Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > The Dungeon > Archived (Click Header To See Sub-Forums) > Alpha - Beta (Fedora 9 Only)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Alpha - Beta (Fedora 9 Only) Post Development Version comments and questions that don't belong in Bugzilla here. These posts will be moved or deleted once the Final version is released

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th April 2008, 05:39 AM
marko Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Laurel, MD USA
Posts: 6,062
today's F9 update fails badly, anyone else?

I did an update of my F9 installation this morning, it was originally installed off
the F9 preview disk for X86-64 and had been updated by yum/yumex
a few times. After today's update, I did a reboot and
the early stages of booting look ok but when the details list is
about done, the display went blank and that's the farthest it goes.
I can't reboot via cntl+alt+del or ssh into the machine. I was
able a few times to ping it so the network is started but
ssh is ignored. The only way to recover is to press the hard
reset button or the power button.

Because that disk had a few bad sectors as reported by smartd,
I needed to replace it anyway. So I put in a bigger disk and reinstalled
F9 preview, did the yum update but this time opted out of the
xorg updates since I suspected it was something video related.
I still got the black screen hang and could not get in via ssh.
The video card is a nvidia 8800 GT.

other specs:

F9 X86-64 preview,
Asus P5E motherboard
8GB DDR2 (yes, high end development host)
80 GB PATA disk
LITE-ON DVD
Q6600 Core2 cpu

to test if the hardware is ok, I tried booting Ubuntu 8.04 desktop x86-64
and installed it to the same disk via resizing the F9 partition and
installing U 8.04 to the free space. That seems to work ok.b

that worked ok.

Last edited by marko; 27th April 2008 at 05:42 AM.
  #2  
Old 27th April 2008, 05:46 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello Mark:

I ran into the same issue.
I can boot into text mode, but that's it.

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
  #3  
Old 27th April 2008, 06:21 AM
cgrim Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 182
After yesterday update I cannot use the newest version of kernel (2.6.25-8.fc9.x86_64), because it breaks boot in first steps with horrible error messages - I'll try it ones more to write them in bugzilla.
Using older kernel 2.6.25-8.fc9.x86_64 is possible, so for me it's the new version of kernel who causes problems.
__________________
Now 5 running Fedora instances at home ...
  #4  
Old 27th April 2008, 06:49 AM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I have had no problems here !


Code:
[leigh@localhost ~]$ uname -r
2.6.25-10.fc9.x86_64
[leigh@localhost ~]$
  #5  
Old 27th April 2008, 08:19 AM
marko Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Laurel, MD USA
Posts: 6,062
I was able to fix this graphical stage hang by backing out the 'fedora-release',
basically by having yum use rawhide again. I guess something wasn't fully
synced up before I started ignoring rawhide, anyway, the giveaway
was when I manually added rawhide back to yum using --enablerepo and saw lots
of packages to update. So I updated those and rebooted and got into
kde4 just fine.
  #6  
Old 27th April 2008, 10:01 AM
cgrim Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by leigh123@linux
I have had no problems here !


Code:
[leigh@localhost ~]$ uname -r
2.6.25-10.fc9.x86_64
[leigh@localhost ~]$

Hi Leigh,
You compile the kernel for your self or how did you do that you have 2.6.25-10.fc9.x86_64???
In http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pu...4/os/Packages/ is still 2.6.25-8.fc9.x86_64 and this version is buggy
Thanks
__________________
Now 5 running Fedora instances at home ...
  #7  
Old 27th April 2008, 10:23 AM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgrim
Hi Leigh,
You compile the kernel for your self or how did you do that you have 2.6.25-10.fc9.x86_64???
In http://download.fedora.redhat.com/pu...4/os/Packages/ is still 2.6.25-8.fc9.x86_64 and this version is buggy
Thanks

Hi,

I got the kernel from Koji


http://koji.fedoraproject.org/koji/b...?buildID=47224

http://koji.fedoraproject.org/koji/p...fo?packageID=8


Leigh
  #8  
Old 27th April 2008, 02:56 PM
majikthise Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: everywhere & nowhere
Posts: 749
I've got the same kernel as leigh123@linux, got mine via updates.

No problems encountered.
__________________
HP dv5000 1.8GHz F9......Apple G4 500MHz F8 (dev-box)......ASRock 2x 1.8GHz CentOS 5.2
  #9  
Old 27th April 2008, 02:59 PM
majikthise Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: everywhere & nowhere
Posts: 749
Is this a problem with Asus boards?
__________________
HP dv5000 1.8GHz F9......Apple G4 500MHz F8 (dev-box)......ASRock 2x 1.8GHz CentOS 5.2
  #10  
Old 27th April 2008, 09:03 PM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
After playing around some, I was finally able to boot into level 5.

I had to remove the rhgb & quiet entries from the kernel boot line.

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
  #11  
Old 27th April 2008, 10:02 PM
majikthise Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: everywhere & nowhere
Posts: 749
Seve,
Have you had today's batch of updates including the Package Control Center-filesystem 2.22.1-3 update? I had problems.
__________________
HP dv5000 1.8GHz F9......Apple G4 500MHz F8 (dev-box)......ASRock 2x 1.8GHz CentOS 5.2
  #12  
Old 27th April 2008, 10:18 PM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
Yes, I got that update and a few others i.e. gnome-xxx etc.

I finally get the proper gui login screen [if I remove rhgb quiet] however, nautilus and my default gnome desktop are not working correctly ...

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
  #13  
Old 27th April 2008, 10:24 PM
majikthise Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: everywhere & nowhere
Posts: 749
I had to do use gpgignore to update with yum.

Everything seems good. So far.
__________________
HP dv5000 1.8GHz F9......Apple G4 500MHz F8 (dev-box)......ASRock 2x 1.8GHz CentOS 5.2
  #14  
Old 27th April 2008, 10:27 PM
majikthise Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: everywhere & nowhere
Posts: 749
Sorry that didn't come out right ignore the word 'use'
__________________
HP dv5000 1.8GHz F9......Apple G4 500MHz F8 (dev-box)......ASRock 2x 1.8GHz CentOS 5.2
  #15  
Old 27th April 2008, 10:42 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seve
Hello:
Yes, I got that update and a few others i.e. gnome-xxx etc.

I finally get the proper gui login screen [if I remove rhgb quiet] however, nautilus and my default gnome desktop are not working correctly ...

Seve

I have seen rhgb cause bootup errors before due to resolution issues .
Have you tried setting a resolution for rhgb ? , I believe you can do this with a kernel line option !

Set the vga= parameter to the VESA resolution that you want. The following vga numbers are all 256 colors which is plenty for the boot screen.

640x480 vga=769
800x600 vga=771
1024x768 vga=773
1280x1024 vga=775
1600x1200 vga=796


Quote:
however, nautilus and my default gnome desktop are not working correctly
Have you tried disabling selinux ?
 

Tags
badly, fails, today, update

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Today's recommened update procedure. SlowJet Fedora 12 Alpha, Beta & Release Candidates 4 15th September 2009 12:37 AM
Today's Update Prevents F11 Boot westand Using Fedora 5 8th August 2009 07:46 PM
Today's update / FC10/KDE Popeye Using Fedora 3 6th February 2009 12:21 AM
After today's update My Fedora9 64bit has became so SLOW! dupa Using Fedora 2 10th November 2008 12:13 PM


Current GMT-time: 21:41 (Wednesday, 22-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Shangzhi Travel Photos on Instagram - Artem Photos - Ponta Pora Travel Photos