Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 23rd November 2008, 06:23 AM
safetycopy Offline

Location: Moved to North America (KY) from England by accident!
Question Dual-boot Ubuntu/XP, Replace Ubuntu w/ Fedora

Hi All,

I'm still pretty new to Linux. I've been using Ubuntu for a while but have decided to replace it with F9. I'm currently dual-booting Ubuntu and Windows XP Home. My question relates to what I need to do to replace Ubuntu with Fedora as I've heard that messing with GRUB can cause problems booting. Ultimately, I'd like to keep my existing install of XP (on one hard drive), but replace Ubuntu with F9 (on second hard drive). Any advice would be greatly appreciated and please remember I need help in a 'For Dummies' kind of way! :-)
Old 23rd November 2008, 09:21 AM
safetycopy Offline

Unhappy

Quick update...

I used the MbrFix util to (hopefully) solve the Ubuntu/GRUB related issue. I have F9 installing, BUT... Only one of my hard drives is showing up and it's the one that has Windows on it. I need to install F9 on a separate hard drive that isn't showing up as an option for me to install to. Any ideas?
Old 23rd November 2008, 10:36 AM
glennzo Offline
Un-Retired Administrator

Odd that the drive doesn't show as an option. Anything special about it? How many drives does Windows show?

What is the issue that you're having with grub? Could be related to the missing drive.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Just a couple of old single core units
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / Kingston HyperX 3K SSD 240GB SATA 3.0 / 1TB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB

Last edited by glennzo; 23rd November 2008 at 11:25 PM.
Old 23rd November 2008, 11:10 PM
safetycopy Offline

Red face

Hi Glennzo - thanks for the reply :-)

I'm not sure what I did, but the 3rd time I tried installing the drive showed up and Anaconda allowed me to install to it. Go figure...

I have two more problems now though.