Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Servers & Networking
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Servers & Networking Discuss any Fedora server problems and Networking issues such as dhcp, IP numbers, wlan, modems, etc.

Old 5th June 2008, 06:36 AM
lcsfsr1 Offline

Question Joining linux pc with FC9 to Windows Server 2003 domain & Need to Install Squid Proxy

Hello,
I am a Windows Network Administrator. My company has over 400 pcs, 30 servers and about 70 printers. The servers are all Windows Server 2003.

This is the problem that I am currently facing:
We have no proxy...no way of of tracking a users' activity within the network (i.e. using computers and printers for personal needs)...we currently have someone in a certain department that is printing/using hundreds of sheets of paper and toner which is costing a total of about $180.00 a month. We also have no way of tracking where employees are going on the internet. There is also no way of knowing what individuals/hackers are doing on the outside of the network as far as external network attacks against our network.

So far, I have installed Fedora Core 9 on a pc. I have got this linux pc online. It has a static ip.

First thing that I would like to do is make this linux pc a member of the Windows Domain / Active Directory??? I have heard that you can join a linux machine to Active Directory with WinBind.

My problem is that I do not know what to enter [in under the WinBind configuration area] for the (WinBind Domain)???
What should be selected for the (Security Model)???
What should be entered for the (WinBind ADS Realm)???
What should be entered for the (WinBind Domain Controller)???
Which (Template Shell) should be selected???

I have never used linux in a network environment...so if it is possible I would like for the "Way to Login" be somewhat similiar to the Windows Network Login.