Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 18th February 2008, 10:19 PM
matthewclower Offline

Amazon Web Services (AWS) Fedora 8/SSH

I've recently attempted to install Fedora Core 8 in AWS and everything seems fine except my ssh configuration -- I can't log in. I haven't exhausted all my options, but I don't really know how to configure the keys in SSH so that might be my problem, in fact I'm almost certain I didn't configure that part properly as I've never done that before. In any event...

Amazon provides an installation of Fedora Core 4 so in order to get 8 installed I have to do the following:

First, the version of yum installed in the public amazon AMI doesn't support the installation so I log in and do this:

Code:
wget http://linux.duke.edu/projects/yum/download/3.0/yum-3.0.5.tar.gz
tar -xvzf yum-3.0.5.tar.gz
cd yum-3.0.5
make DESTDIR=/ install
Now that yum will work, it's time to do the installation. -- something like this

Code:
cd /root
mkdir image;mkdir fedora;cd image

dd if=/dev/zero of=fedora bs=5M count=1 seek=1024
/sbin/mke2fs -F -j fedora

mount -o loop fedora /root/fedora

mkdir /root/fedora/dev
mkdir /root/fedora/proc
mkdir /root/fedora/etc
for i in console null zero; do /sbin/MAKEDEV -d /fedora/root/dev -x $i ; done

for most of the editing I actually used vi but it doesn't matter, this does the same thing:

cat <<EOL > /root/fedora/etc/fstab
/dev/sda1 / ext3 defaults 1 1
none /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
none /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
/dev/sda2 /mnt ext3 defaults 1 2
/dev/sda3 swap swap defaults 0 0
EOL

mount -t proc none /root/fedora/proc

cat <<EOL > /tmp/yumec2.conf
[main]
cachedir=/var/cache/yum
debuglevel=2
logfile=/var/log/yum.log
exclude=*-debuginfo
gpgcheck=0
obsoletes=1
reposdir=/dev/null

[base]
name=Fedora Core 8 - i386 - Base
mirrorlist=http://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/mirrorlist?repo=fedora-8&arch=i386
enabled=1

[updates-released]