Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 23rd December 2008, 02:04 PM
theriel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 28
Brightness + power control (F10, 64bit, Samsung Q310)

Hello,
I have quite a simple problem - power control on my Samsung Q310 and Fedora 10 64bit does not work properly.

I use kpowercontrol.

Generally:
-It does correctly report whether AC is plugged in or not. So something works.

Issues:
1.Setting up brightness/dim in "battery saving" mode does not work. After I unplug the cabel, the brightness does not change. I can set up my brightness using nvidia control panel and it responds without any problems.
2.While unplugged, it reports that the battery status is "-1%". Another program - Guidance Power Manager (that's the title of this icon, I dunno what it exactly is) - does not report the battery level at all. What is interesting, the simple widget, "Battery Monitor" reports the value correctly as 97% (at that moment).

I would be grateful for help.

Best regards,
Theriel

Last edited by theriel; 23rd December 2008 at 02:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th December 2008, 04:19 PM
theriel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 28
I tried setting up the brightness from the console but I cannot find the command which would work...

My devices:
a)lshal | grep laptop_panel
Code:
  info.capabilities = {'laptop_panel'} (string list)
  info.category = 'laptop_panel'  (string)
  laptop_panel.access_method = 'general'  (string)
  laptop_panel.num_levels = 6  (0x6)  (int)
b)lshal | grep backlight
Code:
udi = '/org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/computer_backlight'
  info.addons = {'hald-addon-generic-backlight'} (string list)
  info.subsystem = 'backlight'  (string)
  info.udi = '/org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/computer_backlight'  (string)
  linux.subsystem = 'backlight'  (string)
  linux.sysfs_path = '/sys/devices/virtual/backlight/acpi_video0'  (string)
I am not sure if there should be in either of these the value "laptop_panel.brightness_in_hardware (bool)" (set as true or false).

Doing as root:
a)echo 7 > /sys/devices/virtual/backlight/acpi_video0/brightness
-bash: echo: write error: Invalid argument
(I tried also echo 1,2,3,100 etc.)

b)echo 3 > /proc/acpi/video/GFX0/DD02/brightness
-bash: echo: write error: Invalid argument
(I tried also at DD01, DD02, DD03, DD04, DD05)

However, drivers are fine, because I can change brightness using Nvidia Display Settings -> X Screen 0 -> X Server Color Correction -> Brightness. I don't know, however, what the low level command is that this gui application uses.

I would be grateful for help. Once I find the command to set up the brightness I will be (hopefully) able to match the command with keycodes.

Last edited by theriel; 25th December 2008 at 04:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th December 2008, 08:42 PM
theriel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 28
I feel a little bit strange writing to myself but...

The issue can be overcome in case of Q310 and also MANY OTHER NOTEBOOKS
You need to install nvclock - if rpm doesn't support your graphic card, install from CVS (which has much wider support added).

To get it, type:
Code:
yum install cvs
cvs -d:pserver:anonymous@nvclock.cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/nvclock login
[click enter, there is no password]
cvs -z3 -d:pserver:anonymous@nvclock.cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/nvclock co -P nvclock
cd nvclock
./autogen.sh
./configure
make
sudo make install
Then, use:
nvclock -S +10 - increases brightness by 10%
nvclock -S -10 - decreases brightness by 10%
nvclock -S 50 - sets brightness at 50%

All the credit and big thanks to Thunderbird from nvidia forum.

Now, maybe somebody knows how to link this command to Gnome Power Manager? ;D

Last edited by theriel; 25th December 2008 at 08:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th December 2008, 02:59 PM
TheLK Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 33
isnt nvclock only for nvidia cards?
im having a problem with fedora 10 reconizing that this is a labtop, and the screen brightness goes crazy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
64bit, brightness, control, f10, power, q310, samsung

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing on Samsung q310 (reboots when boot to live CD is chosen) davbren Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 11 13th September 2009 02:15 PM
webcam brightness control fogelfink Hardware & Laptops 3 4th July 2009 06:13 PM
Samsung R70 Fedora 10 brightness golden_jubilee Hardware & Laptops 0 7th December 2008 07:52 PM
Power Management: Brightness Is not Max wh0rd Hardware & Laptops 2 21st May 2006 05:33 PM
Brightness goes up with power unplugged and down with power on. onegative Hardware & Laptops 0 15th August 2005 11:54 PM


Current GMT-time: 22:11 (Wednesday, 23-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat