Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 1st September 2008, 12:47 AM
lakegen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 68
Posts: 3
Question Failed to Update Package Lists

I have downloaded, checked and installed Fedora 9 via i386 DVD iso.
The installation is on sdc, my third SATA drive, the other two running XP Pro. The boot is directly to sdc as specified in BIOS.
When I tried to update the installation I see the following error message:

Failed to get a TID: incorrect path with ';' returned

Searching documentation and the Forums etc has not produced anything
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1st September 2008, 03:13 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
What command did you run that yielded this error?

V
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st September 2008, 06:08 PM
lakegen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 68
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hlingler
What command did you run that yielded this error?

V
Using the GUI I saw the message after doing one of two things:

1 System>Administration> Update Software and saw 'getting updates' window before error message appeared

2 System>Administration> Add/remove software. In window clicked on one of the packages on list on left or used 'find' for Gramps before error message appeared

There were a number of attempts with the same result with reboots in between. Sometime after posting my question, #1 worked correctly and I saw the message for no updates but #2 still as before. This morning #2 worked and I did not get message and downloaded 'Gramps'.

Since then, the error message has not appeared. Why this happened I do not know as I believe I was doing the same as earlier attempts.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st September 2008, 12:14 AM
mmv Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Europe
Posts: 10
Same problem

I have encountered the same problem: Just installed Fedora 9 from scratch (using a DVD burned with the official ISO image, itself downloaded from the Fedora web site), then tried to update the system using the System -> Administration -> Update system tool. The error message says "Getting update lists failed", "Failed to get updates", and under the 'More details', "failed to get a TID: Incorrect path with ';' returned!"

Help on what to do next to allow update will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st September 2008, 01:22 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
There was another thread with the same question recently, and an answer. Search the forum for the keywords: yum plugin

I think that it was the filelist (?) plugin that has a typo in one of the files in the new package that causes the failure. I now remember disabling this plugin.

V
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st September 2008, 04:02 PM
lakegen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 68
Posts: 3
mmv

I used the same DVD burned ISO image. As I said in my post above, the problem seemed to go away in stages without any apparent action (except rebooting) on my part. I hope the same is for you.

I did follow Hlingler's suggestion & searched for 'yum plugin'. This did not seem to yield much for me. I tried 'yum update' which seemed to give me some relevant posts. This caused my to try
'yum --disableplugin=protectbase update' Apparently this plugin had caused others similar problems.
I got the reply that 'protectbase' was not present.

Hence I hope the problem will resolve itself as mine appears to have done.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st September 2008, 04:21 PM
mmv Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Europe
Posts: 10
Hi lakegen,

First of all, many thanks to Hlinger for pointing out there had been another thread on this topic. It requires a bit of digging, but search for the thread entitled 'yum update problems SOLVED' started by nissan.bakish on 2008-09-16 at 07:33 AM PDT. BTW: Is there a simpler way to refer to a given thread on this site? Anyway, there are two essential contributions:

- the first thing to do is yum --disableplugin=protectbase update
- then you can issue the recommended sequence
su -
yum install wget
wget http://koji.fedoraproject.org/packag...ion.noarch.rpm
rpm -Uvh fedora-release-9-5.transition.noarch.rpm
rm -f fedora-release-9-5.transition.noarch.rpm
yum clean all
yum update

In my case, I did not need to rm the rpm package: it was not there or had been removed previously. I also did not get the http line or do anything about that. However, the last 3 lines appear to be very effective. Takes a while (especially the last action), but after that the system was able to get updated. In my case, the update required 366 packages, and with the dependencies and other stuff I had in the end over 700 files to download, but everything worked like a charm. I hope it does for you too...

mmv.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24th September 2008, 09:44 PM
myname77 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 68
w00t, this seemed to work. Now to find out how to permanently disable protectbase
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24th September 2008, 09:58 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by myname77
w00t, this seemed to work. Now to find out how to permanently disable protectbase
Edit (as root user) file /etc/yum/pluginconf.d/protectbase.conf and set enabled=0.

V
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24th September 2008, 10:02 PM
myname77 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 68
w00t, this seemed to work. Now to find out how to permanently disable the protectbase plugin..

Thanx.

--k
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 24th September 2008, 10:09 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
Shall I repeat the answer, or was that just temporary dyslexia?

V
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 24th September 2008, 10:16 PM
myname77 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 68
WTF? Not sure why the double post. Damn, this work day has been WAY too long.

I'm out.

--k
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 7th December 2008, 01:51 PM
fedejofa Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Hi, i get this error too, and would like if posible to understand what this protectbase plugin does?
Is to protect the distro?
Greetings.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 7th December 2008, 10:38 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by fedejofa View Post
Hi, i get this error too, and would like if posible to understand what this protectbase plugin does?
Is to protect the distro?

Greetings.
No. From the RPM description:
Code:
~]$ rpm -qi yum-protectbase
Name        : yum-protectbase              Relocations: (not relocatable)
Version     : 1.1.17                            Vendor: Fedora Project
Release     : 1.fc8                         Build Date: Thu 18 Sep 2008 03:35:54 AM EDT
Install Date: Fri 10 Oct 2008 04:30:29 PM EDT      Build Host: ppc10.fedora.phx.redhat.com
Group       : System Environment/Base       Source RPM: yum-utils-1.1.17-1.fc8.src.rpm
Size        : 2356                             License: GPLv2+
Signature   : DSA/SHA1, Wed 08 Oct 2008 05:08:45 PM EDT, Key ID 62aec3dc6df2196f
Packager    : Fedora Project
URL         : http://linux.duke.edu/yum/download/yum-utils/
Summary     : Yum plugin to protect packages from certain repositories.
Description :
This plugin allows certain repositories to be protected. Packages in the
protected repositories can't be overridden by packages in non-protected
repositories even if the non-protected repo has a later version.
V
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
failed, lists, package, update

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
package conflicts: assemble dependency lists? Nick Levinson Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 12th June 2009 09:59 AM
Failed to update package lists robertfdawson Using Fedora 3 22nd December 2008 02:43 AM
Matrix for package lists? MadCat356 Using Fedora 1 14th July 2005 10:20 PM
Install option - package lists? mattm Servers & Networking 1 15th January 2005 03:25 AM
Package update failed sbecker Using Fedora 1 9th September 2004 05:08 PM


Current GMT-time: 17:29 (Thursday, 30-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Sainte-Therese - Altoona Travel Photos - Yanai Instagram Photos