Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 30th January 2008, 08:11 PM
SpectrumDT Offline

Recommend me a music player and a video player?

Hello. I am a Linux newbie, having recently installed Linux, and now I am looking for good programs to fill the shoes of the various programs I used to used in Windows.

Among other things, I need a good music player and a good video player. It can be a single program that does both, or two different ones, I don't mind. I do, however, have some requirements.

1. Both players must have the "skip N seconds back/forward" feature. (In Windows, WinAmp and GOM player have this, but most other players, AFAIK, do not.) Bonus points if you can customize the interval N.

2. Both players must have the option to set up global hotkeys, so you can pause, play and skip from anywhere without having to find the program window.

3. The music player must have the option to minimize to the system tray or equivalent (and still play, of course).

Can anyone recommend me some players that fit the above requirements?

Thanks in advance.
- Spectrum
Old 30th January 2008, 11:03 PM
Bslagowski Offline

For music player I'd say consider using MPD and GMPC as a front end.

1. This feature MAY take a bit more work. I know you can "seek" ahead a certain amount of seconds via mpc and the command line. I'm surprised this feature isn't already in GMPC (perhaps it is and I'm just not aware!). I'll get back to you on this.

2. In GMPC go to Music->Preferences->Multimedia Keys. Works great.

3. Simple again. Go to Music->Preferences->Interface and check the "Hide on Close" box. It will show up in the system tray. You can pause, play, go forward/back by right-clicking on the icon. You can check this out too, it may do more - not sure. http://mpd.wikia.com/wiki/Client:Mpd-applet

Code:
su -
yum install mpd mpc gmpc
Once installed check this for configuring:
http://mpd.wikia.com/wiki/Configuration