Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 21st April 2008, 01:58 PM
scottae Offline

Configuring for multiple networks

Hi

I'm fairly new to Linux, so please forgive any stupid comments etc. I;ve searched on Google and in the forum but can't find what I need.

I have a Dell Latitude D830 with a Broadcom 57xx network card. I use the laptop at university and at home. My university network requires a static IP address, my home network assigns automatically. I have use a post on this forum to download and install what I need to get the network card working.

When I boot up, the laptop stops for about 5 minutes when trying to sort out the sendmail daemon (which it eventually does with 'OK' as its result). If I a trying to access the uni network, I need to use the network device control to enter all my settings, activate the network card and then I can access the internet etc. No matter what I do (setting up a University profile, saving changes etc), I lose all of these settings when I reboot.

Home is less of a problem but sendmail still slows the laptop right down on startup.

Any help with this would be appreciated, but needs to be in idiot-friendly language.
Fedora 11 x64
KDE 4.3
Old 21st April 2008, 02:14 PM
Iron_Mike Offline

Do you really need "sendmail"? Shut off the service at system ->administration ->services.

Not much way around the changing of the settings between your University and Home

Last edited by Iron_Mike; 21st April 2008 at 02:16 PM.
Old 21st April 2008, 03:32 PM
scottae Offline

Multiple networks

Thanks - I did as you suggested, rebooted and the system started fine.

However, I had to unplug my network cable and re-insert it (another issue - not sendmail related) and I had to re-enter all of the network card settings. Surely there is a way round this i.e. for the card retain its settings?
Fedora 11 x64
KDE 4.3
Old 21st April 2008, 03:59 PM
Iron_Mike Offline