Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora Resources > Guides & Solutions (No Questions)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Guides & Solutions (No Questions) Post your guides here (No links to Blogs accepted). You can also append your comments/questions to a guide, but don't start a new thread to ask a question. Use another forum for that.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Old 1st February 2008, 07:08 PM
BlownCPU Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Gatwick, United Kingdom
Posts: 171
thanks for the info
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2nd February 2008, 02:41 AM
mpajoh Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 343
Is there always a presto package available when full packages are available?
If not what is the lag time between the two?
__________________
I use F20 and Gnome, with all updates applied, on a X86_64 kernel with 4gb of DRAM and Evga Geforce 7600 GS PCI-E 256mb DDR2 video card.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2nd February 2008, 03:09 AM
sideways Offline
Retired User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by marko
But some rpm's include config files that you have to edit, then how does
presto work around your changes? If the original rpm isn't necessarily retained
and presto is using the actual on disk copy that you've edited for your
personal configuration, I'm not sure I understand how it could handle that?
Anyway, I guess it works somehow and that's what matters to me.

Mark
The rpm maintainer can specify files to never overwrite using .rpmnew and .rpmsave extensions
http://www.linux.com/feature/121476


This is a good development, and about time (I might actually update openoffice in future). Now if they can just make the metadata a delta too (duh)
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2nd February 2008, 03:51 AM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 23
Posts: 9,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by marko
But some rpm's include config files that you have to edit, then how does
presto work around your changes? If the original rpm isn't necessarily retained
and presto is using the actual on disk copy that you've edited for your
personal configuration, I'm not sure I understand how it could handle that?
Anyway, I guess it works somehow and that's what matters to me.

Mark
RPM keeps track of which configuration files shouldn't be touched - These are the 'rpmnew' and 'rpmsave' files that Sideways spoke of. I'm guessing in the case of those files, the updated configuration file is included and then deltarpm decides if it should save your configuration before applying it or if it should leave the configuration in place and append .rpmnew to the filename for example.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpajoh
Is there always a presto package available when full packages are available?
If not what is the lag time between the two?
It depends on the deltarpm repository maintainer, but in this case yes. The repository sync every hour iirc and the server needs a bit of time to build the delta packages so I'd imagine the difference is no more than three hours. But if a deltarpm isn't found it falls back to the full package, so you don't have to worry about 404 errors.

Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2nd February 2008, 01:07 PM
sideways Offline
Retired User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,999
Has anyone tested the difference when doing an update on a clean install? I tried it from a livecd session but both methods indicated a 313Mb download.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 2nd February 2008, 03:27 PM
bmvbab Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: India
Age: 33
Posts: 376
sideways....they both show only the total package size based on the rpm packages and not the drpms...dont know why this has not been implemented or working, but the actual download time and size would be very less than what is shown.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 2nd February 2008, 03:36 PM
koperry Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Age: 51
Posts: 84
It does speed up a fresh install. I went in on a fresh install and ran rm /var/run/yum.pid, yes and then installed yumex, then went in and installed fastest mirror and presto along with any other yum options you may want then ran yum update from the cli and it seemed to be a much quicker initial update on the fresh install.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 2nd February 2008, 04:11 PM
havenoclu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 200
Wow, this is great. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 2nd February 2008, 10:02 PM
sideways Offline
Retired User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmvbab
sideways....they both show only the total package size based on the rpm packages and not the drpms...dont know why this has not been implemented or working, but the actual download time and size would be very less than what is shown.
But has anyone actually confirmed this? ie with real measured stats, not just "guesswork".

From what I read, unless the installed rpms come from a deltarpm enabled repo originally then yum-presto won't make any difference, and I don't think the install disk repos are deltarpm enabled.

Perhaps in F9.

So, yum-presto only works well once you have done a few large updates with it, after a clean install it makes no difference.

I think.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 2nd February 2008, 10:30 PM
adrianx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South Africa
Posts: 954
Quote:
Originally Posted by sideways
But has anyone actually confirmed this? ie with real measured stats, not just "guesswork".

From what I read, unless the installed rpms come from a deltarpm enabled repo originally then yum-presto won't make any difference, and I don't think the install disk repos are deltarpm enabled.

Perhaps in F9.

So, yum-presto only works well once you have done a few large updates with it, after a clean install it makes no difference.

I think.
Hi Sideways,

Even though I have not done a fresh install, I can tell you that tonight (8:00pm GMT+2) I did an update. The total update was approx. 72MB. I installed presto about 2 days ago, so none of my packages were drpm's. I was expecting to see a 50% reduction in bandwith, but it was actually a whole lot more! It is almost as if ( by some miracle ) "it reads" the packages you have installed, then it does a diff and re-packages whatever you have installed.

In other words - it converts drpm into rpm and does a normal yum update. Check it out. You won't be disappointed.
__________________
Registered Linux User 460110
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 2nd February 2008, 10:40 PM
sideways Offline
Retired User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrianx
Hi Sideways,

Even though I have not done a fresh install, I can tell you that tonight (8:00pm GMT+2) I did an update. The total update was approx. 72MB. I installed presto about 2 days ago, so none of my packages were drpm's. I was expecting to see a 50% reduction in bandwith, but it was actually a whole lot more! It is almost as if ( by some miracle ) "it reads" the packages you have installed, then it does a diff and re-packages whatever you have installed.

In other words - it converts drpm into rpm and does a normal yum update. Check it out. You won't be disappointed.
Well if that's the case, it really is great! One of the true annoyances of starting up a fresh fedora install is the several hundred megabytes of automatic updates applied (Especially if openoffice has an update)
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 3rd February 2008, 01:38 AM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 23
Posts: 9,224
I've tested the reported download size since it used to show the DRPM size... I'm not sure why it switched, but the reported size shows the "normal" size, once you start downloading the drpms you'll find the actual download is much less.

As for the fresh install, Jonathan (the presto repo maintainer) keeps his drpms until the release hits EOL - So even if you have a fresh install you'll benefit from the bandwidth savings.
Firewing1
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 5th February 2008, 10:10 PM
leadgolem Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Age: 29
Posts: 2,857
Due to my own stupidity I recently had to reinstall fedora 8. I just did the system update with presto all setup. I had to download 188 full packages, and 95 drpms. The whole update process took about 35 minutes, and was supposed to include the 476 megs of updates. My connection isn't great, and there is no way I got 476mb in 35 minutes.
__________________
S.C.O.U.R.G.E. Heroes of lesser renown, contributor.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 5th February 2008, 10:43 PM
sideways Offline
Retired User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,999
yum-presto is quite obviously the greatest addition to fedora in its (short) history.

However, it's also a f**king obvious way to manage updates, and the fact it hasn't been done this way before is shockingly embarrassing.

I have posted in the past that the metadata should surely be a diff, you don't want a 10mb download of metadata when you're just asking yum to install a 35kb telnet server for example.

kudos to the deltarpm engineers, but it was a long time coming, and an obvious common-sense solution.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 5th February 2008, 11:12 PM
marko Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Laurel, MD USA
Posts: 6,050
Did any other distribution go with delta packages before Fedora? Just wondering...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bandwidth, presto, save, speed, updates

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Presto has no data for updates jbkt23 Using Fedora 12 29th September 2009 05:26 AM
Presto and new keys import-updates robert-e Fedora Focus 4 13th September 2008 10:55 PM
Downloads (at any speed) choking network bandwidth. Minnek Servers & Networking 13 12th March 2008 09:02 PM
problem with updates and browsing speed kamil1984 Servers & Networking 2 12th November 2007 11:38 PM
yum-presto - fast updates for Fedora 7 - make it ROCK SOLID Valent Using Fedora 6 9th April 2007 12:25 PM


Current GMT-time: 17:44 (Thursday, 18-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat