Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 9th April 2008, 05:25 AM
reddem0n Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 16
Getting sound to work through my headset instead of my speakers

I'm trying to make it so I can hear sound through my headset instead of my speakers, anyone know how I can do this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 9th April 2008, 05:58 AM
JohnVV Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ann Arbor
Age: 47
Posts: 3,937
besides plugging in the headphones and tunning off the speakers
right click the speaker icon and click on "open volume control"
then click the "edit" / Preferences
and put a check in the headphones box
__________________
OpenSUSE 13.1-64bit & Scientific Linux 6.5-64bit ( fedora 4 to 11) and 19/20 on KVM
My Celestia Downloads

h t t p ://celestiamotherlode.net/catalog/show_creator_details.php?creator_id=10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th April 2008, 04:09 PM
reddem0n Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 16
No headphones box. Headphones were already plugged in.

Last edited by reddem0n; 9th April 2008 at 04:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th April 2008, 05:21 PM
JohnVV Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ann Arbor
Age: 47
Posts: 3,937
what sound card is installed in your system
is your system a desktop or laptop
what sound system are you using pluse, alsa, oss,esd
and are you running fedora 8 or fedora 7 or fedora 6 or 5 or 4
__________________
OpenSUSE 13.1-64bit & Scientific Linux 6.5-64bit ( fedora 4 to 11) and 19/20 on KVM
My Celestia Downloads

h t t p ://celestiamotherlode.net/catalog/show_creator_details.php?creator_id=10
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th April 2008, 05:26 PM
reddem0n Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 16
fedora 8 everything updated x64 version, audigy 2 zs card, desktop.....and using the alsa sound system
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th April 2008, 05:55 PM
JohnVV Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ann Arbor
Age: 47
Posts: 3,937
dose this apply
http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Bugs/F...82fce6beb1433c
and see if you turned off some services you need on
http://www.mjmwired.net/resources/mjm-services-f8.html
--
i am running a creative sound blaster card using pulse audio ( with the alsa plugin)
there is no headphone check box on yours
__________________
OpenSUSE 13.1-64bit & Scientific Linux 6.5-64bit ( fedora 4 to 11) and 19/20 on KVM
My Celestia Downloads

h t t p ://celestiamotherlode.net/catalog/show_creator_details.php?creator_id=10
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th April 2008, 07:42 PM
reddem0n Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 16
Just tried running consolekit through terminal, this is what I get...not sure if this means it wasn't running and is running now or just indicating that its running fine

[root@localhost Zad]# /etc/init.d/ConsoleKit start
Starting ConsoleKit: [ OK ]

Also checking through the services I saw that "klogd" was the only one I didn't find in the list of services on my computer.

Last edited by reddem0n; 9th April 2008 at 07:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th April 2008, 08:38 PM
JohnVV Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ann Arbor
Age: 47
Posts: 3,937
well if you did not do this
yum remove alsa-plugins-pulseaudio
witch i recommend you do not do then you are using pulseaudio and not alsa
during the install there is a sound test did you run it and did you here the sound
it is in
System/Administration/Soundcard Detection
also as in the screen shot above click on file and select change device ( the top one should be your sound card with ( Alsa Mixer) next to it
also look at this thread
http://fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=171083
can you post the output of
Code:
rpm -qa | grep pulse
you may need to write some files and install some programs
to start you can look here
http://www.pulseaudio.org/wiki/PerfectSetup
http://home.nyc.rr.com/computertaijutsu/rhsound.html
http://www.mjmwired.net/resources/mjm-services-f8.html
__________________
OpenSUSE 13.1-64bit & Scientific Linux 6.5-64bit ( fedora 4 to 11) and 19/20 on KVM
My Celestia Downloads

h t t p ://celestiamotherlode.net/catalog/show_creator_details.php?creator_id=10
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10th April 2008, 12:26 AM
reddem0n Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 16
pulseaudio-0.9.8-5.fc8
pulseaudio-module-x11-0.9.8-5.fc8
pulseaudio-core-libs-0.9.8-5.fc8
pulseaudio-libs-glib2-0.9.8-5.fc8
pulseaudio-module-gconf-0.9.8-5.fc8
alsa-plugins-pulseaudio-1.0.15-3.fc8.1
pulseaudio-esound-compat-0.9.8-5.fc8
gstreamer-plugins-pulse-0.9.5-0.4.svn20070924.fc8
pulseaudio-utils-0.9.8-5.fc8
pulseaudio-libs-0.9.8-5.fc8
pulseaudio-libs-0.9.8-5.fc8
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10th April 2008, 12:52 AM
reddem0n Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 16
Automatic detection of the sound card did not work. This audio device will not be available on the system.

You can find log files /root/scsconfig.log, /root/scsrun.log and file a new bug
at http://bugzilla.redhat.com.

Please click OK to continue.


Message I Got while trying to do the automatic sound card detection...which from what it seems it got the right one my audigy 2 zs...but when I Tried testing the sound , I didn't hear any sound..and yeah i made sure everything was high up :P

Last edited by reddem0n; 10th April 2008 at 12:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 16th April 2008, 03:19 PM
vamped Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Posts: 19
One Solution

I had this problem too, but was able to find a work-around although not a complete solution.

Applications > Sound & Video > PulseAudio Volume Control

While playing an audio clip, Playback tab > right clicked application that is running > Move Stream > checked USB headphones, and sound started coming from the headphones.

Also, Output Devices tab, you can right click the headphones and check Default if you want it to be your default device (which I didn't).

What would be ideal is for the headphones to be the default output device when they are plugged in, but not when they are not. If anyone has further information that would be nice.

I'm using F8-64 bit, Intel audio chipset.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
headset, sound, speakers, work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
weird sound card issue: sound out in rear speakers only lovemov Hardware & Laptops 0 27th April 2009 07:25 PM
Sound outputs OK, but inserting headphones does not mute speakers nor gives any sound sardaukar_siet Hardware & Laptops 1 2nd December 2008 07:35 AM
Headset mic wont work in FC4 iamroot Hardware & Laptops 2 8th March 2006 08:31 PM
Can't get USB Headset to work with Skype alphonso99 Using Fedora 2 27th December 2005 09:11 PM
Laptop speakers work, but regular speakers don't kwarrior Hardware & Laptops 5 1st March 2005 10:22 PM


Current GMT-time: 06:17 (Saturday, 25-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Mijdrecht Instagram Photos - Norzagaray Photos - Euskirchen Photos on Instagram