Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 13th September 2008, 02:58 PM
clutch Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 5
upgraded to fc9 can't login at graphic screen but can login from a console

I just upgraded my fc8 install and when I get the graphical screen that one logs into, it shows my normal user name and other. If I try to login using my
normal username and password it fails

Same if I select other, enter root and then the root password.

Googling around I saw note on going to runlevel 1 and booted to that.

Changed root and my normal username passwords to what I was using prior to the upgrade.

Rebooted, graphical login still fails.

I notice that if I put an incorrect password in, I get an unable to authenticate user message, if I put in the right one, the screen goes black for a while and returns me back to graphical screen w/o the unable to authenticate message.

ctrl alt f1 gives me a console, both root and normal user accounts can be logged into that way.

Any clues on how to fix this?

Thanks,

Clutch
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th September 2008, 04:29 PM
clutch Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 5
Another bit of data as I look into things.

yum isn't working, complains about libnss3.so not being found.
same for rpm.

Clutch
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th September 2008, 11:28 PM
clutch Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 5
Well, I guess everyone is having fun. Used winblows to extract the nss stuff from the dvd, ftp'd it to a webserver, ftp'd it down to the box.

Now yum is complaining about libplds4.so .

I tried to upgrade install again but I got some sort of error. I've gone from fc5,6,7,8. F9 is flawed imho.

Back at it.


Clutch
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th September 2008, 12:03 AM
clutch Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 5
Yum not complains about libplds4.so found the library on dvd, used PeaZipPortable to extract it to my windows machine. Did the ftp up and down thing again.

Now yum is stil broken, I can log in graphically and rpm works. /usr/lib has a few more broken symbolic links. Tomorrow, I will continue. Might just manage to save it yet.

Clutch
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th September 2008, 07:41 AM
clutch Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 5
Well, there are more things that don't work. Grabbed data that I wanted to keep and doing fresh install. I guess it was time to get rid of the cruft.

I noticed, reading the stickys that fresh install is the preferred way to go.

Clutch
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14th September 2008, 09:32 AM
LDC Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 986
correct, that will solve lots of problems (if not all of them...)
__________________
Money couldn't buy friends, but you get a better class of enemy.

Linux Registered User #476391
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14th September 2008, 03:11 PM
Saint Mike Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Earth... sometimes
Posts: 384
It's always good to do fresh installs, though required less then windows. If this is the same system u have been upgrading since FC5, i would DEFINETLY do a clean install lol.

Its pretty easy to backup home dir and reinstall apps.
__________________
_________________________________
Cheers to the community for all the awsome work :)
HP Proliant N36L Microserver Os: FC19-MATE Ram: 2x4 gig DDR3 1333C8 Video Card: Nvidia GTX520
Main PC Os: FC15, Win7 CPU: Intel i7-2600K Ram: 2x4 gig DDR3 1600C7 Video card: Nvidia EVGA GTX570-OC
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
console, fc9, graphic, login, screen, upgraded

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 11 ldap gui login/logon fails (console login works) skotay Using Fedora 2 12th June 2009 09:04 PM
Login screen - menu - console doesn't allow me to log in dally_z Using Fedora 13 1st February 2009 08:43 AM
after upgrade to F8 only X-login, but failing to login, returns to login screen angro Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 26th November 2007 08:12 PM
Upgraded from FC5 to FC6, lost pretty login screen phorensic Using Fedora 3 23rd February 2007 05:27 PM
I upgraded ATK, Glib, GTK, and now I can't get a graphical login screen... promba Using Fedora 1 28th May 2005 04:16 PM


Current GMT-time: 02:01 (Monday, 15-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat