Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 10th September 2008, 09:30 AM
joeCoffee Offline

MySQL Storage Engine InnoDB Disabled

Good Day,

Thanks for a very helpful forum. I am new to Linux, looking to setup webERP for a small but growing enterprise. webERP requires InnoDB tables.

I have a working mysql server, as well as phpMyAdmin and MySQL Administrator in place.

SHOW ENGINES \G reports the following:
mysql> show engines \g
+------------+----------+----------------------------------------------------------------+
| Engine | Support | Comment |
+------------+----------+----------------------------------------------------------------+
| MyISAM | DEFAULT | Default engine as of MySQL 3.23 with great performance |
| MEMORY | YES | Hash based, stored in memory, useful for temporary tables |
| InnoDB | DISABLED | Supports transactions, row-level locking, and foreign keys |
| BerkeleyDB | YES | Supports transactions and page-level locking |
12 rows in set (0.00 sec)

I have both hand edited and used MySQL Administrator to edit the my.cnf to reflect the following in the [mysqld] section:

#user_added_Innodb config based on
#http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/...iguration.html
#now using MyAdmin SQL GUI

innodb_data_file_path=ibdata1:10M:autoextend
innodb_buffer_pool_size=1970M
innodb_additional_mem_pool_size=10M
innodb_log_file_size=50M
innodb_log_buffer_size=20M
innodb_flush_log_at_trx_commit=1

#Enable this option only if you would like to use InnoDB tables.
skip-innodb

I have placed the "Enable this Option..." both before and after the innodb lines creating the ibdata file, buffer, mem_pool and log files.