Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #16  
Old 15th February 2008, 06:40 AM
escapeflowne Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by kantmakm
So, once I had sound working I kicked off updates. Unfortunately I had been looking for some apps off of the development repository prior to doing that and my updates grabbed all the fc9 alpha release stuff and completely disabled my machine.

So, I reinstalled from f8 dvd. no sound. added model=fujitsu to the end of my modprobe.conf file, rebooted and had sound - literally that simple after jacking around w/ all the alsa libs for days before and doing model= in both f8 and ubuntu.

there are still probs w/ alsa mixer, etc., but at least there's sound and that's enough for me to move on w/ ditching vista as a primary OS
when you run alsamixer now what do you get ?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 15th February 2008, 07:41 AM
chepioq Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Aubagne France
Age: 59
Posts: 534
If you are problems with permission add your user in group:
-pulse
-pulse-access
-pulse-rt
For the problem with policykit try this , not in root::
Code:
polkit-grant --gain org.pulseaudio.acquire-high-priority
polkit-grant --gain org.pulseaudio.acquire-real-time
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 15th February 2008, 05:59 PM
kantmakm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9
It Actually appears to be running fine now with just one problem (though I don't have a mic handy so I havn't tested input.) The one problem is that there is no output to headphones.

PulseAudio volume control tells me the output device is ALSA PCM on hw:0 (ALC262 Analog via DMA) Alsamixer tells me the card and chip are pulseaudio.



Now if I can just get the built in webcam working...
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 17th February 2008, 05:38 AM
lawson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by escapeflowne
AFAIK, there is no alsa-base in fedora in /etc/modprobe.d folder. is there ?
I don't think there is by default, but my understanding was that if I created it in modprobe.d, alsa would know to look for it. This was kind of a shot in the dark, and I didn't really expect it to work.
Quote:
what do you get when you simply run alsamixer as root ? have you tried removing alsa-plugins-pulseaudio ?
OK, before removing alsa-plugins-pulseaudio, running alsamixer as root gave me the first image below. The card and chip are both listed as pulseaudio, and nothing is muted. After removing alsa-plugins-pulseaudio, running alsamixer as root gave me the second image. The card is HDA Intel and the chip is SigmaTel STAC 9228. But, removing alsa-plugins-pulseaudio didn't help: I still have no sound.

Quote:
If you are problems with permission add your user in group:
-pulse
-pulse-access
-pulse-rt
For the problem with policykit try this , not in root::
Code:

polkit-grant --gain org.pulseaudio.acquire-high-priority polkit-grant --gain org.pulseaudio.acquire-real-time
I also tried taking chepioq's suggestions above, but with no success. Interestingly, when I try to open Pulseaudio Volume Control (as non-root), I get a message saying "Connection failed: Connection refused".
Also at times running alsamixer (as both root and normal user) gives me a "alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default" message. But I can't seem to reproduce it right now, and I can't remember if the reason is "no such device" or "permission denied". I'll try again tomorrow, I suppose.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	alsmxr_pulseaudio.png
Views:	112
Size:	142.6 KB
ID:	15106   Click image for larger version

Name:	alsmxr_no_pulseaudio.png
Views:	123
Size:	147.0 KB
ID:	15107  
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 17th February 2008, 09:54 AM
escapeflowne Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 55
it seems fedora has detected your audio hardware correctly now when running system-config-soundcard do you stiil not get any sound from speaker or headphone ?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 17th February 2008, 03:54 PM
lawson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Nope, system-config-soundcard still doesn't give any sound from speaker or headphone. Alsamixer is no longer working this morning; when I run it, I get this:
Code:
alsamixer
*** PULSEAUDIO: Unable to connect: Connection refused

alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default: Connection refused
Is there any chance that uninstalling pulseaudio completely might do something? I'm getting the impression that it's creating quite a few problems, and may be the root cause of my troubles. Or is pulseaudio so deeply integrated into F8 that there's no chance of getting sound without it?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 17th February 2008, 05:21 PM
escapeflowne Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawson
Nope, system-config-soundcard still doesn't give any sound from speaker or headphone. Alsamixer is no longer working this morning; when I run it, I get this:
Code:
alsamixer
*** PULSEAUDIO: Unable to connect: Connection refused

alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default: Connection refused
Is there any chance that uninstalling pulseaudio completely might do something? I'm getting the impression that it's creating quite a few problems, and may be the root cause of my troubles. Or is pulseaudio so deeply integrated into F8 that there's no chance of getting sound without it?
if system-config-soundcard does not produce any sound then you are back to square 1 and pulseaudio is not the root of your problem.

your case is completely opposite of mine. on ubuntu 7.04 i had no sound but fedora 7 gave me sound. and now in f8 pulseaudio is awesome since i can control my onboard audio and the soundblaster card without disabling any of them. maybe you should file a bugzilla report.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 18th February 2008, 08:09 PM
xvan911 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mexico
Age: 31
Posts: 17
Hi there!

I have the same soundcard (HDA ICH8 Intel - SIGMATEL 9227) on an Inspiron 1420, and I have no sound out of the speakers, the curious thing is that before I updated FC8 I had sound, I mean; after updating a fresh FC8 install the sound was gone.

I tried some of the hints of this thread and I know that the sound card is recognized by FC, evenmore I start Amarok or any other multimedia app and it seems like is playing sth, but as I said, there is no sound.

Any Ideas?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 19th February 2008, 02:43 AM
lawson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13
xvan911, I can't claim to have any good ideas, but I can tell you that there is an open bug on bugzilla for this problem (see https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=432570). Comment #15 reports exactly what you described: sound works on the 2.6.23.1-42.fc8 kernel, but not on more recent versions. Let's hope this gets fixed soon!
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 20th February 2008, 07:22 AM
xvan911 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mexico
Age: 31
Posts: 17
thanks for the reply lawson

I saw the page you gave me but I couldn't see any solution yet, but well despite that, I "solved" it or sth like it,

I edited the grub.conf file, I added original entry:

title Fedora (2.6.23.1-42.fc8)
root (hd0,2)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.23.1-42.fc8 ro root=LABEL=/12 rhgb quiet
initrd /initrd-2.6.23.1-42.fc8.img


to the grub made by the update, as you know I have more than two Fedora entries:

I hope this could help you, here it is the complete grub.conf:

# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
# all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
# root (hd0,2)
# kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/sda9
# initrd /initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/sda
default=0
timeout=5
splashimage=(hd0,2)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Fedora (2.6.23.15-137.fc8PAE)
root (hd0,2)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.23.15-137.fc8PAE ro root=/dev/sda9 rhgb quiet
initrd /initrd-2.6.23.15-137.fc8PAE.img
title Fedora (2.6.23.15-137.fc8)
root (hd0,2)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.23.15-137.fc8 ro root=/dev/sda9 rhgb quiet
initrd /initrd-2.6.23.15-137.fc8.img
title Fedora (2.6.23.1-42.fc8)
root (hd0,2)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.23.1-42.fc8 ro root=LABEL=/12 rhgb quiet
initrd /initrd-2.6.23.1-42.fc8.img
title openSUSE 10.3
root (hd0,1)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.22.5-31-default root=/dev/disk/by-id/scsi-SATA_ST9160821AS_5MA8VZ7B-part8 vga=0x314 resume=/dev/sda6 splash=silent showopts
initrd /initrd-2.6.22.5-31-default
title Windows
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader +1

When I load Fedora I choose this one "title Fedora (2.6.23.1-42.fc8)"

I just can say that this gave sound out of the speaker but I can't explain it,
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 21st February 2008, 05:07 AM
lawson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Reverting back to the old kernel definitely sounds like the sensible thing to do here. The problem is that it's no longer on my machine, as far as I can tell (i.e., there's no longer any sign of it in my boot partition). Is there an easy way to get it back, short of a fresh reinstall of F8?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 21st February 2008, 09:45 AM
escapeflowne Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawson
Reverting back to the old kernel definitely sounds like the sensible thing to do here. The problem is that it's no longer on my machine, as far as I can tell (i.e., there's no longer any sign of it in my boot partition). Is there an easy way to get it back, short of a fresh reinstall of F8?
i am afraid that is not possible because there is no sign of that particular kernel in the repository
Code:
yum list \*kernel\*
Installed Packages
kernel.i686                              2.6.23.15-137.fc8      installed       
kernel.i686                              2.6.23.14-115.fc8      installed       
Available Packages
arm-gp2x-linux-kernel-headers.noarch     2.6.12.0-2.fc8         fedora          
buildsys-build-rpmfusion-kerneldevpkgs-c 26-1.lvn8              livna           
buildsys-build-rpmfusion-kerneldevpkgs-c 26-1.lvn8              livna           
buildsys-build-rpmfusion-kerneldevpkgs-n 26-1.lvn8              livna           
buildsys-build-rpmfusion-kerneldevpkgs-n 26-1.lvn8              livna           
kernel.i586                              2.6.23.15-137.fc8      updates         
kernel-PAE.i686                          2.6.23.15-137.fc8      updates         
kernel-PAE-debug.i686                    2.6.23.15-137.fc8      updates         
kernel-PAE-debug-devel.i686              2.6.23.15-137.fc8      updates         
kernel-PAE-devel.i686                    2.6.23.15-137.fc8      updates         
kernel-debug.i686                        2.6.23.15-137.fc8      updates         
kernel-debug-devel.i686                  2.6.23.15-137.fc8      updates         
kernel-devel.i686                        2.6.23.15-137.fc8      updates         
kernel-devel.i586                        2.6.23.15-137.fc8      updates         
kernel-doc.noarch                        2.6.23.15-137.fc8      updates         
kernel-headers.i386                      2.6.23.15-137.fc8      updates         
kernel-xen.i686                          2.6.21.7-2.fc8         updates         
kernel-xen-2.6-doc.noarch                2.6.21.7-2.fc8         updates         
kernel-xen-devel.i686                    2.6.21.7-2.fc8         updates         
yum-kernel-module.noarch                 1.1.11-1.fc8           updates
so you have to do a fresh install of f8 and edit the /etc/yum.conf file and change the line installonly_limit=2 to 3 or more.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 22nd February 2008, 01:14 AM
lawson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13
I actually ended up installing the Planet CCRMA kernel (2.6.24.2-1.rt1.3.fc8.ccrmart, from ccrma.stanford.edu/planetccrma/software/), and I can confirm that sound is now working. This is good enough for me for now, though this kernel doesn't seem to work with my video card.

Last edited by lawson; 22nd February 2008 at 01:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 22nd February 2008, 06:37 AM
escapeflowne Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 55
what video card do you have ? you may have to install driver manually if it is a nvidia or ati one.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 23rd February 2008, 01:55 AM
lawson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13
Yup, I have an nvidia card. I have the drivers from livna and all that, and they work fine with the normal fedora kernel. But with this kernel, I get an error message during bootup, "Module nvidia can't be found" or something like that. Results are similar if I try to load the module once booted.
Code:
/sbin/modprobe nvidia
FATAL: Module nvidia not found.
So the question is, how do I tell this kernel where to find the nvidia stuff?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
audio, controller, family, ich8, intel, sound

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SOUND CARD Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Cont Coreyjames25 Hardware & Laptops 14 14th January 2009 10:16 AM
sound disappeared, FC8, Intel 82801H (ICH8 Family) maidantal Hardware & Laptops 1 6th September 2008 11:37 AM
Using F8, no sound with Intel (ICH8 Family) sound card garbagio7 Using Fedora 3 1st April 2008 08:58 PM
Modem Si3054 on 82801H ICH8 HD Audio Controller sound card. Not work ustas Hardware & Laptops 1 22nd February 2008 08:22 AM
problem with sound; 2 computers, intel HDA ICH8, and recording streaming audio slade17 Hardware & Laptops 4 4th September 2007 05:34 AM


Current GMT-time: 14:22 (Thursday, 27-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Palakkad, India Instagram Photos