Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 10th April 2008, 03:11 AM
vpg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 22
booting has failed. mount failed during boot

Looks like linux partition has been corrupted or failed..
Getting lot of errors.
----------------------------
Trying to resume from /dev/VolGroup00/LogVol01
No suspend signature on swap, not resuming.
Creating root device.
Mounting root filesystem.
EXT3-fs error (device dm-0): ext3_check_descriptors: Block bitmap for group 1 not in group (block 0)!
EXT3-fs: group discriptor corrupted!
mount: error mounting /dev/root on /sysroot as ext3: Invalid argument
Settingup other filesystems.
Setting up new roof fs
setuproot: moving /dev dailed. No such file or directory
no fstab.sys, mounting internal defaults
setuproot: error mounting /proc: No such file or directory
setuproot: error mounting /sys: No such file or directory
switchedroot: mount failed: No such file or directory
Booting has failed.


How to fix and recover?

Thanks,

How can i fix the
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th April 2008, 07:47 AM
Thetargos Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mexico City, Mexico
Age: 36
Posts: 4,423
Did this happen after an update? This looks like a problem that used to happen when updating to the latest kernel. Are you still able to boot with a previous version (see the GRUB splash, press a key to stop the counter and see if there is another entry, if so, are you able to boot from it?).

Assuming you were able to boot with an older kernel, could you post the contents of the /etc/fstab file?
__________________
If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

Systems: Laptop, Main System, Netbook.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th April 2008, 01:29 PM
vpg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 22
I can't boot with older version of kernel. I'm now trying with install-upgrade option from install DVD.

I'm thinking for recreating a root partition. But don't know how. Help please.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th April 2008, 01:54 PM
vpg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 22
I meant boot partition
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th April 2008, 08:23 PM
Thetargos Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mexico City, Mexico
Age: 36
Posts: 4,423
To be honest, and despite what good things may stem from using LVM (Logical Volume Management), I despise the SOB. With that off my chest and out of the way, what I usually do is from the drop-down menu at the partition configuration screen in Anaconda, select a Custom Partition Layout. That will bring you to a program called "Disk Druid" which will allow you to modify the topology of your drive creating individual partitions. What is recommened to do is the following:
  • Have at least three partitions: one for boot (/boot), one for root (/) and one for swap (Virtual Memory). However, I add a fourth for /home (I hate losing data with upgrades and re-installs )
  • You can have up to four primary partitions on a "PC" HDD (BIOS restriction, actually), but you can have as many logical partitions as you want, these partitions reside inside a special extended partition. All this is to tell you that if you will be dual booting the system with another OS in the same drive, you would be better off having all Linux partitions created either as one primary (boot, for instance) and the rest within the extended, or all within an extended partition.
  • Creating partitions is as easy as selecting the New partition button in Disk Druid and setting the partition's parameters (size, mount point, file system, etc), since Disk Druid also formats the partition, you can select the file system too. For all file systems, I'd suggest you go with ext3, except for SWAP which uses its own file system.
  • When you are done, click next, the partition table will be written to the disk, and you may follow the installation in the usual manner. For upgrades and re-installations, though, you will have to select the same custom layout option if you don't want to lose any data. With the partitions already created, all that is left to do when upgrading/reinstalling is to modify their properties and assign the mount point and whether to format it or not. I usually format /boot and root (/) and only set the mountpoint for /home.
Hope that helps.
__________________
If ain't broken, don't fix it! :eek:
If can be improved, go for it! :cool:

FedoraForum Community forums lurker.
Fedora user since RHL 5.2 :cool:

Systems: Laptop, Main System, Netbook.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, booting, failed, mount

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
device-mapper: reload ioctl failed: Invalid argument Failed to suspend LogVol00 HughB Using Fedora 3 15th October 2009 09:12 PM
mount failed: no such file or directory booting has failed hellbound Using Fedora 1 3rd July 2008 09:13 PM
mount: mount to NFS server '192.168.0.3' failed: System Error: Connection refused. fakie_flip Servers & Networking 0 8th April 2008 08:51 AM
X failed when booting off USB drive (F7) tbl Hardware & Laptops 1 11th October 2007 08:55 AM
dbus-daemon-1: Failed to start message bus: Failed to bind socket HaydnH Using Fedora 2 30th June 2005 05:31 PM


Current GMT-time: 11:36 (Tuesday, 02-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat