Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 30th January 2008, 04:58 PM
RastaCalavera Offline

Open Office Install from disk

My dad made me a data disk that had the install version of open office for linux but I can't get it to install....I am new to this (kind of) and it is very frustrating. I've tried using kget and some other programs to make it run and opened it up in konqueror to see the files but nothing will install it. I am not connected to the internet with my fedora tower so I can't use yum or add remove software for whatever reason.....help me out please!!! I can add screen shots later if anyone needs to see whats up and file extensions and what not. I am running the !686 kernel on my old computer. What are the correct file extensions for linux? I know all the old windows ones and I am very good in dos but terminal is pretty different, no cd c: or .exe files here, whats the deal?
Old 31st January 2008, 04:23 PM
bbfuller Offline

Hello RastaCalavera

Easiest thing is to copy the file off the CD you have into a directory on your hard disk.

With the CD inserted, you should have an icon for it on the desktop. Clicking on the icon should open a file manager. If the file is the usual one then it will be called something like:

OOo_2.3.1_LinuxIntel_install_wJRE_en-US.tar.gz

the tar.gz suffix is a linux form of compression like zip, which linux also uses. Not all files in Linux have or need suffixes.

You should be able to "right click - copy" the file.

I make a directory in my home area called boxroom for this sort of thing but you will find that you have a directory in Fedora which is called "Download". Let's use that for now. Open up a file manager on your "Home" area. you will have an icon on the panel for it, open up the Downloads area and "right click - paste". So far so Windows like.