Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 13th September 2008, 02:19 AM
lordamus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 128
Thumbs up Headphones not working on ATI chip sound Laptop * SOLVED *

My laptop has ATI IXP SB4x0 High Definition Audio and I can get sound with built-in speakers but when I try plug the headphones its not working... in Alsamixer headphones is checked...

00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc IXP SB4x0 High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)


here is my modprobe.conf

# ALSA portion
alias char-major-116 snd
alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel

# module options should go here
options snd-card-0 index=0
options snd-hda-intel index=0 model=lenovo

# OSS/Free portion
alias char-major-14 soundcore
alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0
# card #1
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss


In volume control HDA ATI SB used and in switches section headphones selected.I use model=lenovo because i cant get sound working without that...Maybe something wrong..I attached alsa mixer pics..

MY system is F9 i386 with latest updates pulse audio installed.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	alsa1.gif
Views:	102
Size:	22.6 KB
ID:	17311   Click image for larger version

Name:	alsa2.gif
Views:	94
Size:	14.2 KB
ID:	17312  

Last edited by lordamus; 27th September 2008 at 01:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th September 2008, 03:51 PM
lordamus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 128
Any clue ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th September 2008, 01:55 PM
lordamus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 128
Solution Here is what I did ;

First I changed model to 3stack-dig(coz I`ve ALC-861-VD codec chip) in modprobe.conf ( model=3stack-dig) then I put "<sound>=/dev/dsp* /dev/snd/*" and " <console> 0666 <sound> 0600 root " to the perm defs in the file /etc/security/console.perms.d/50-default.perms saved exit.Now headphones working
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ati, chip, headphones, laptop, sound, working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No sound through headphones, only laptop speakers ElMoRsA Hardware & Laptops 9 3rd March 2009 12:29 AM
Sound outputs OK, but inserting headphones does not mute speakers nor gives any sound sardaukar_siet Hardware & Laptops 1 2nd December 2008 07:35 AM
TPM chip in my laptop Wiles Security and Privacy 1 18th August 2007 01:38 AM
Sound Not Working On Laptop Khaos Hardware & Laptops 0 9th November 2005 12:44 AM
PCMCIA graphics chip?! (laptop) Sarah1 Hardware & Laptops 0 28th August 2005 06:19 PM


Current GMT-time: 18:10 (Friday, 18-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat