Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 5th September 2008, 06:04 PM
Neshberatu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 7
Exclamation Permissions

Ok, So, I may or may not have gone into Root and set the permissions so i could access them from a normal user. Ok, So i did. Is there a way to change them back without logging in though? I can't seem to load up Fedora 9 anymore. It goes through the autoloader but stops at a certain point, To quick for me to see whats wrong.

It then goes to a blank screen and doesn't let me do anything. Can anyone help?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 5th September 2008, 07:02 PM
fnmblot Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 300
What point does it stop? What files did you change the permissions? What did you change the permission to?
__________________
Gee Ricky, I'm sorry your mom blew up.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th September 2008, 07:08 PM
Neshberatu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 7
I changed everything in file system, my main HDD so that i could change everything with the normal user, Because i didn't want to have t log into root to do it.

It stops about 3/4 of the way through.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th September 2008, 07:34 PM
JohnVV Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ann Arbor
Age: 47
Posts: 3,936
Quote:
I changed everything in file system, my main HDD so that i could change everything with the normal user, Because i didn't want to have t log into root to do it.
i bet you will never do that again !
i take it you did this ( guessing)
as root
Code:
chmod -R 777 /
and /or
Code:
chown  -R ( user name):( user name) /
chmod -R 777 /
there may be no easy way to revert them back .
Most will be 755 , some are 644 , and some are not owned by root but apache or clamav , ...

the essayist way to fix is to reinstall
__________________
OpenSUSE 13.1-64bit & Scientific Linux 6.5-64bit ( fedora 4 to 11) and 19/20 on KVM
My Celestia Downloads

h t t p ://celestiamotherlode.net/catalog/show_creator_details.php?creator_id=10
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th September 2008, 02:52 AM
Neshberatu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 7
Is there a way to reinstall without losing the data thats already on the HDD? I had a few projects that are fairly hard to get back.

And you can bet i won't be doing that again.

I went through to file system, Selected all the files, And went to properties actually.

EDIT: Never mind. I just reinstalled. Now i have to set everything up again >_>

It was a big enough headache the first time -.-

Last edited by Neshberatu; 6th September 2008 at 03:35 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
permissions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Permissions mwinn22 Using Fedora 5 1st March 2009 06:21 PM
NFS permissions newmab Using Fedora 3 2nd July 2007 06:02 AM
httpd permissions, hda1 User permissions, Cake? Fault Using Fedora 7 1st August 2006 07:12 PM
SSH permissions desipher Servers & Networking 2 7th September 2005 03:56 PM


Current GMT-time: 04:24 (Wednesday, 24-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat