Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 17th October 2008, 03:14 AM
Allislost Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
A bad Fedora install fixed VISTA!

I had a big problem with Vista (wav files would create massive slowdowns) so i decide to Reinstall vista. Here's what happened in chronological order...

*Booted a Win98 restore cd to access fdisk

*CD caused an error (NTLDR Missing) after a failed cd boot

*I remembered that i didn't have a vista install cd and that i deleted the restore partition

*After many failed(?) Vista bootloader repairs I downloaded fedora on another comp

*During the install of Fedora i deleted the PQservice partition and used that space for the fedora partition

*After that, the Fedora install froze while working in the 666th package. Weird huh?

*Then, after a hard reset Vista loaded properly and i'm back to using Vista!

Isn't this strange? Was the PQSevice partition the source of the original problem?

BTW I'll try to install Fedora soon.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th October 2008, 02:01 PM
tsorvoja Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 34
Posts: 380
You might want to consider putting some money to lottery today...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th October 2008, 05:56 PM
tsorvoja Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 34
Posts: 380
Just wanted to add that the PQSevice partition was the recovery partition for Windows Vista. After this there is no way to restore Vista installation when Vista borks. But if you start using Fedora who cares...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th October 2008, 06:42 PM
creeping death Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 656
clearly a a bad filesystem problem...u should consider reformatting or atleast doing some maintenance work (such as chkdsk, defragmentation) on your drives,not that i did'nt find know about ur experience amusing and intriguing , but just thought that i should let u know.

...ofcourse all those problems would be history if u'd switch to fedora...the filesystem was the main reason that drove me away from windows and to fedora.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th October 2008, 11:25 PM
Allislost Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
@Tsorvoja

Yeah i already knew about the PQService par and it's use, but deleted all the files in that par and used it to store some of my data about a year ago, HA which is another reason why i complete forgot about the missing Vista install files.

And Remember that weird slowdown caused by .wav files? I fixed it!

It was caused by having a "Tags" option shown as one of the many "sort by" folder options. I just took it off the bar, restarted, and now i can work with my WAV files!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th October 2008, 01:24 AM
NoEffex Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 299
NTFS = Disgrace
ext2/3 = Way better

I think that about sums up your problem.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 CPU (2.66 GHz)
3gb RAM
500GB HD
Debian Lenny x86_64 & Windows 7 Ultimate x64
NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GTX+ Superclocked - Fattypack

Second(Server) PC:
512mb RAM
80gb TiVO HD(Lololol, took it from TiVO, old one broke)
PC-BSD 7.1.1 x86
Ossom router decked out with DD-WRT as a bridge providing net
Sign the Online Petition to bring Crysis 2 to Linux/Mac!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th October 2008, 02:47 AM
kona0197 Offline
The Wibble Rouser
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Age: 38
Posts: 4,123
Quote:
NTFS = Disgrace
ext2/3 = Way better
HFS = The Best!
__________________
Custom Desktop | Intel Pentium E5400 Dual-Core CPU - 2.7 GHz | 4 GB DDR2-800 RAM | 120 GB HDD | Nvidia GeForce 7050 Graphics | DVD-RW | Windows 7 SP1

No fate but what we make...
My Blog: kona0197.wordpress.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20th October 2008, 03:18 AM
NoEffex Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by kona0197 View Post
HFS = The Best!
Touche, but yours truly has never been able to get OS X running on his computer.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 CPU (2.66 GHz)
3gb RAM
500GB HD
Debian Lenny x86_64 & Windows 7 Ultimate x64
NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GTX+ Superclocked - Fattypack

Second(Server) PC:
512mb RAM
80gb TiVO HD(Lololol, took it from TiVO, old one broke)
PC-BSD 7.1.1 x86
Ossom router decked out with DD-WRT as a bridge providing net
Sign the Online Petition to bring Crysis 2 to Linux/Mac!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20th October 2008, 03:35 AM
kona0197 Offline
The Wibble Rouser
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Age: 38
Posts: 4,123
Sorry to hear about that. Sounds like you need a Mac.
__________________
Custom Desktop | Intel Pentium E5400 Dual-Core CPU - 2.7 GHz | 4 GB DDR2-800 RAM | 120 GB HDD | Nvidia GeForce 7050 Graphics | DVD-RW | Windows 7 SP1

No fate but what we make...
My Blog: kona0197.wordpress.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20th October 2008, 04:48 AM
NoEffex Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by kona0197 View Post
Sorry to hear about that. Sounds like you need a Mac.
Boy would that be a relief. Photoshop AND lack of viruses. Win/win.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 CPU (2.66 GHz)
3gb RAM
500GB HD
Debian Lenny x86_64 & Windows 7 Ultimate x64
NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GTX+ Superclocked - Fattypack

Second(Server) PC:
512mb RAM
80gb TiVO HD(Lololol, took it from TiVO, old one broke)
PC-BSD 7.1.1 x86
Ossom router decked out with DD-WRT as a bridge providing net
Sign the Online Petition to bring Crysis 2 to Linux/Mac!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 20th October 2008, 05:11 AM
kona0197 Offline
The Wibble Rouser
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Age: 38
Posts: 4,123
I've never used photoshop on here but I hear good things about it.

Actually I'm selling the Mac.
__________________
Custom Desktop | Intel Pentium E5400 Dual-Core CPU - 2.7 GHz | 4 GB DDR2-800 RAM | 120 GB HDD | Nvidia GeForce 7050 Graphics | DVD-RW | Windows 7 SP1

No fate but what we make...
My Blog: kona0197.wordpress.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 20th October 2008, 05:41 AM
Allislost Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
When there's a working Linux driver for my Line6 GuitarPort and Gearbox runs, then i'll make the switch.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install Fedora via ethernet (Windows Vista) Polly_31 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 14th April 2009 10:11 AM
Help: Install Fedora 10 from Vista in Virtual Machine dvtriple6 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 15th February 2009 12:39 AM
install fedora 10 next to vista/ubuntu frankje Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 2nd February 2009 07:05 PM
Fedora and Windows Vista Install madrunner Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 19 31st July 2008 06:07 PM
why is it so hard to install fedora with vista ? M4rc0 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 11 1st September 2007 01:34 AM


Current GMT-time: 00:56 (Wednesday, 30-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat