Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 16th September 2008, 03:04 AM
D-Caf Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Question EeePC 1000, after resume brightness controls fail

I've found that after resuming from suspend to ram my LCD brightness is stuck at full brightness. Also, I am unable to adjust the brightness without a reboot.

Anyone else have this problem or know of a fix? Thanks.
__________________
Commuting Laptop: EeePC 1000 40G, Fedora 9
Heavy Work Laptop: MacBook Pro, Mac OSX 10.5.5
Home Workstation: Intle P4 3GH HT, 1.5GB Ram, Raid 1 250GB, Fedora 9
Work Workstation: Mac Pro, 4GB Ram, 250GB HD, Mac OSX 10.5.5
Spare Laptop: Sharp MM20, Transmeta Effecion 1Ghz, 512MB, CentOS 5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16th September 2008, 04:54 AM
hotdog Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 250
I didn't realise I had this problem until I saw your post, but it seems I do too. I was able to change LCD brightness before, but I've tested both hibernate and suspend functions since my last reboot (they worked perfectly 'out of the box', BTW ) and now I can't change brightness.
__________________
Asus Eee PC 901, 2GB RAM, 20GB SSD + 16GB SDHC w/ Fedora 11
HTC Hero w/ Android 1.5 (MoDaCo Custom ROM 2.2e)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th September 2008, 03:42 PM
D-Caf Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Ok, kinda have a temporary solution. I did two things, one I edited my grub boot line to add the following:

Code:
video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr vga=789
i.e. my boot line looks like this now:

Code:
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.26.3-29.fc9.i686 ro root=/dev/sda2 video=vesafb:ywrap,mtrr vga=789 quiet
This gives me a 800x600 terminal during boot and on the alt-ctrl-Fn1-6 keys after X loads. Just like the exrra space.

Now after I go to suspend and resume, the brightness is locked, but if I switch to one of the teminal screens via alt-ctrl-F1 for example then back to the GUI via alt-ctrl-F7 I get my brightness control back. Now, just need to figure out what this means under the hood and how to have brightness control back without switching terminals.
__________________
Commuting Laptop: EeePC 1000 40G, Fedora 9
Heavy Work Laptop: MacBook Pro, Mac OSX 10.5.5
Home Workstation: Intle P4 3GH HT, 1.5GB Ram, Raid 1 250GB, Fedora 9
Work Workstation: Mac Pro, 4GB Ram, 250GB HD, Mac OSX 10.5.5
Spare Laptop: Sharp MM20, Transmeta Effecion 1Ghz, 512MB, CentOS 5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th September 2008, 03:19 AM
hotdog Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 250
It's pretty weird that switching terminals clears the error. Have you posted to bugzilla with your findings? Thanks for the workaround, anyway.
__________________
Asus Eee PC 901, 2GB RAM, 20GB SSD + 16GB SDHC w/ Fedora 11
HTC Hero w/ Android 1.5 (MoDaCo Custom ROM 2.2e)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th September 2008, 04:55 PM
D-Caf Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Nope, haven't filed a bug report yet, been busy last two days. Still busy :-(
__________________
Commuting Laptop: EeePC 1000 40G, Fedora 9
Heavy Work Laptop: MacBook Pro, Mac OSX 10.5.5
Home Workstation: Intle P4 3GH HT, 1.5GB Ram, Raid 1 250GB, Fedora 9
Work Workstation: Mac Pro, 4GB Ram, 250GB HD, Mac OSX 10.5.5
Spare Laptop: Sharp MM20, Transmeta Effecion 1Ghz, 512MB, CentOS 5
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th September 2008, 02:10 AM
D-Caf Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Bug now filed:
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=464260

Hopefully we can get a clean fix. Wish I had more details though.
__________________
Commuting Laptop: EeePC 1000 40G, Fedora 9
Heavy Work Laptop: MacBook Pro, Mac OSX 10.5.5
Home Workstation: Intle P4 3GH HT, 1.5GB Ram, Raid 1 250GB, Fedora 9
Work Workstation: Mac Pro, 4GB Ram, 250GB HD, Mac OSX 10.5.5
Spare Laptop: Sharp MM20, Transmeta Effecion 1Ghz, 512MB, CentOS 5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
1000, brightness, controls, eeepc, fail, resume

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kernel update causes brightness applet and Fn keys to fail plrsmith Hardware & Laptops 4 2nd October 2009 11:37 AM
backlight brightness dim after resume zx5000 Hardware & Laptops 6 9th April 2009 12:36 AM
EeePC 1000 and FC 10 mickeyboy Hardware & Laptops 3 27th January 2009 11:43 PM
EeePC 1000 Fedora 9 masta Hardware & Laptops 82 2nd December 2008 08:43 AM
laptop brightness controls glhere Hardware & Laptops 13 31st July 2008 09:55 PM


Current GMT-time: 11:55 (Saturday, 25-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Condado Travel Photos - Goodlettsville - Laval