Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 4th March 2008, 02:47 PM
Slyke Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 26
Sharing Removable Storage

Hey, i've just installed Fedora Core 6, with Samba.

I've figured out how to share folders by going to System, Server Settings and Samba, but i can't figure out how to share removable storage.

I have 3 External Harddrives that are connected to my computer via USB, all formatted with NTFS. I can read and write to them fine, but i don't know how to share them so that my Windows computer can read and write to and from them.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 4th March 2008, 03:41 PM
glennzo Offline
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,713
I have an external USB hard disk (NTFS) connected to a Fedora 8 box. It's shared and all computers on the network have r/w access. I'm no Samba guru but here's what I did. It's automatically detected by the system. There's a desktop icon for it, placed there by the system. First I typed mount so I could find out where / how the drive is mounted. In my case it's mounted as /media/FreeaAent so I simply created a share for it in /etc/samba/smb.conf, like so:
Code:
[backup]
Comment = FreeAgent Drive
path = /media/FreeAgent
browseable = yes
writeable = yes
public = yes
Then I ran testparm to make sure samba was happy with my work and restarted smb and nmb, sudo /sbin/service smb restart and sudo /sbin/service nmb restart. I should mention that samba security is set to share. Now, on the days that samba decides to work properly (crapshoot) I can access that drive from any computer on the network.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th March 2008, 04:16 PM
Slyke Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 26
Okay, i did that, i checked with testparm, and it said that everything was fine.

sudo /sbin/service smb restart
and
sudo /sbin/service nmb restart

Both said "Command not found", tried without the sudo and as root too.

When i tried opening up samba again it just said down the bottom "Starting Samba" and then asked for my password. After which Samba vanished. Every time i tried to check it after that it wouldn't ask for my password, it would just say "starting Samba" then vanish after about 10 seconds.

So i went into services and started the Samba service (along with the nmb service) and check if i could open Samba then. I still couldn't, didn't even ask for a password.

Finally i tried connecting with my Windows computer though the static IP address i have set for the fedora computer, and it worked. Don't ask me how.

Well when i say it worked, it took ages for a password prompt to come up, and no matter what i put into it, it wouldn't authenticate.

Last edited by Slyke; 4th March 2008 at 04:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th March 2008, 04:58 PM
glennzo Offline
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,713
Try rpm -q samba. Post the output.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th March 2008, 05:01 PM
Slyke Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 26
Did it, the output is:
samba-3.0.23c-2
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th March 2008, 05:11 PM
glennzo Offline
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,713
How about rpm -q samba-client samba-common ?? Those are both installed here also.

Edit: Are you looking for a samba gui? If so, then install samba-swat, yum install samba-swat.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot.png
Views:	90
Size:	149.8 KB
ID:	15300  
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB

Last edited by glennzo; 4th March 2008 at 05:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th March 2008, 01:56 AM
Slyke Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 26
Here's what i did:

[root@localhost ~]# yum install samba-swat
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Existing lock /var/run/yum.pid: another copy is running. Aborting.
[root@localhost ~]# rpm -q samba-client samba-common
samba-client-3.0.23c-2
samba-common-3.0.23c-2


Tried navigating to http://localhost:901/, but get unable to connect.

Samba still won't open =(. Even after a restart.

SMB & NMB are in my services list.
Fedora is updating (Downloading packages), wonder if it'll be fixed after this.

Last edited by Slyke; 5th March 2008 at 02:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th March 2008, 09:23 AM
glennzo Offline
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,713
Start the xinetd service, service xinetd start, then turn swat on with chkconfig swat on. In your web browser location bar type http://localhost:901/. This will open the Samba SWAT main page.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th March 2008, 12:28 PM
Slyke Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 26
Hmmm... i take it this is not good?

[root@localhost ~]# service xinetd start
xinetd: unrecognized service
[root@localhost ~]# chkconfig swat on
error reading information on service swat: No such file or directory


I'm about 2 hours from getting Fedora 8... i'm just going to format and install that. Though, good lessons learned here. Though if you get this fixed, it will help in the future.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
removable, sharing, storage

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
removable storage via eSATA. ffhjeon Hardware & Laptops 3 5th April 2008 03:58 PM
Storage Area Network (SAN) OR Network Attached Storage (NAS) talkstock888 Servers & Networking 2 1st April 2008 12:52 AM
Home Server Distro with File server, UPnP sharing, SMB sharing, Streaming, TiVo? riffin-rich Using Fedora 4 11th December 2007 03:42 PM
Help! F7 can not mount removable storage device chenpeib Using Fedora 2 4th October 2007 06:07 AM
Samba file sharing and printer sharing problems.. fedoranewboydaz Servers & Networking 1 11th October 2006 11:06 AM


Current GMT-time: 03:29 (Wednesday, 17-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat