Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 28th April 2008, 09:57 AM
jeretraca Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
wired network connection troubleshooting

Hello friends

I have this problem with my wired network connection when i put in the manuat static ip adresses it doesnt go on and connect it tells me you are connected to a wired connection but on pinging any of the adresses in my network says unable to reach host

it tells me i have to restart the computer or network to be able to cange into the new manual static ip adress it does nothing after restart the ip adress typed in manually is deleted every ti me i put it in
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28th April 2008, 10:12 AM
glennzo Offline
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,780
Just a thought. Do you have the primary and secondary DNS entries configured? Also, the DNS search path? These can be found under System > Administration > Network.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th April 2008, 03:24 PM
jeretraca Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
well yes the primary dns
and the secondary dns are both configured as 195.202.64.1 and 195.202.64.2 well the dns search path what is supposed to be put there
one more thing after putting in the dns and dynamic ip adress gateway and all it demands a even restart the machine which i do dutifully after retart the active connection information on the menu bar tells me
interface wired ethernet (eth0)
speed unknown
driver tulip

ip adress 169.254.15.240
broadcast adress 169.254.255.255
subnet mask 255.255.0.0
primary dns nothing
secondary dns nothing

which is very different from the static ip adress i put

i have tried a variety of commands ithe following order

chconfig network manager off
service NetworkManager stop it said ok
chkconfig network on
reconfigured my settings
then lastly service network start

the following came up
bringing up interface eth0 RTNETLINK answers: invalid argument
then ok
all the commands have to be carried out through
/sbin otherwise they dont work on /etc

on trying the command
/sbin/service NetworkManager restart
it failed on the stoping of the network manager but suceeded on the
the starting up of the networkmanager is that an indicator of the problem
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th April 2008, 04:42 PM
Iron_Mike Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ft Huachuca, AZ
Posts: 3,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeretraca
well yes the primary dns
and the secondary dns are both configured as 195.202.64.1 and 195.202.64.2 well the dns search path what is supposed to be put there
one more thing after putting in the dns and dynamic ip adress gateway and all it demands a even restart the machine which i do dutifully after retart the active connection information on the menu bar tells me
interface wired ethernet (eth0)
speed unknown
driver tulip

ip adress 169.254.15.240
broadcast adress 169.254.255.255
subnet mask 255.255.0.0
primary dns nothing
secondary dns nothing

which is very different from the static ip adress i put

i have tried a variety of commands ithe following order

chconfig network manager off
service NetworkManager stop it said ok
chkconfig network on
reconfigured my settings
then lastly service network start

the following came up
bringing up interface eth0 RTNETLINK answers: invalid argument
then ok
all the commands have to be carried out through
/sbin otherwise they dont work on /etc

on trying the command
/sbin/service NetworkManager restart
it failed on the stoping of the network manager but suceeded on the
the starting up of the networkmanager is that an indicator of the problem

Here's your problem. NetworkManager does not work with STATIC ip addressing. If you want to use static addressing you will have to disable the NM services and configure your network settings at system ->administration ->network.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th April 2008, 07:22 AM
jeretraca Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
well Iam new user to linux i dont quite know how to do that to disable network manager the commands i run i just copied from a website so how do i do that
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th April 2008, 09:22 AM
Iron_Mike Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ft Huachuca, AZ
Posts: 3,772
Goto system ->administration ->services, and remove the check marks from the 2 Network Manager services, then stop the sevices and save it. Just to clear things, peform a reboot. Now goto system ->administration ->network, highlight the device you want to change network settings and click the "edit" Uncheck the option "controlled by Network Manager" and add check marks to "allow users to enable/disable device" and if this is going to be a stationary device you can add a check mark to "activate on boot". Next uncheck the settings for DHCP and DNS and set it to STATIC then fill in the blanks for you Network. Make sure you fill in the gateway and double check the dns tab to make sure you have the correct DNS servers listed
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th April 2008, 12:12 PM
jeretraca Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks Iron_Mike Ihave done all that it tells me i need to restart my network so in the network part of services i selected network as selected restart this is the error i got

selinux AVC denial click icon then the following is shown

Selinux is preventing /sbin/arping(netutils-l) "write" to pipe (unconfined-t)

what does that mean
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29th April 2008, 03:53 PM
Iron_Mike Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ft Huachuca, AZ
Posts: 3,772
It means SELinux is preventing the operation. Open a terminal window and change to root permissions using su - (the dash is important) and then type:

system-config-security, and set SELINUX to "permissive" or "diasbled" and test it again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
connection, network, troubleshooting, wired

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Share a wireless network over a Wired connection twilightomni Servers & Networking 11 16th November 2009 07:53 PM
Problem with wired network connection Siassei Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 9th July 2009 12:08 PM
F10: Network Connection not stable (wired and wireless) mottam Servers & Networking 6 18th February 2009 02:27 PM
no wired network connection jimmy2975 Servers & Networking 10 22nd January 2008 08:31 PM
no wired network connection jimmy2975 Servers & Networking 1 21st January 2008 06:19 AM


Current GMT-time: 07:39 (Saturday, 01-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Columbia Photos - Na Klang Travel Photos - Kachhwa Photos