Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 17th January 2009, 07:29 AM
abhishektux Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 6
Unhappy No login screen after reboot in Fedora 10

Fedora 10 was running fine on my friend's laptop.Today when I rebooted the bootloader and bootsplash everything shows up but there is no login screen only a black screen with a blinking cursor.So I went to the terminal and typed startx which gave me errors like
(EE) module ABI major version (4) doesn't match the server's version (5)
(EE) Failed to load module "vesa" (module requirement mismatch, 0)
(EE) module ABI major version (4) doesn't match the server's version (5)
(EE) Failed to load module "fbdev" (module requirement mismatch,0)

Before that he had installed synaptics and after reboot the whole thing happened.Even doing system-config-display --reconfig doesn't help.The problem is worse because I can't even copy and paste logs here because it has no connection or X server.
I also tried X -ignoreABI command but that makes the whole thing freeze.The graphic card is intel.Well as a bail out option I'm thinking of a format but that would be very painful.
__________________
http://www.abhishekrane.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17th January 2009, 08:06 AM
JohnVV Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ann Arbor
Age: 47
Posts: 3,948
can you boot in using the install dvd in "rescue mode" or with the "live cd " or any live cd .i use a knoippix cd for just this kind of thing .
__________________
OpenSUSE 13.1-64bit & Scientific Linux 6.5-64bit ( fedora 4 to 11) and 19/20 on KVM
My Celestia Downloads

h t t p ://celestiamotherlode.net/catalog/show_creator_details.php?creator_id=10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17th January 2009, 08:38 AM
abhishektux Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 6
I tried that but rescue mode of the fedora 10 dvd took me to a shell.Well I can try booting from an ubuntu live cd but what steps to follow afterwards ?
__________________
http://www.abhishekrane.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th January 2009, 08:46 PM
JohnVV Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ann Arbor
Age: 47
Posts: 3,948
what was installed "synaptics.i386" or "xorg-x11-drv-synaptics"

Code:
yum install synaptics
...
Package synaptics is obsoleted by xorg-x11-drv-synaptics, trying to install xorg-x11-drv-synaptics-0.15.1-3.fc9.i386 instead
Package xorg-x11-drv-synaptics-0.15.1-3.fc9.i386 already installed and latest version
try removing synaptics.i386 and reinstall "xorg-x11-drv-synaptics" and reinstall the 3d driver ( nvidia or ati) .Using the install dvd in rescue
__________________
OpenSUSE 13.1-64bit & Scientific Linux 6.5-64bit ( fedora 4 to 11) and 19/20 on KVM
My Celestia Downloads

h t t p ://celestiamotherlode.net/catalog/show_creator_details.php?creator_id=10
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th January 2009, 05:40 AM
abhishektux Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 6
Actually both "synaptics.i386" & "xorg-x11-drv-synaptics" were installed because at that time somehow the
Code:
yum install synaptics
command worked for me.Now I removed both and installed only xorg-x11-drv-synaptics but still the same problem(problem persists even after removing both).I am using intel gma 965GM and reinstalling the driver isn't helping either nor is system-config-display which is giving errors.
__________________
http://www.abhishekrane.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th January 2009, 05:51 AM
abhishektux Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 6
I also tried reinstalling xorg-x11-server-Xorg which is now giving me a complete black login screen and I can't even get to the terminal by pressing Ctrl + Alt +F1/2/3
__________________
http://www.abhishekrane.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fedora10, intelgma, xorg

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
login window "can i change my login screen in fedora 10 oshan1991 Using Fedora 15 31st October 2009 12:11 PM
No root login allowed at login screen - Fedora 10 mitchellray Using Fedora 2 2nd April 2009 02:13 AM
F8 : No Shutdown in menu, Login Screen is weird, Can't Shutdown only reboot megat Using Fedora 5 19th November 2007 12:00 PM
remove 'reboot' and 'shutdown' options from login screen riz Using Fedora 4 9th May 2005 12:41 AM


Current GMT-time: 18:01 (Saturday, 20-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Heart Roasters Travel Photos