Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 7th April 2008, 09:03 AM
hiberphoptik Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,186
Linux+Nvidia HDMI = no sound?

Is it even possible to get sound out from an HDMI port in linux?

machine is a HP dv9000 laptop with nvidia card, HDMI video works great but how do you get sound to pipe thru that sucker?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1st June 2008, 11:47 PM
moosetooth Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Land of the "free"
Posts: 128
Word off the street is that the newest nvidia driver now supports audio over hdmi.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th August 2008, 04:51 PM
cpelliott Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 8
Anyone have audio over HDMI working now? I have a HP DV6700T running F9 and don't see an audio option for HDMI. My video is working fine over HDMI with the nvidia driver from livna. The sound preferences gives me
  • HDA Intel (Alsa mixer)
  • Realtek ALC268 (OSS Mixer)
  • ALSA PCM on front:0 (ALC268 Analog) via DMA (PulseAudio Mixer)
Some hardware info:
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GeForce 8400M GS (rev a1)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th August 2008, 07:51 PM
M4rc0 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brasil
Posts: 471
Same thing here.

HDMI great, but without sound.

Will post further info.

After reading a thread on nvnews, theres a quote that confuses me:
Quote:
you can not get the gpu to pass along the audio through the hdmi
So now i'm not sure if HDMI should pass the audio along or not ?

Last edited by M4rc0; 8th August 2008 at 10:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th August 2008, 10:24 PM
marcrblevins Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 4,168
Do you have other digital sound output from your lappy?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th August 2008, 02:08 PM
M4rc0 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brasil
Posts: 471
Yeah i have double audio-outputs. But that's normal, it's for headsets.

So i bought a normal RCA cable, the one with red and white on the other end. Connected on my tv but no sound D:

It's the tv problem tho, maybe because it can't "use" both hdmi and those audio modes at the same time.

Then i connected some good pc stereo boxes with this cable, and it worked.

Too bad but it's a good alternative

If anybody gets sound with hdmi, share here with us!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10th August 2008, 09:45 PM
marcrblevins Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 4,168
Then those are not digital audio ports. If you look at a SoundBlaster brand sound card, you would noticed amber color(darker yellow) audio port is the digital port.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th August 2008, 04:40 PM
M4rc0 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brasil
Posts: 471
Sorry, it appears i lost the notification of this topic

Sure, now i get what you mean.
But i don't necessarily need digital audio ports?

Shouldn't this sound output work on the tv with the RCA anyway?
How come it worked with pc stereos...

It is a tv issue, right?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 8th October 2008, 02:09 AM
skeptic055 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
I've read a lot of posts, that confirm that hdmi audio is working with nvidia drivers 173.14.12 and newer.

I'm currently with ubuntu 8.10 with nvidia 177.80, with alsa drivers from realtek "realtek-linux-audiopack-5.07", but I can't get hdmi audio working. I have an asus g1s.

People who got it work, usually on a desktop and the aplay -l mentions something about "digital audio" or "hdmi audio".

Here's my aplay -l output:

Quote:
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC660-VD Analog [ALC660-VD Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 6: Si3054 Modem [Si3054 Modem]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
If you have a hdmi device showing up on aplay -l, you just need to run a mixer(alsamixer) find a device that correspond to something digital and unmute it.

Please post yours "aplay -l" in this thread for us to make a comparison.

My other posts on this issue:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=97993
http://ubuntu-virginia.ubuntuforums....62#post5892362
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...37#post5926237
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 8th October 2008, 03:41 AM
skeptic055 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Finally, I did, I made hdmi sound work on my asus g1s.

Now my aplay -l shows a digital device:
Quote:
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC660-VD Analog [ALC660-VD Analog]
Subdevices: 0/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 1: ALC660-VD Digital [ALC660-VD Digital]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 6: Si3054 Modem [Si3054 Modem]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
I made it work by going to this file "/etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base":
Quote:
sudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base
then I delete all the contents of that file and put this:
Quote:
options snd-hda-intel index=0 model=3stack-660-digout
at "model" you have to put one that is made for your hardware, look here for a complete list of models available.

Then I use alsamixer to unmuted the IEC958.

Now, I have crisp sound on Linux.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 8th October 2008, 07:13 AM
M4rc0 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brasil
Posts: 471
Skeptic, that sounds great!

Can't wait until i get home and try this.

Will post on this thread later.

Thanks a lot for sharing!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 9th October 2008, 12:17 AM
tobiz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12
skeptic055, I've got an Asus M3N78-EMH HDMI mobo for which aplay - returns
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 0: ALC883 Analog [ALC883 Analog]
Subdevices: 0/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 1: ALC883 Digital [ALC883 Digital]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

I've tried adding "options snd-hda-intel model=auto" to alsa-base as suggested by the list of models you referenced; still no sound from HDMI. Is my options line correct? Unmuting IE958 on Alsamix makes no difference.

Last edited by tobiz; 9th October 2008 at 12:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 9th October 2008, 01:55 AM
skeptic055 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by tobiz View Post
skeptic055, I've got an Asus M3N78-EMH HDMI mobo for which aplay - returns
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 0: ALC883 Analog [ALC883 Analog]
Subdevices: 0/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 1: ALC883 Digital [ALC883 Digital]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

I've tried adding "options snd-hda-intel model=auto" to alsa-base as suggested by the list of models you referenced; still no sound from HDMI. Is my options line correct? Unmuting IE958 on Alsamix makes no difference.
If your aplay -l displays a digital device you don't need to put a line in "/etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base".

What`s your nvidia driver`s version? You need to update your nvidia driver`s to the version 177.80 http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us


To unmute IEC958 on alsamixer, you need to select it and type "m".

Last edited by skeptic055; 9th October 2008 at 04:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 9th October 2008, 04:49 AM
skeptic055 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by M4rc0 View Post
Yeah i have double audio-outputs. But that's normal, it's for headsets.

So i bought a normal RCA cable, the one with red and white on the other end. Connected on my tv but no sound D:

It's the tv problem tho, maybe because it can't "use" both hdmi and those audio modes at the same time.

Then i connected some good pc stereo boxes with this cable, and it worked.

Too bad but it's a good alternative

If anybody gets sound with hdmi, share here with us!
Oi marco, so brasileiro tambem, mas como esse forum é em inglęs, vou escrever em inglęs.
Hi marco, I'm Brazilian too, but this forum is in english, so I'll type in english.

I need you to answer a few questions for me be able to help you.

1. Do you have a notebook or a desktop? If you have a desktop:
2. Which mobo do you have?
3. Which video card do you got and what's the driver's version do you have installed?
4. Do you have your pc hook up with your HDTV by an HDMI cable?
5. Is HDMI audio working on Windows?

If the question n. 5 is yes and your aplay -l shows a digital device, then you just need to have nvidia 177.80 installed, run alsamixer and unmute your digital device by pressing the "M" on the keyboard. In my case, is the IEC958.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 9th October 2008, 01:00 PM
tobiz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by skeptic055 View Post
If your aplay -l displays a digital device you don't need to put a line in "/etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base".

What`s your nvidia driver`s version? You need to update your nvidia driver`s to the version 177.80 http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us


To unmute IEC958 on alsamixer, you need to select it and type "m".
I'm running 177.78 at the moment but have downloaded 177.80 so will upgrade to that. Thanks for the tip re aplay and alsamixer will try those. BTW I'm running kernel 2.6.24.19
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hdmi, linux, nvidia, sound

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P5E-VM no HDMI sound larcho Hardware & Laptops 1 23rd August 2009 11:18 PM
Nvidia with DVI-to-HDMI blank screen during boot zablalbaz Hardware & Laptops 0 7th July 2009 10:25 PM
Output All Sound To HDMI - F11 jjcobm Using Fedora 1 26th June 2009 12:58 AM
Connecting to HD-TV with HDMI and nvidia driver from rpmfusion. Perty Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 11 Only) 6 20th April 2009 10:10 PM
HDMI sound F10 slune Using Fedora 0 27th November 2008 06:42 PM


Current GMT-time: 12:16 (Thursday, 30-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Ashoknagar - Narail Instagram Photos - Phek Photos on Instagram