Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 20th January 2009, 03:29 AM
captain52 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 26
Problems in switching desktops

I created two user accounts for myself with the intention of using one with Gnome and using the other with the KDE desktop. (Both desktops are installed.) I also installed the RPMs 'switchdesk-4.0.9-3.fc10.noarch' and 'switchdesk-gui-4.0.9-3.fc10.noarch' so that I can switch desktops. (I really should not need a desktop switcher, this should be an option to set under 'system->administration->Users and Groups' just like setting the shell name for a user, but that's another story. ) Anyway, I ran the desktop switching tool for one of my users and (apparently successfully) changed the desktop from Gnome to KDE. It said I had to restart X-server for it to take effect. Well, nothing changed after restarting X: both user accounts are still running Gnome.

I must have ignored some crucial step. Any idea what I may have done wrong? In general how do fickle users like myself change their desktops when they want something different for while, or who need dual user accounts for dual personalities?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th January 2009, 04:19 AM
ovadyah Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: 30.5N 90.1W
Age: 63
Posts: 297
If I understand what you want to do, why not just sign in using the same login and at the sign in (which you get when restarting xserver) and switch the desktop to which ever one you wish ?( the choice is at the bottom of the screen) I do that with f10 cause of some set up problems and other issues which are now resolved.
hope this helps
__________________
Registered Linux User #452472

Homebuilt = athlon II x2 F21
Dell Inspiron = Sempron 140 W8
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th January 2009, 04:45 AM
captain52 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by ovadyah View Post
If I understand what you want to do, why not just sign in using the same login and at the sign in (which you get when restarting xserver) and switch the desktop to which ever one you wish ?( the choice is at the bottom of the screen) I do that with f10 cause of some set up problems and other issues which are now resolved.
hope this helps
Yes this worked nicely thank you.

[As a side note, I should say that I got a real jolt when I logged into KDE desktop with my other user account. This was not anything like the KDE desktops I have used in the past. This is really far out... (I must have gotten KDE-4 by default) Maybe I should unistall it and install KDE-3 in its place. Maybe I should stop flirting with dual desktops in dual accounts, and stick to Gnome the whole time, if this is the future direction for KDE...]

Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th January 2009, 03:40 PM
ovadyah Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: 30.5N 90.1W
Age: 63
Posts: 297
I am glad it worked. I have gone to KDE for several reasons. Looks are only secondary, I have found that my machines and the network, printing etc all work so well together when I have the KDE "software" I have never found a way to get gnome to work in some areas. I may be missing something there and may revisit that at some point.

Glad you are making progress.
__________________
Registered Linux User #452472

Homebuilt = athlon II x2 F21
Dell Inspiron = Sempron 140 W8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
desktops, problems, switching

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hotkeys for switching desktops spaze Using Fedora 6 12th December 2007 11:24 AM
Switching from Gnome to KDE desktops Newbie#2 Using Fedora 5 27th November 2006 02:20 PM
installing gnome and switching between desktops urmom9388 Using Fedora 8 28th April 2006 12:50 AM
shortcut for switching desktops g0l3m Using Fedora 1 13th July 2005 04:51 PM
Switching Desktops BaselineAce Using Fedora 6 6th November 2004 03:25 PM


Current GMT-time: 12:26 (Thursday, 02-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat