Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 25th February 2008, 02:34 PM
bghayad Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 116
Dynamic DNS refresh to direct correct

Hi;

I have Fedora version 5 installed in one machine, in that machine I have a software that need settings, and in that settings I set host=xyz.dyndns.org (actually that host is a remote router existed in other area), when I restart the router so it takes new IP address and it updates that new IP address at dyndns.org and I see this. The problem that still at my fedora machine, I have to restart the machine so host=xyz.dyndns.org will be refreshed and updated and directs to the new IP address, so traffic will be send successfully.

How can i resolve this problem and have a refresh automatically (periodically) so when I need to sent for the host=xy.dyndns.org, then I will send to the right IP address instead of the old IP address? Even if update was possible to be every 1 minute or 5 minute it is accepted. How? Or at least to have update when my fedroa machine is going to send traffic for host=xyz.dyndns.org, so it should refresh and get the new IP address for that domain, How?

I think it something related to refresh cash and so on, but I do not know any thing about that, any one can help?

Regards
Bilal
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th February 2008, 02:44 PM
Dangermouse Offline
Administrator - (On Leave)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London Postbox (the red one)
Age: 49
Posts: 3,864
Heres a simple guide to automatically refresh/update
http://www.fedoraguide.info/index.ph...DynDNS_service
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th February 2008, 10:33 PM
sidebrnz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Freedonia
Age: 65
Posts: 2,637
That link you posted doesn't work because www.fedoraguide.info doesn't seem to exist.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th February 2008, 01:44 AM
bghayad Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 116
It openned with me before, but now it is not openning !
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th February 2008, 09:24 AM
Dangermouse Offline
Administrator - (On Leave)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London Postbox (the red one)
Age: 49
Posts: 3,864
Automatically refresh IP in DynDNS Database/DNS every hour
* * * * * means minute hour date month year

Quote:
su -c 'yum install ipcheck'
su -c 'gedit /root/dyndns_update.sh'
* Insert the following lines into the new file

Quote:
USERNAME=myusername
PASSWORD=mypassword
HOSTNAME=myhostname.dyndns.org

cd ~/
if [ -f /root/ipcheck.dat ]; then
ipcheck -r checkip.dyndns.org:8245 $USERNAME $PASSWORD $HOSTNAME
else
ipcheck --makedat -r checkip.dyndns.org:8245 $USERNAME $PASSWORD $HOSTNAME
fi
* Save the edited file

Quote:
su -c 'chmod 700 ~/dyndns_update.sh'
su -c 'sh ~//dyndns_update.sh'
su -c 'export EDITOR=gedit && crontab -e'
* Append the following line at the end of file

Quote:
00 * * * * sh /home/YourUsername/dyndns_update.sh
* Save the edited file
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th February 2008, 03:51 PM
bghayad Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 116
Thanks a lot, but where I can determine the refresh periodically time please?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th February 2008, 04:18 PM
fnmblot Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 300
cron maybe?
__________________
Gee Ricky, I'm sorry your mom blew up.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th February 2008, 04:42 PM
bghayad Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 116
If it is, how I will enter it? In which format and where? In the file or some other command?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26th February 2008, 05:52 PM
Dangermouse Offline
Administrator - (On Leave)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London Postbox (the red one)
Age: 49
Posts: 3,864
Quote:
Originally Posted by bghayad
Thanks a lot, but where I can determine the refresh periodically time please?
read my post again its says how at the top
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26th February 2008, 06:04 PM
bghayad Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 116
I know it is in:
su -c 'export EDITOR=gedit && crontab -e'
But if I need to make it every 5 minute, then what the sentence should be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
correct, direct, dns, dynamic, refresh

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dynamic DNS is it possible? rh10023 Using Fedora 2 30th December 2007 07:17 AM
Dynamic DNS & me lovswr Servers & Networking 1 16th May 2007 01:39 AM
How do I set up a dynamic DNS on my LAN? Renich Servers & Networking 1 19th January 2007 09:26 PM
About dynamic IP satimis Servers & Networking 1 23rd October 2006 08:09 PM
How to get my dynamic IP? lindan Servers & Networking 8 20th December 2005 02:34 AM


Current GMT-time: 23:01 (Wednesday, 26-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Droylsden Travel Photos - Marang Photos on Instagram - Tivoli Instagram Photos