Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 17th May 2008, 11:47 AM
rumpumpel1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
F9 mouse freeze

I installed F9 on an Asus M3N-H.
Almost everything works (well the soundcard is sometimes not detected) but there is
one problem, which is really annoying: the mouse freezes.

It seems not to be HW-related, because I have a dual-boot system and running Vista
everything works including the mouse.

I'm pretty sure that it's not related to the kernel, because on the console after having
started gpm the mouse works reliably.

From this I deduce that the problem is X-related. Although after the freeze happens,
the mouse does not work in the console anymore.
I checked almost everything about mouse freezes I could find in google, but no success.
Also there is nothing special in /var/log/messages and in Xorg.0.log.

I have no MOUSE section in my xorg.conf. I also used one with a MOUSE section
experimenting with different Protocols, but this didn't change anything.

Almost the same setup (Asus M2n- SLI Deluxe with F8) did not have this mouse freeze.

The freeze is not deterministic: there are days where I can work without a single freeze,
and there are days where the mouse freezes immediately after the first move. And this
is the same for 30 or 40 reboots.

Any help is welcome.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11th August 2008, 09:24 PM
kenm_uk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 87
Hi. I recently installed Fedora Core 9 on my Asus M3N-H HDMI (because I could not get CentOS 5.2 to install). [See http://www.centos.org/modules/newbb/...15720&forum=37]

I am also having problems with my mouse randomly freezing up too. Did you find a solution?

Thanks,
Ken

Last edited by kenm_uk; 11th August 2008 at 09:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th August 2008, 08:18 PM
poor_student Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
Same boat here, BIOSTAR TForce TF8200 A2+ AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 8200 HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard with Quad AMD CPU, Logitech LX310 Wireless keyboard/mouse combo. Every so often the mouse freezes up, keyboard works. I've just been plugging in an older wireless USB Logitech mouse when it happens, that one doesn't freeze up as far as I can tell. Here is cat /proc/interrupts

CPU0 CPU1 CPU2 CPU3
0: 87 0 0 1 IO-APIC-edge timer
1: 0 0 0 2 IO-APIC-edge i8042
4: 0 0 0 2 IO-APIC-edge
6: 0 0 0 5 IO-APIC-edge floppy
7: 1 0 0 0 IO-APIC-edge parport0
8: 0 0 0 1 IO-APIC-edge rtc0
9: 0 0 0 0 IO-APIC-fasteoi acpi
12: 0 0 0 4 IO-APIC-edge i8042
14: 0 0 0 0 IO-APIC-edge pata_amd
15: 0 0 0 0 IO-APIC-edge pata_amd
18: 89416 861725 0 75 IO-APIC-fasteoi eth0
20: 28597 40963 3194 68 IO-APIC-fasteoi ohci_hcd:usb4
21: 0 0 0 779035 IO-APIC-fasteoi ohci_hcd:usb3
22: 4230064 0 6347965 432 IO-APIC-fasteoi ehci_hcd:usb2, nvidia
23: 0 31734 317842 3353 IO-APIC-fasteoi ehci_hcd:usb1, ahci
NMI: 0 0 0 0 Non-maskable interrupts
LOC: 51781840 37815799 23004068 16795304 Local timer interrupts
RES: 5849983 3057271 1331035 810413 Rescheduling interrupts
CAL: 957 930 989 217 function call interrupts
TLB: 58638 54497 45390 120601 TLB shootdowns
TRM: 0 0 0 0 Thermal event interrupts
THR: 0 0 0 0 Threshold APIC interrupts
SPU: 0 0 0 0 Spurious interrupts
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st August 2008, 09:39 PM
kenm_uk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 87
I contacted Asus technical support. I offered to try installing any Linux distribution they would recommend but their reply was:

"Sorry Ken, I really want to help you, but I am not familiar with Linux and we only support for Windows OS."

I am not really sure what to do now...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th August 2008, 07:04 PM
kenm_uk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 87
I just updated to the latest Bios (902) but the mouse still freezes within several minutes of using the machine. Anyone else having much luck?

:-(
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th August 2008, 07:31 PM
JohnVV Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ann Arbor
Age: 47
Posts: 3,948
and google has not been any help
http://www.google.com/linux?hl=en&q=Asus&btnG=Search
__________________
OpenSUSE 13.1-64bit & Scientific Linux 6.5-64bit ( fedora 4 to 11) and 19/20 on KVM
My Celestia Downloads

h t t p ://celestiamotherlode.net/catalog/show_creator_details.php?creator_id=10
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30th August 2008, 08:04 PM
kenm_uk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnVV

Hi JohnVV,

I am not sure what your link refers to. Of course Google is my first place to search for answers... but that didn't turn up much so I have tried the Fedora forum, the CentOS forum, and Asus technical support. So far all without much luck. Have you found something that might be of help?

Ken
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31st August 2008, 04:03 PM
mhilarius Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Post These kernel boot options will likely help

On the kernel boot line in grub append:

noapic irqpoll
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1st September 2008, 09:08 PM
kenm_uk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhilarius
noapic irqpoll
Hi. Thanks for the suggestion. Unfortunately I am still getting mouse freezes

Any other suggestions? Are there any debug messages I can provide that might help track down the problem?

Thanks,
Ken
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 5th September 2008, 04:03 PM
poor_student Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
For me, acpi=off seems to do the trick, but then of course I can't see any temperature sensors etc. THere must be some way to get these guys to play well together . . .
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 5th September 2008, 05:03 PM
poor_student Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
acpi=off does work for me, and I still can use the hwmon sensors, just not any of the acpi functions in conky, so nevermind.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 5th September 2008, 06:11 PM
kenm_uk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 87
Hi. The original suggestion from mhilarius was:
Code:
noapic irqpoll
poor_student suggests:
Code:
acpi=off
A few questions:
(1) is acpi=off the same as noacpi?
(2) what is the difference between noacpi and noapic and is this difference intentional?

I'll try it again tonight. I did try various combinations but under some cases my mouse still froze or there were other problems.

Thanks,
Ken
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 5th September 2008, 08:54 PM
kenm_uk Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 87
I tried acpi=off but my mouse still froze

I think also related is that my audio device is sometimes detected and sometimes not. In the past I have been able to listen to music but now it is showing not detected.

Are there any messages/stats I can look for which might help to diagnose the problem?

Thanks,
Ken
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 5th September 2008, 09:36 PM
JohnVV Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ann Arbor
Age: 47
Posts: 3,948
try fedora 8 , the x11 in 9 may be to new and not supported well by your hardware .
__________________
OpenSUSE 13.1-64bit & Scientific Linux 6.5-64bit ( fedora 4 to 11) and 19/20 on KVM
My Celestia Downloads

h t t p ://celestiamotherlode.net/catalog/show_creator_details.php?creator_id=10
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 6th September 2008, 10:53 PM
poor_student Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
Yup, I take that back acpi=off still gets the dreaded frozen mouse. Perhaps try

usbcore.autosuspend=-1

from http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/KernelCommonProblems

Didn't work for me, but may for you, who the hell knows. . .

Good Luck, this is getting really annoying
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
freeze, mouse

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boot freeze with USB (mouse,ext hhd) in.. _vendik_fit_cz Hardware & Laptops 0 15th March 2009 09:28 PM
Occasional mouse freeze with FC3 av_lin EOL (End Of Life) Versions 3 17th May 2007 05:04 PM
Keyboard/Mouse Freeze ghunting Using Fedora 1 6th May 2006 03:35 AM
FC4 - Mouse and Keyboard Freeze jpietari Hardware & Laptops 2 9th October 2005 02:39 AM


Current GMT-time: 07:08 (Monday, 22-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Oblivion Photos on Instagram - My Home Photos - Seabreeze Tap House - Tablas Island Romblon Travel Photos on Instagram - Kirinyaga County