see the page.

Thanks
I have the same problem as Night Fire. 192.168.2.50 gives me the default "Fedora Test Page" as you said would happen in your tutorial, but when I attempt to use the website created with DNS it goes to my Router login page.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 27th March 2008, 09:56 PM
Davedom6766 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Thanx

This guide worked great along with my friends knowledge I have my site up.
It is east.isgreat.org
__________________
Me again Davedom

Visit my site: east.isgreat.org

The Web World

Last edited by Davedom6766; 22nd June 2008 at 10:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
free, selfhosted, server, setup, tutorial, web

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(noob) Cannot play audio files hosted on Windows server, Linux OK nezwick Using Fedora 7 10th February 2008 06:35 PM
VNC Server Config Tutorial darkscript Servers & Networking 7 21st September 2007 11:55 AM
How to set up a simple web server - Tutorial chichikov Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 3 15th August 2006 01:48 PM
PostGreSQL 8.1.4 Initial Setup and Config Tutorial eengnerd Using Fedora 0 2nd August 2006 11:52 PM
add banners to free hosted sites vinhdt Using Fedora 2 29th November 2005 02:29 AM


Current GMT-time: 23:51 (Friday, 24-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Itaugua Instagram Photos - Krasnoarmeyskaya Instagram Photos - Lishu Photos