Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 18th September 2008, 11:49 AM
birsa munda Offline

Difference between fedora and redhat enterprise linux

hai everyone!!

I am new to linux. Can anybody tell what are the differences b/w Fedora Core and Redhat Enterprise Linux. I think botth uses the same command. Is both belongs to Redhat distribution.

Plz reply.

with regards.
birsa
Old 18th September 2008, 11:58 AM
markkuk Offline

See here: http://www.redhat.com/rhel/migrate/whichlinux/
Old 18th September 2008, 12:05 PM
forkbomb Offline

Quote:
Originally Posted by birsa munda
Is both belongs to Redhat distribution.
Ehhh... what? The Fedora Project has corporate sponsorship from Redhat Inc. but officially and properly speaking the Fedora distribution itself (by the way, it's not Fedora Core anymore) is not a product of Redhat Inc.

The biggest differences are:
1) Community support (Fedora) versus paid support (Redhat)
2) Release cycle: Fedora releases every 6 months and a given version is (supposedly) only supported for about 13 months, Redhat is supported for years
3) Software stability: Fedora is a sort of testbed for bleeding-edge software (but can be made to work in production environments if you're dedicated); Redhat is specifically geared to production environments and contains tried-and-true software and feature implementations
4) Money

http://www.google.com/search?q=diffe...ient=firefox-a

EDIT: Though Fedora and Redhat have similar init structures and such from a technical standpoint, they're very different in terms of software stability and feel. CentOS is much closer to Redhat in terms of features and software versions.
http://centos.org

Last edited by forkbomb; 18th September 2008 at 12:09 PM.
Old 18th September 2008, 01:17 PM
jnvilo Offline

RHEL is based on Fedora. I hope this helps.

From a users point of view, if you know your way around Fedora then you know your away around RHEL or Centos for that matter.