Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 4th July 2004, 07:35 PM
toru Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Zealand
Age: 29
Posts: 4
slow 56k connection

Hey I'm using Diamond Multimedia SupraExpress 56e pro. This modem is supposively a good external modem. I managed to get the net going by configuring:

(in GNOME) Start >> System Settings >> Network

HOWEVER the net speed is really, really slow. As in I was downloading rpms @ between 0.8 ~ 1k/sec. Hence I've been downloading the rpms with my Mac OS X (in average 5k/sec). So yeah is there anything I missed out in the configuration? I haven't enabled ANY compression.

Also when I go to "activate(connect)" the device, it will successfully connect to my ISP but will not show "Active" in the Status. Pretty weird stuff. The only reason I know that it has connected is because the dialog box thing has gone away.

I've attached several screenshots that may help you to diagnose the problem.

Regards,
Toru

update - forgot to mention that I'm running FC1, not FC2.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	modem.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	44.7 KB
ID:	3285   Click image for larger version

Name:	net.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	54.5 KB
ID:	3286  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 4th July 2004, 08:43 PM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 45
Posts: 8,256
how about using or selecting: /dev/modem

and what chipset is it?....conexant....pctel....intel???

go here: www.linmodems.org and they have a list of all the Diamond Multimedia SupraExpress chipsets !

also change the baud rate to 57000
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th July 2004, 11:03 PM
toru Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New Zealand
Age: 29
Posts: 4
Sweet everything is all good now.
Just configured /etc/wvdial.conf and everything is rock on :~)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
56k, connection, slow

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSH slow connection satyajit.r Using Fedora 2 13th October 2008 05:44 AM
Internet connection slow, LAN connection fine tameboy Servers & Networking 45 19th July 2008 07:10 PM
FC5: Problem Slow PGSQL Connection, SSH connection dunadan67 Servers & Networking 4 5th June 2006 09:42 PM
slow connection within the LAN gatesession Servers & Networking 2 12th August 2005 06:43 PM
slow connection with FC2 nadrig EOL (End Of Life) Versions 9 23rd August 2004 07:02 PM


Current GMT-time: 19:34 (Wednesday, 17-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat