Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Community Lounge > Wibble
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Wibble A place to have a sensible chat, about anything non linux related. Please remember that political and religious topics are not permitted.

View Poll Results: How many Fedora's do you have?
None (I use Mac or Win*) 1 1.54%
None (I use a different distro) 0 0%
1 21 32.31%
2 18 27.69%
3 14 21.54%
4 5 7.69%
5 - 10 (at home) 6 9.23%
11 or more (at home) 0 0%
Voters: 65. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 20th April 2008, 10:15 PM
piga Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Seba Beach, Alberta Canada
Age: 20
Posts: 480
How many Fedora's do you Have?

Currently in my house we have two Workstations and one Laptop.

We are planning of putting it on another workstation so my mother can play Frozen Bubble and my brother wants to Fedora on his new laptop, if he can ever afford one.

My farther also has CentOS on one of his computers for work.
__________________
Thank you,
Hamish Paul Wilson
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th April 2008, 10:20 PM
Aaron_H Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nottingham, England
Posts: 124
Only 2 at the moment, soon to be 3.

It was going to be 3 and soon to be 4, but my dad's laptop didn't want to play nice with Fedora so it's back on Vista.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th April 2008, 10:24 PM
kona0197 Online
The Wibble Rouser
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Age: 39
Posts: 4,128
None. I have 2 broken down machines running Windows XP and my main machine runs Vista.
__________________
Custom Desktop | Intel Pentium E5400 Dual-Core CPU - 2.7 GHz | 4 GB DDR2-800 RAM | 120 GB HDD | Nvidia GeForce 7050 Graphics | DVD-RW | Windows 7 SP1

No fate but what we make...
My Blog: kona0197.wordpress.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th April 2008, 11:57 PM
majikthise Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: everywhere & nowhere
Posts: 749
I had 2, but Mac G4 was less than nice with F8. Still looking to install some form of *nix on it though.
__________________
HP dv5000 1.8GHz F9......Apple G4 500MHz F8 (dev-box)......ASRock 2x 1.8GHz CentOS 5.2
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st April 2008, 12:05 AM
mbokil Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Boston
Posts: 503
I have Fedora 9 running on this five year old box. I have Eeedora (Fedora 8) running on my Asus eee pc. That little min-laptop is great. I originally put Ubuntu on it but I was more used to Fedora and so I removed it. I use it at work and just plug in a 19 in. monitor. I am envious of the larger screen eee version coming out this summer.
__________________
Fedora 9 / XFCE 4.4.2
Athlon Thunderbird CPU 1.3 GigHz
750 MB RAM
Nvidia Gforce 6200
Mozilla Seamonkey 1.1.9 browser with MonkeyMenu Extension

Last edited by mbokil; 21st April 2008 at 12:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st April 2008, 12:07 AM
jtang613 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,931
If you really want to know... edit your thread and add a poll.
__________________
There is no 'CTRL' button on Chuck Norris's computer. Chuck Norris is always in control.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st April 2008, 12:10 AM
Aaron_H Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nottingham, England
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by kona0197
None. I have 2 broken down machines running Windows XP and my main machine runs Vista.
I'm guessing they're broken BECAUSE they have XP and Vista on, not because they had Fedora on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by majikthise
I had 2, but Mac G4 was less than nice with F8. Still looking to install some form of *nix on it though.
Isn't OS X technically a form of *nix? OS X is a lovely operating system, I stick with that on my mac and use Fedora (and XP) on this box.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mboki
That little min-laptop is great. I use it at work and just plug in a 19 in. monitor. I am envious of the larger screen version coming out this summer.
Isn't it only an extra inch or so bigger? I've heard a lot of good reviews about the eee, I was looking at getting one myself.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21st April 2008, 12:20 AM
RupertPupkin Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 5,630
I have 4. I have F7 as my primary system on my main PC, with F8 x86_64 on a test partition.
On my second PC, I have F8 installed twice, one in English and the other en français.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21st April 2008, 12:24 AM
mbokil Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Boston
Posts: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron_H
Isn't it only an extra inch or so bigger? I've heard a lot of good reviews about the eee, I was looking at getting one myself.
I would hold out for the larger one. I find myself making a lot of typing errors on the eee. The newer one has a wider screen and a slightly better keyboard, plus more memory. The original eee is pretty nice. I have been amazed how well it performs. I had an older computer die and I just plugged all the drives into the eee and I was using it as a main box for awhile. The VGA output is decent too. No digital output yet though.
__________________
Fedora 9 / XFCE 4.4.2
Athlon Thunderbird CPU 1.3 GigHz
750 MB RAM
Nvidia Gforce 6200
Mozilla Seamonkey 1.1.9 browser with MonkeyMenu Extension
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21st April 2008, 12:43 AM
PabloTwo Offline
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,110
Just 1, FC6 sharing a single hdd with W2K. I have another, older AT class machine still running W98SE to support some ham radio related DOS and Windows apps and ISA slot add-in cards, but that rarely gets turned on these days as bit by bit I'm configuring my Linux install to take over those tasks (running some of those apps in 'dosbox').

