Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 14th February 2008, 12:39 AM
marko Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Laurel, MD USA
Posts: 5,898
I guess the presto server is overloaded?

I think presto is becoming a victim of its own success. I can't
seem to do my updates tonight because
of time outs. I think too many updaters are going to the
single lesloueizeh.com host.
Is there going to be a presto mirrorlist someday?

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14th February 2008, 12:47 AM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 68
Posts: 21,995
How about commenting out the presto baseurl and going back to the mirrorlist, then temporarily 'yum remove yum-presto' and see if things are working well. Frankly, I haven't found a speed improvement for me and just removed it for now.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th February 2008, 01:12 AM
marko Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Laurel, MD USA
Posts: 5,898
That's overkill, it's much easier just to put enabled=0 in the
/etc/yum/pluginconf.d/presto.conf
and comment out the presto baseurl and comment in the
mirrorlist that comes with Fedora:

http://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/mirrorlist?repo=updates-released-f$releasever&arch=$basearch

The big improvement I see is in the number of bytes I have to
download. With presto it's 10 to 20X smaller.

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th February 2008, 01:17 AM
bob Online
Administrator (yeah, back again)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colton, NY; Junction of Heaven & Earth (also Routes 56 & 68).
Age: 68
Posts: 21,995
You're right on that one.
__________________
Linux & Beer - That TOTALLY Computes!
Registered Linux User #362651


Don't use any of my solutions on working computers or near small children.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
guess, overloaded, presto, server

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Presto Some Help??? Woodbj Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 11 Only) 6 12th April 2009 06:05 PM
F9 VMWare Server 1.0.7 Locks on Guess OS Boot P4rD0nM3 Using Fedora 4 9th September 2008 07:41 PM
Overloaded database MattyB1989 Servers & Networking 5 9th January 2008 08:28 AM
Trouble with YUM (not overloaded servers) TragicWarrior Using Fedora 2 6th November 2006 05:26 PM


Current GMT-time: 14:31 (Saturday, 19-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat