Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 1st March 2008, 10:15 PM
jmarg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Volos, Greece
Age: 43
Posts: 34
Unhappy picasa don't start

In fedora 8, picasa don't open. I have this problem with either version 2.2 or 2.7 beta. When I am trying to run picasa from the command prompt, I don't receive any message.

However, the app work properly when I strat it as root.

I would appreciate your help on this issue.

Thanks,

John
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th August 2008, 10:45 PM
robvnl Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Netherlands (Europe)
Posts: 84
picasa Segmentation fault fc8

Picasa did work well on fc8. But since a month or so, after some updates, when I start picasa by clicking the icon it just dies. From the command line I get the following:
robv@L3CRA82.lan [ /home/robv ]
=> picasa
/usr/bin/picasa: line 139: 25940 Segmentation fault "$PIC_BINDIR"/wrapper check_dir.exe.so
/usr/bin/picasa: line 175: 26035 Segmentation fault "$PIC_BINDIR/wrapper" regedit /E $registry_export HKEY_USERS\\S-1-5-4\\Software\\Google\\Picasa\\Picasa2\\Preferences\ \
robv@L3CRA82.lan [ /home/robv ]

In this topic I read starting from root id it should work. Not what I want but I tried it to run as root. What happens is that my session ends immediately and I need to login again.

In ./var/log/messages are interesting logs after this incident:
Aug 10 23:17:14 L3CRA82 kernel: wine-pthread[25849]: segfault at 118280 ip 00118280 sp bf9b0c00 error 4
Aug 10 23:17:14 L3CRA82 kernel: wine-pthread[25940]: segfault at 118280 ip 00118280 sp bfe2b8a0 error 4
Aug 10 23:17:15 L3CRA82 kernel: wine-pthread[26035]: segfault at 118280 ip 00118280 sp bfe958b0 error 4

Is this a known issue? Somebody who can help?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th August 2008, 11:23 PM
ozjd Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Age: 58
Posts: 2,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmarg
In fedora 8, picasa don't open. I have this problem with either version 2.2 or 2.7 beta. When I am trying to run picasa from the command prompt, I don't receive any message.

However, the app work properly when I strat it as root.

I would appreciate your help on this issue.

Thanks,

John
ver 2.7 has been out for a while so I suggest you update to the current version. I have it and it runs fine on my F8 x64 system.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th August 2008, 11:45 PM
robvnl Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Netherlands (Europe)
Posts: 84
I have picasa-2.7.3736-15.i386.rpm installed....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th August 2008, 12:24 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Posts: 14,537
Here's what I'm running, picasa-2.7.3736-15.i386, and it only runs as root from a terminal on Fedora 9 for me. Its installed on more than one Fedora 9 box and the result is the same. The error messages are also identical.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th August 2008, 03:15 AM
ozjd Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Age: 58
Posts: 2,321
I'm running the same version under F8 without problems. I didn't do anything special when installing it, just followed the instructions on the picasa site. However I do have the full version of Wine installed. From memory I installed it as a user and not as root. If you installed it while logged in as root it may not work for a user.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th August 2008, 07:48 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Posts: 14,537
I just located wine, in /opt/picasa/wine/bin, and did chmod 755 wine. Then I typed picasa in the terminal and the program ran, as regular user. Does this make sense? Permissions is one of those things that I have very little knowledge of. Before I made the change this is what the file listing looked like
Code:
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root root   4856 2008-03-27 13:51 wine
After the change this is what it looks like
Code:
-rwxrwxr-x  1 root root   4856 2008-03-27 13:51 wine
All I did was to give myself write access if I'm not mistaken. I wouldn't think that this change would make a difference.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11th August 2008, 08:21 AM
ozjd Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Age: 58
Posts: 2,321
That doesn't make much sense. Mine is as you first posted, ie. no write access, and it works for me. I don't know much about permissions either but I thought all you would need is execute access which it appears to me everyone has (there is "x" for owner, group and all).
There is a forum on the picasa page at Google, may be worth asking there if no answers are forthcoming here soon.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11th August 2008, 08:25 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Posts: 14,537
Makes no sense to me either. I would have thought that all I need is execute access also.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11th August 2008, 10:20 PM
robvnl Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Netherlands (Europe)
Posts: 84
No, the permissions are set ok. I am curious to what you get when you execute picasa from the command line. At my fc8 it gives the following messages:
=> picasa
/usr/bin/picasa: line 139: 3711 Segmentation fault "$PIC_BINDIR"/wrapper check_dir.exe.so
/usr/bin/picasa: line 175: 3806 Segmentation fault "$PIC_BINDIR/wrapper" regedit /E $registry_export HKEY_USERS\\S-1-5-4\\Software\\Google\\Picasa\\Picasa2\\Preferences\ \

It is very nasty to see a registry issue. It seems the whole thing runs in a wine environment. Look at /var/log/messages:
Aug 11 23:10:02 L3CRA82 kernel: wine-pthread[3620]: segfault at 118280 ip 00118280 sp bfbfde70 error 4
Aug 11 23:10:02 L3CRA82 kernel: wine-pthread[3711]: segfault at 118280 ip 00118280 sp bfa1f4c0 error 4
Aug 11 23:10:02 L3CRA82 kernel: wine-pthread[3806]: segfault at 118280 ip 00118280 sp bf9efc20 error 4

erase the rpm, it says: not installed. install the rpm it says: allready installed....
So I removed the /opt/picasa and reinstalled with --force. Same errors.

I moved in my home dir the .picasa to .picasa.old, same errors.

To see where picasa resides I ran:
locate picasa

Indeed wine things:
/usr/opt/picasa/wine/
An own environment.

I am stuck here now, Another fresh look this week.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12th August 2008, 12:11 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Posts: 14,537
I get the same errors that you get. There is a temporary workaround that I found. Lasts only as long as your session. That is to say you reboot you need to apply the workaround again.
Code:
sudo sysctl -w vm.mmap_min_addr=0
Then there's another that is supposed to be permanent? Open a terminal and type gedit /etc/sysctl.conf. Change the line that reads:
vm.mmap_min_addr = 65536 to vm.mmap_min_addr = 0 Reboot and see what happens. Don't remember if I've used that on this computer. Maybe I'll try it later if I think of it.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12th August 2008, 05:23 AM
ozjd Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Age: 58
Posts: 2,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by robvnl
I am curious to what you get when you execute picasa from the command line.
Tried and I got nothing, Picasa ran but no messages. (This is a different system, not x64 but still F8, will check on the laptop with x64 later and post if I get any message).

Quote:
Originally Posted by glennzo
Then there's another that is supposed to be permanent? Open a terminal and type gedit /etc/sysctl.conf. Change the line that reads:
vm.mmap_min_addr = 65536 to vm.mmap_min_addr = 0
Don't have that line at all.

Perhaps I should have mentioned earlier I am running KDE F8.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12th August 2008, 09:07 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Posts: 14,537
I just found this http://groups.google.com/group/Googl...427c737b26f681. Haven't read through it yet but maybe there's some help there.

Edit: It's also been suggested in several forums that you delete the .picasa directory in your home folder and try running picasa again.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB

Last edited by glennzo; 12th August 2008 at 10:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 13th August 2008, 09:41 PM
robvnl Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Netherlands (Europe)
Posts: 84
Hi all. I checked out the wine wiki page mentioned before. Although it is a different error message and we talk about fedora 9 here, while I run fc8, I have done the steps for sysctl. In /etc/sysctl.conf. I added the line vm.mmap_min_addr = 0 because I did not have that line there. Rebooted. And guess what:
=> picasa
robv@L3CRA82.lan [ /home/robv ]
=>
no errors, no picasa.

I did not know what I was doing anyway...

Cont. searching.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 5th September 2008, 01:49 AM
aniketv Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: India,USA
Age: 28
Posts: 218
I had same issue, made the sysctl fix , and then no error no picasa, but now delete .picasa in your home dir and try again , it will work! It worked for me.
But now the issue is that the Picasa startup splash refuses to go away!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
picasa, start

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Picasa won't start kmarien Using Fedora 49 7th December 2011 04:06 PM
Picasa Dustybug Using Fedora 28 18th November 2011 10:38 PM
Picasa won't start pcmanrules Using Fedora 2 13th September 2008 08:56 AM
Picasa does not open December Using Fedora 5 28th June 2006 05:11 AM
Picasa eutu Fedora Focus 40 7th June 2006 04:33 AM


Current GMT-time: 22:19 (Wednesday, 16-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat