Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 24th May 2008, 07:48 PM
sanjay_ankur Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney
Age: 26
Posts: 435
wireless + wired??

hey all..

how do i connect to a wireless network while already working on a wired one..

Example situation..: am connected to the Internet on the wireless and simultaneously transferring data from another fedora laptop using a lan cable.. when i plugged the cable in it connected to a "new network" but my wireless stopped functioning..

windows could handle multiple networks simultaneously and im sure fedora can too..
I just dont know how to do it..

someone help please..

Regards,

Ankur
__________________
-------------------------------------
"Live and let Live"
My blog
http://www.letmegooglethatforyou.com/
#fedora, #fedora-india,#fedora-social @ freenode


HP dv6226tx
Fedora 13
---------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th May 2008, 06:06 AM
hyperspace Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lincoln, NE
Age: 56
Posts: 414
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanjay_ankur
hey all..

how do i connect to a wireless network while already working on a wired one..

Example situation..: am connected to the Internet on the wireless and simultaneously transferring data from another fedora laptop using a lan cable.. when i plugged the cable in it connected to a "new network" but my wireless stopped functioning..

windows could handle multiple networks simultaneously and im sure fedora can too..
I just dont know how to do it..

someone help please..

Regards,

Ankur
Not really sure, but maybe Network Manager is trying to decide which network to use. I have several linux boxen connecting to multiple networks. At least two are Fedora. One is 6 and my laptop is 9.
__________________
lost in hypertime...

Registered Linux User #329061
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th May 2008, 08:29 AM
sanjay_ankur Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney
Age: 26
Posts: 435
hey..
yeah think thats whats going on.. so is there a way i can "ask" networkmanager to use both?? since they use different hardware and theres no reason to make a choice??its not supposed to happen actually.. is it?

regards,

Ankur
__________________
-------------------------------------
"Live and let Live"
My blog
http://www.letmegooglethatforyou.com/
#fedora, #fedora-india,#fedora-social @ freenode


HP dv6226tx
Fedora 13
---------------------------------------
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wired, wireless

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how do you get a laptop to use wired and wireless with NM marko Servers & Networking 8 14th April 2008 02:37 PM
Wireless to wired connection xXxz3r0xXx Servers & Networking 5 4th August 2007 09:09 PM
Wireless and Wired help jwbryan Hardware & Laptops 4 14th March 2007 02:39 PM
Wireless as wired? Networx Hardware & Laptops 0 30th March 2006 07:31 PM
wired V. wireless conflict hosekrez Servers & Networking 0 2nd July 2005 03:50 PM


Current GMT-time: 14:35 (Sunday, 23-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Antsiranana - Kulittalai - Pontypool