Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 22nd August 2008, 02:47 PM
fspinillo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
IP Load balancing

I am currently in the process of configuring to Oracle servers to handle our new student management system. We also purchased two web servers to handle access to the database since it will be web based. I am looking to set up IP load balancing between the two web servers using a virtual IP address.

I found and read about the Piranha utility for load balancing servers. Upon reading I noticed that I need to set up a routing server to handle the load balancing, which they recommend clustering.

I am trying to find out if there is a way to load balance the severs without needing to introduce another two; similar to how you use IIS in Windows where you assign a VIP to two servers and have on server load balance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22nd August 2008, 10:20 PM
six_impressive Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Have a look at the profense load balancer.

It is available as a vmware virtual appliance and is very easy to use.

jamesy
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd August 2008, 10:38 PM
kazakx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 26
A cheap solution is to use a round robin dns entry for this. just name the web servers portal.bladibla.com if you are using it for an intranet.
When people try to resolve this portal they will get de ip of the first web server. The next one will get de second dns entry and so on. Don't forget to set a very short caching time. Although not all the clients will consider this cache and will use their own defaults.
Read futher: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Round_robin_DNS
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th August 2008, 01:40 AM
fspinillo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
I will check out the two solutions mentioned.

With the VM appliance, does it just run on the host machines?

I should have also mentioned that the web servers will be accessed from the internet.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th August 2008, 05:40 PM
six_impressive Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
With the profense linux load balancer there is no need to install anything on your web or db servers.

The web traffic hits the profense load balancer which then distributes the traffic amongst the servers you configure through its web browser based interface.

Also, I found it easier to get profense working when installing it from scratch rather than using the virtual appliance.

I'm using it at two sites now with great success
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
balancing, load

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Network Load Balancing ? khosravi Servers & Networking 2 23rd September 2007 02:33 PM
Fedora 7 load balancing hoser_9 Using Fedora 2 10th July 2007 09:36 PM
Webmail load balancing Gudule Servers & Networking 2 10th November 2005 03:44 PM


Current GMT-time: 17:06 (Monday, 22-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Unseo Station - Sorrento Oasis Condominium - Pont Des Arts Paris Travel Photos