Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 20th January 2008, 06:29 PM
Cedar Offline

fedora 8 media server for ps3

beginner to linux here, ive been wanting to share my music library to my ps3, everything i try seems to fail miserably! installed ushare everything semmed to work when i go to the web "http://localhost:49153/web/ushare.html" the folder i am sharing appears and shows the mdiaserver, however when i search for the server on the ps3 it doesnt show. So i went for mediatomb, compiled and installed all required packages, when i try to run it it gives me the error:

"ERROR: The connection to the MySQL database has failed: mysql_error (2002): "Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock' (2)"

tried to search for the error and cant find anything. if anyone can help me out ive been at this for weeks and have experienceed nothing but sheer failure! im absolute beginner at linux, can anyone give me a basic step by step tutorial on how to share my media (mostly mp3)?

cheers
Old 20th January 2008, 06:31 PM
Cedar Offline

all the tutorials on the subject are based on ubuntu, followed all of them and always get stalled somewhere.
Old 7th February 2008, 02:37 AM
icicles Offline

Error, libupnp < 1.4.2 !

Yeah, I'm getting stuck too. when I try to compile ushare-1.1a I get this:
Quote:
Checking for compiler available...
Checking for locales ...
Checking for ifaddrs ...
Checking for langinfo ...
Checking for iconv ...
Checking for libixml ...
Checking for libthreadutil ...
Checking for libupnp >= 1.4.2 ...
Error, libupnp < 1.4.2 !
See file "config.log" produced by configure for more details.
been googling for a while but can't seem to find a fix...
Old 8th March 2008, 08:10 AM
stoomart Offline

Greetings all,

Running the default ushare package in F8 (currently version 1.1a-3.fc8) works fine for me to stream music, pictures, and videos to my PS3.
Here are the MANDITORY lines I had to change:

USHARE_DIR=/path/to/files