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 21st April 2008, 12:52 AM
Dan Online
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,260
Hmmmm.

Didn't know you were a ham, Paul.

--... ...-- ...-.- . .
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 21st April 2008, 01:03 AM
CraigWatson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Witham, Essex, UK
Age: 27
Posts: 341
Technically I have two - desktop and laptop (details in signature) tri-booting between Fedora, XP and Vista. I also have a Fedora virtual machine installed under VMWare on XP, so that makes it three, and my brother's laptop dual-boots between Vista and Fedora, which makes it four - all running F8
__________________
Personal Website | Windows to Linux - Tips from Experience

Desktop - Galileo
Dual-Boot: Fedora 13 x64, Windows 7 x64
Intel Core2Quad Q6600 @3.6GHz, 8GB PC2-8500 DDR2, ATI HD4870, 23" @ 1920x1080 + 20" @ 1600x900 (both DVI-D), 2TB ICH10R RAID0 array, Custom Watercooling

Laptop - MacBook 5.1 ('08 Aluminium)
Dual-Boot: Fedora 13 x64, Apple OS X
Intel Core2Duo, 2GB 1066MHz DDR3, nVidia 9400M, 13" LCD @ 1280x800, 160GB SATA

Last edited by CraigWatson; 21st April 2008 at 01:05 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 21st April 2008, 01:27 AM
majikthise Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: everywhere & nowhere
Posts: 749
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron_H
Isn't OS X technically a form of *nix? OS X is a lovely operating system, I stick with that on my mac and use Fedora (and XP) on this box.
Yes, OS X is a gorgeous OS. But actually, Apple keep moving the 'goal posts' as to what the minimum version of OS X I need to run application x, even certain open-source projects are quoting minimum version of 10.4.x. I've got to the point where as far as throwing money at proprietry solutions is concerned, it's just not in my best interest.

Majikthise.
__________________
HP dv5000 1.8GHz F9......Apple G4 500MHz F8 (dev-box)......ASRock 2x 1.8GHz CentOS 5.2
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 21st April 2008, 01:29 AM
PabloTwo Offline
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan
Hmmmm.

Didn't know you were a ham, Paul.

--... ...-- ...-.- . .
N4WKQ... and 73 to you too Dan... dit dit

Used to be sharp on CW... 25wpm easy... I've lost it though from not using it. Packet is my passion. I keep a couple of packt Rose sites configured with their routing tables for the network here and help out with the FPAC switches some to. I'm also the "tower climber" go to guy locally. 125 footer in my yard, + 11' of mast above that. So I'm guessing your a ham also, judging my your interest.

Paul
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 21st April 2008, 02:43 AM
Dan Online
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,260
LOL! Yeah. I've been caught shoving a bug around once in a while ...

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora's direction. Draciron Fedora Focus 23 26th June 2009 03:49 PM
Fedora's for me? jindosept Using Fedora 16 28th September 2007 02:43 AM
fedora's longevity even200x Fedora Focus 14 1st March 2006 06:52 PM
Fedora's OpenOffice.org Paul_Vandenberg Using Fedora 1 24th February 2006 05:53 AM


Current GMT-time: 07:36 (Monday, 01-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat