Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 20th September 2008, 01:43 AM
PlanBForOOo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Console output on DVI for Radeon 8500

Hi there,
I try to get my Radeon 8500 to talk to my shiny new Samsung SyncMaster 245T via DVI output.

The Radeon is a dual head card that has a VGA and a DVI output (and could theoretically drive two different monitors with that).

Now I have the card working on the VGA port and up to a resolution of 1680x1050. However I'd like to use the native resolution of 1900x1200 and also the DVI output port.

I get KDM to show up on the DVI output but as soon as I log on the DVI goes blank again. Any ideas what might be wrong?

Also, I can only see the console output on the VGA output. All I found so far was configuration of the X-Server, but how can I see the regular terminal output on the DVI interface?

Thanks

K<o>
__________________
Busy, producing video based manuals for Open Office
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th September 2008, 03:59 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,291
If there is nothing connected to the DVI port when X11/Xorg starts, it will simply ignore that port. You can't go back later and "hot-plug" a monitor into the DVI port and expect it to work. At a minimum, you'd have to re-start the X-server.

V
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd September 2008, 02:22 AM
PlanBForOOo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks, it appears that is also true for the VGA port. As long as something is plugged into the VGA port, the DVI configuration is ignored. This is really confusing, as KDM still functions on that monitor, and then the X-Server ignores the configuration, even one that does configure X to use the DVI output.

However, all this only pertains to the X-Server. I got the DVI now working as the only monitor for KDM and X-Server, but I still can't see the console output, before X-Server is even started. Any idea how to get that directed to the DVI output?
__________________
Busy, producing video based manuals for Open Office
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
8500, console, dvi, output, radeon

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Command display output on console and simultaneously save the command and its output satimis Linux Chat 10 1st August 2008 03:02 AM
Radeon 8500 TV-Out Not Working with FC2 kd73 Hardware & Laptops 0 21st December 2004 08:41 PM
FC2 radeon 8500 tv/out skipper3k Using Fedora 0 25th May 2004 09:51 PM
seg fault trying to install Radeon 8500 ATi driver bopc Hardware & Laptops 0 15th December 2003 06:28 AM


Current GMT-time: 10:20 (Monday, 28-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat