Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 10th July 2008, 03:35 AM
Gary1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Boot to command prompt

I just installed Fedora Core 9 and have been playing around for a bit I would like to know how to get it to boot to a command prompt not a graphical login screen that takes me right to my desktop. anyone?

Thanks!

Gary,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th July 2008, 04:27 AM
scottro Offline
Retired Community Manager -- Banned from Texas by popular demand.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,142
It should be done by editing /etc/inittab. There will be a line there saying
id:5:initdefault:

Change that 5 to a 3.

There are various runlevels, 1 is single user mode, 2 is multiuser without networking or something smilar, I don't think I've ever used it. 3 is what you want, multiuser with networking. 4, in Slackware is (or at least was when I used it) graphic mode, but in most other distributions it's unused. 5 is what you have by default in Fedora, graphic mode. 6 is reboot.

So, by changing it to 3 you will make it so that it boots in text mode.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th July 2008, 06:53 AM
Gary1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
That worked great thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th July 2008, 07:24 AM
Gary1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Also anyone know what part of the grub menu I have to edit to make my dual boot windows xp and fedora nine work I installed XP first on a separate HDD then fedora 9 on my other one.

Thanks!

Gary,
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th July 2008, 07:42 AM
gibz85 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: echo "doublebounce" >> /india/kochin
Age: 28
Posts: 97
You have to show grub the boot loader or windows... And yours in other hdd... Not sure about that... And its not one does every time....

Take a look at these (lot to read i know....)

http://www.gnu.org/software/grub/manual/grub.html

What i used to do years before

1. Unplugged all drives except the one I want windows on.
2. Installed windows on it.
3. Linux drive is SATA1, windows drive is SATA3, but I changed the boot order in BIOS so that SATA3 was the first one. Could have just plugged them in the other way I know, but whatever.
4. Installed Kubuntu with GRUB onto the linux drive. It detected Windows during installation and added to the boot menu:
Quote:
# This entry automatically added by the Debian installer for a non-linux OS
# on /dev/sda1
title Microsoft Windows XP Professional
root (hd0,0)
savedefault
makeactive
chainloader +1
So Windows is on hd0, even though it's actually on SATA3. I guess the boot order of the drives is important.

If ya new to linux this must suck
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th July 2008, 07:58 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary1
Also anyone know what part of the grub menu I have to edit to make my dual boot windows xp and fedora nine work I installed XP first on a separate HDD then fedora 9 on my other one.
Assuming that you installed GRUB as the default bootloader on MBR of HDD #1 ? There will be an entry at the end of the file that looks like this:
Code:
title Windows XP Media Center Edition
        rootnoverify (hd0,0)
        chainloader +1
It may say (by default) "title Other". You may give it whatever title you wish. The important lines are the other two, especially the one pointing to the HDD and partition to look for to find the Win* OS.

V
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10th July 2008, 08:19 AM
Dangermouse Offline
Administrator - (On Leave)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London Postbox (the red one)
Age: 48
Posts: 3,864
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary1
Also anyone know what part of the grub menu I have to edit to make my dual boot windows xp and fedora nine work I installed XP first on a separate HDD then fedora 9 on my other one.

Thanks!

Gary,
Hi this should help you scroll down theres an example of grub using two drives one with windows and one with fedora
http://dnmouse.webs.com/grub.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, command, prompt

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Feodra 9 will not boot farther than the command prompt after compiz --replace Caleb Burns Using Fedora 3 19th August 2008 09:10 PM
Boot to prompt, Gnome Logout to prompt GreenJelly Using Fedora 2 18th July 2007 06:25 AM
Boot to Command Prompt on FC5 - Installing nVidia Video Drivers lukasbradley Using Fedora 3 15th May 2006 07:36 PM


Current GMT-time: 14:22 (Monday, 28-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat