Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 28th December 2008, 01:04 PM
jpm_power Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 33
Compiz Cube problem

With initially installed compiz, cube worked on my laptop with Intel GMA950 graphics, after that I uninstalled that and installed according to leigh instructions as I hoped some plugins which worked under FC6 would start to work under FC10, but it was not the case and I also loose cube efect. As it was not successful I backed to version which is installable through FC10 Add/Remove Software but again no cube.

So now I need help to become cube effect again.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28th December 2008, 01:20 PM
weitjong Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Singapore, 新加坡
Posts: 946
I followed the instruction to the dot and experienced the same thing. Without the Fedora default setting in the ~/.gconf/apps/compiz, the compiz-fusion creates a new settings which enables the Desktop Wall (like in Ubuntu) instead of Desktop Cube. If you are *indeed* experiencing the same problem, you can get it back by using the compiz setting manager (ccsm) to re-enable the "Desktop Cube" effect back. It should automatically disable the "Desktop Wall" for you because both of them are mutually exclusive.
__________________
YaoWT - Leave no window unbroken ♪ (^。^) 

Last edited by weitjong; 28th December 2008 at 01:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th December 2008, 01:57 PM
jpm_power Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 33
http://img187.imageshack.us/img187/2...problemwk8.png

As can be seen, there is selected cube and wall is disabled, it looks to me that ccsm is not working in my case.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th December 2008, 12:20 PM
weitjong Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Singapore, 新加坡
Posts: 946
Have you tried to delete the ~/.gconf/apps/compiz? It could be just your GConf database for Compiz setting is corrupted somehow. It is a long shot. The Compiz setting will be regenerated and hopefully this time it obeys your command.
__________________
YaoWT - Leave no window unbroken ♪ (^。^) 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29th December 2008, 01:07 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpm_power View Post
http://img187.imageshack.us/img187/2...problemwk8.png

As can be seen, there is selected cube and wall is disabled, it looks to me that ccsm is not working in my case.
Try enabling the "rotate cube" plugin
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th December 2008, 01:10 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by weitjong View Post
I followed the instruction to the dot and experienced the same thing. Without the Fedora default setting in the ~/.gconf/apps/compiz, the compiz-fusion creates a new settings which enables the Desktop Wall (like in Ubuntu) instead of Desktop Cube. If you are *indeed* experiencing the same problem, you can get it back by using the compiz setting manager (ccsm) to re-enable the "Desktop Cube" effect back. It should automatically disable the "Desktop Wall" for you because both of them are mutually exclusive.
I will be changing the default plugins in the next compiz updates so the cube effects are enabled as default.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th December 2008, 01:31 PM
weitjong Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Singapore, 新加坡
Posts: 946
Quote:
Originally Posted by leigh123@linux View Post
I will be changing the default plugins in the next compiz updates so the cube effects are enabled as default.
You are the man. Thanks in advance.

Now why did I not spot the problem in his screenshot previously? Come to think about it, I did have make this change also in my own settings
__________________
YaoWT - Leave no window unbroken ♪ (^。^) 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30th December 2008, 08:24 PM
jpm_power Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 33
Sorry friends, my fault, I was blind, I didn't see in Desktop Effects -> Workspaces on a Cube, it was not checked.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
compiz, cube, problem

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compiz Desktop Cube mpg187 Using Fedora 0 21st September 2009 08:53 PM
Compiz cube and workspaces issues klingoncowboy4 Using Fedora 2 19th March 2009 10:02 PM
compiz cube just don't want to get transparent !! shock17 Using Fedora 1 25th June 2008 07:11 AM
compiz cube wallpaper av1611 Using Fedora 13 2nd June 2008 12:13 AM
Compiz / Workspace Cube meslick Using Fedora 2 23rd September 2006 12:55 PM


Current GMT-time: 16:30 (Friday, 31-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Eleskirt - Minglanilla Photos - Limeira Travel Photos