Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 9th September 2008, 05:18 AM
P4rD0nM3 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 350
F9 VMWare Server 1.0.7 Locks on Guess OS Boot

Does anyone here know how to solve this problem? I'm not exactly sure what to look at or what to provide you guys to help me diagnose this problem...

Like when I boot my guess OS's, it'll do a hard lock on my laptop.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 9th September 2008, 05:34 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:
Just a suggestion.

First, open a terminal and log in as root, then copy and paste the folowing:

tail -f /var/log/messages >> /home/username/vmware.log

Then open a terminal and as a normal user type and enter

vmware

and see what if any output you can capture in either the normal terminal or the output vmware.log in your home directory.

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th September 2008, 06:49 AM
marcrblevins Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 4,168
You saying 1.0.7 locks your PC? I'll sit with my 1.0.6 for now. Go to 1.0.6?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th September 2008, 01:38 PM
P4rD0nM3 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 350
No I can't even do that because once I hit 'Start Guess OS', it locks up.

Same with 1.0.6 marc.

I can't find the post where some guy uninstall three apps and everything worked out perfectly. Because I was reading it and he did it for his 1.0.6 and I was thinking, heck I have 1.0.7 so I'll just look at it later.

FF never got to restore the websites...and I didn't saved it it my favorites.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th September 2008, 07:41 PM
P4rD0nM3 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 350
Haha, I fixed it. I just went to System > Administrator > Add/Remove Software > Virtualization ...and then unchecked everything. Did a reboot and everything's working now.

Quote:
And then here's a couple of suggestions from other people. The thing is I have no idea how to do what they are talking about...

"If you have kvm-related kernel modules loaded, try removing (rmmod)
them before you start vmware."

"So apparently it was virtualization conflicts...

I removed the Virtualization group, qemu, and kvm... and it worked.

found this thread here:
http://linux.derkeiler.com/Mailing-L.../msg01829.html"

Last edited by P4rD0nM3; 9th September 2008 at 07:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, guess, locks, server, vmware

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I guess the presto server is overloaded? marko Using Fedora 3 14th February 2008 01:17 AM
Install VMware VMware-server-1.0.1-29996.i386.rpm sheffrem Servers & Networking 6 12th April 2007 01:13 AM
Howto: Windows in Fedora with Vmware Server on dual boot laptop. wneumann Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 3 30th October 2006 07:03 PM
FC4 Server Locks up trying2alfresco Servers & Networking 7 14th August 2006 07:09 PM
Server locks . . . minion Servers & Networking 0 31st January 2006 01:31 PM


Current GMT-time: 02:58 (Wednesday, 30-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat