Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora that do not belong in any other forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 24th September 2008, 06:51 AM
LinuxNewb07 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: ATL
Posts: 8
Dual Boot using NTLDR bootloader - Grub issues (FC9) Assistance needed. THX. $$

OK, I've tried to get this to work all night and thought I'd see if I can bounce this off some of you guys to see if you can help me out.

I just received my company laptop which was pre-loaded with WinXP. Typically I would just blow it all away and install Fedora, but I want to dual boot for a couple months just in case there is something I need from my Windows partition.

Anyhoo, the one requirement in all of this is I can't mess with the MBR, there is a utility of sorts installed in the MBR that requires me to log in with my password to unencrypt my windows partition. If I elect to install grub to my mbr then I won't be able to log in to decrypt my windows files, hence making the partition useless. I learned this the hard way.

So during the installation I had grub installed to the first sector of the partition and not the MBR. Here are my partitions:

sda1 - Windows
sda2 - /boot
sda3 - /
sda4 - swap

I've already done all the NTLDR legwork, ie. getting the grub image (dd /boot) and modifying the boot.ini file in windows and the entry shows fine. However, when I select to boot Fedora it brings up the splash screen and then it trys to load, but it hangs displaying the following:

Booting 'Fedora ...

root (hd0,1)
Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.25-14.fc9.i686 ro root=UUID=<cut> rhgb quiet
[Linux-bzImage, setup=0x3000, size=0x1fab60]
initrd /initrd-2.6.25-14.fc9.i686.img
[Linux-initrd @ 0x37d5c000, 0x293b44 bytes]

Then it show a blinking cursor blinking over and over. I can't type anything and it is unresponsive. Why is it hanging here? If anyone has any suggestions it would be greatly appreciated. Hell, I would even paypal some $$$ for a solution.


Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24th September 2008, 09:27 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,813
I'm not familiar with this method of booting Linux but I find the question interesting. Here's a link I found by searching the forum, http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/sho...ual+boot+ntldr. Stoat is good at this dual boot stuff. My own thought is the UUID. Is it correct? I would boot the Fedora DVD in rescue mode. Once at the command prompt type blkid to get the UUID and match it against what the boot loader has. If it's different it isn't going to boot and needs to be changed.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th September 2008, 03:36 PM
LinuxNewb07 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: ATL
Posts: 8
The UUID is correct. I read Stoat's guide and I've tried all 3 ways he's listed and each time I get the same result. This is killing me. Everything seems to be set up correctly so I don't understand what the hold up is here. Any other ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th September 2008, 03:51 PM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,813
Yes. If you can post the output of /sbin/fdisk -l (tough if you can't boot Fedora) it may be helpful. Alternatively, edit Fedora's existing boot loader and change root (hd0,1) to root (hd0,2). Then try to boot Fedora. Just a shot in the dark / educated guess.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th September 2008, 06:02 PM
stoat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by LinuxNewb07

Booting 'Fedora ...

root (hd0,1)
Filesystem type is ext2fs, partition type 0x83
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.25-14.fc9.i686 ro root=UUID=<cut> rhgb quiet
[Linux-bzImage, setup=0x3000, size=0x1fab60]
initrd /initrd-2.6.25-14.fc9.i686.img
[Linux-initrd @ 0x37d5c000, 0x293b44 bytes]
Hello LinuxNewb07,

To me, those confirmations of the commands in the grub.conf mean that the dual booting aspect of this is working. In fact, it's over. Stage2 has run, presented the splash screen and/or menu, and is issuing the commands in the grub.conf to launch the kernel and initial ramdisk. For the same reason, the UUID must be okay, too. Something else is wrong.

Try booting without the "quiet" parameter in the kernel command line. Booting will then show many lines of debug spew and information about what is happening around the time of the hang. It may help, but no promises. How to do it...
  1. Reboot and choose Fedora in the XP boot menu.
  2. Press a key during the Fedora splash screen countdown to see the menu.
  3. With the menu highlight on a Fedora kernel, press the 'e' key.
  4. Move the menu highlight down to the kernel command line and press the 'e' key again.
  5. Now edit the command line with the cursor (erase "quiet"; might as well erase "rhgb" too).
  6. Press <Enter> to return.
  7. Press the 'b' key to boot with the changes
Watch the ouput. It will be hanging either on the last thing printed or the next thing that would have been printed (not much help).

P.S.: Edits made to the grub.conf command lines at the menu like that are not permanent changes to the grub.conf file. They are only "one-shot" things for that boot.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th September 2008, 03:25 AM
LinuxNewb07 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: ATL
Posts: 8
Sorry for not getting back sooner on this. Long story short, I got this to work using grub4dos. Although it didn't work at first, I started to play around with the grub command prompt via grub4dos, and, after some tinkering I got it to work with the "edd=off" option.

Now, interesting thing is, this only works using grub4dos. If I append "edd=off" using the grub boot manager from Fedora it still doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th September 2008, 11:39 PM
stoat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7,550
Hello LinuxNewb07,

GRUB4DOS is a perfectly acceptable method of dual booting Windows and Linux. I don't use it, but I'm glad that it exists. It comes in handy sometimes. Maybe the different behavior that you are observing is caused by the difference in GRUB4DOS running in an MS operating system environment, and GNU GRUB running in a native environment (outside of any operating system). Anyway, another parameter that people sometimes pass to the kernel when booting hangs in that part of the process is edd=skipmbr. Not suggesting anything. Just FYI.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28th September 2008, 12:00 AM
JohnVV Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ann Arbor
Age: 47
Posts: 3,946
a bit late but?
it is a bit odd i have been using the win boot to start grub since fedora 4 .
with ntfs-3g working i no longer need to copy Fedora.bin to a 3.5 disk and copy it to win. XP. I just do this from the dvd in rescue mode .
Code:
chroot /mnt/sysimage 
/* root login */
root
( my password)
mkdir /mnt/windows
mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sda1 /mnt/windows
nano /etc/fstab
/* and add a line
/dev/sda1               /mnt/windows            ntfs-3g  rw,defaults,umask=0222 0 0
/*
dd if=/dev/sd?? of=/fedora.bin bs=512 count=1
/* ?? is where the boot is */
cp /fedora.bin /mnt/windows
/* or run */
dd if=/dev/sd?? of=/mnt/windows/fedora.bin bs=512 count=1
nano /mnt/windows/boot.ini
/* and add    C:\fedora.bin= " Fedora "  
(ctrl+o ) and <enter> to save*/
and reboot
__________________
OpenSUSE 13.1-64bit & Scientific Linux 6.5-64bit ( fedora 4 to 11) and 19/20 on KVM
My Celestia Downloads

h t t p ://celestiamotherlode.net/catalog/show_creator_details.php?creator_id=10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
assistance, boot, bootloader, dual, fc9, grub, issues, needed, ntldr, thx

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual boot fedora and xp grub issues cjnkns Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 15th July 2008 08:26 PM
dual boot xp with ntldr chronics Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 7 5th April 2007 04:20 AM
Dual Boot Issues with Grub Amphlett Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 6 3rd July 2006 04:30 PM


Current GMT-time: 00:04 (Saturday, 29-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Mesa, Centrio Ayala, Cagayan De Oro City Travel Photos on Instagram - Cocoa Beach, Cape Canaveral, Florida, Usa .. Photos on Instagram - Aliya Surf Camp Resort Baler,Aurora Travel Photos