Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 7th April 2008, 01:17 PM
scotty38 Offline

Mount a remote NFS drive at startup

Guys,

I'm very new with this stuff so please bare with me.....

I have an FC8 installation and I need to mount three drives. Two are local Windows NTFS drives (in the machine) and one is a remote NFS drive (QNAP NAS box).

I edited fstab for all three but only the local (NTFS) drives mount - I get an error for the NFS drive at startup. I've determined it's due to networking not being started at the time it tries to mount so I end up with a "network unreachable" type message.

I get the unmounted icon on my desktop which I can double click and all mounts ok.

However, for educational purposes I'm trying to automate it.

I have added the commands to rc.local but selinux pops up a message saying it can't do it but would if I modified the"mount any file" type parameter which I've done but it makes no difference.

I also added the command to the KDE autostart directory in my home drive but that also fails as it still tries to run before I get the desktop message telling me my network is connected.

Everything points to the machine trying to mount it before my ethernet interface is up so I understand why it's causing problems but I'm guessing I'm missing something.

Thanks in advance.....
Old 8th April 2008, 07:37 AM
Jman Offline

Code:
chkconfig netfs on
Old 8th April 2008, 10:41 AM
scotty38 Offline

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jman
Code:
chkconfig netfs on
Whilst I appreciate the time and effort you've taken to give me a response I'm not entirely sure what you're telling me - I am new to this I'm afraid.

I've googled an example netfs script and I'm guessing I still need to leave my nfs mount in /etc/fstab?

The script I found would also suggest that it exits if it determines networking is not up.

# Check that networking is up.
[ ${NETWORKING} = "no" ] && exit 0