Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora and it's software that do not belong in any other forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th March 2009, 10:59 AM
oshan1991 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 44
login window "can i change my login screen in fedora 10

i have seen the option call login window in ubuntu versions so how can i change my login screen in fedora 10
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th March 2009, 06:38 AM
sonoran Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 2,312
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=207561
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th March 2009, 08:32 AM
JohnVV Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ann Arbor
Age: 47
Posts: 3,936
have fun with the fedora 8 gdm ( that is a pain in the " you know what" ) or install kde and use kdm to boot into gnome like i do .
__________________
OpenSUSE 13.1-64bit & Scientific Linux 6.5-64bit ( fedora 4 to 11) and 19/20 on KVM
My Celestia Downloads

h t t p ://celestiamotherlode.net/catalog/show_creator_details.php?creator_id=10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th March 2009, 12:45 PM
oshan1991 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 44
arnt thre anyway without downgrading to f8 gdm cauz i like f10 better than f8
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th March 2009, 01:18 PM
Wayne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Why bother? how long is the log-in screen displayed? a few seconds perhaps? I haven't even bothered to configure Plymouth, I never watch my PC boot! If it was a desktop wallpaper I could understand!

If it is such a problem, either switch to KDM or failing that, Ubuntu!

Wayne
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th March 2009, 11:36 AM
sonoran Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 2,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by oshan1991 View Post
arnt thre anyway without downgrading to f8 gdm cauz i like f10 better than f8
The point of the link I posted is that you can customize the F8 gdm, and it will work in F10.

Or you could install Slim, which has good docs on customization.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13th March 2009, 08:52 PM
oshan1991 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 44
hmmmmm sounds cool how to install slim?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14th March 2009, 09:23 PM
sonoran Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sonoran Desert
Posts: 2,312
su -
(give root password at the prompt)
yum install slim

or if you don't have it already and prefer a gui:

su -
(root pw)
yum install yumex

then install slim from there.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15th March 2009, 03:33 AM
oshan1991 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 44
thanks alot
hey i went through the process from here:http://wiki.lxde.org/en/Fedora
but i couldnt find a desktop configure file in the /etc/sysconfig folder:S
but thres a file call livina config display it has the following stuff

[Configuration]
active = True
olddriver = vesa
preconfigured = aiglx

[ManualOptions]
composite = True
aiglxflag = True
kdmxgl = False
gdmxgl = False
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15th March 2009, 03:52 AM
JohnVV Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ann Arbor
Age: 47
Posts: 3,936
the desktop file in "/etc/sysconfig " must be made
For example for my kde boot into Gnome I use this
------
/etc/sysconfig/desktop
Code:
DESKTOP="GNOME"
DISPLAYMANAGER="KDE"
__________________
OpenSUSE 13.1-64bit & Scientific Linux 6.5-64bit ( fedora 4 to 11) and 19/20 on KVM
My Celestia Downloads

h t t p ://celestiamotherlode.net/catalog/show_creator_details.php?creator_id=10
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 15th March 2009, 04:59 AM
oshan1991 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 44
i did but nothin is happening y is tht i changed the permossion to 777
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 16th March 2009, 07:03 PM
mlavalle Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 38
Posts: 160
The display manager is like the front door to your house... while it's true you don't stand outside looking at it for a long period, the appearance of it can set the tone for your house... or your users experience!

I also miss being able to customise the GDM... back in the day, our family computer had a beautiful theme I did up with our wedding photo and the face-browser in a great spot to match the picture. I'd love to be able to do that again with Gnome...

One day when I have the time I will look into getting the Fedora 8 GDM installed and working or switch to KDE, but I certainly can't wait for the day when GDM has the ability to be customised once more! Is this a Fedora issue or a Gnome issue? Last I heard with Fedora 9 it was due to Gnome re-doing the GDM from scratch.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 21st March 2009, 08:32 AM
oshan1991 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnVV View Post
the desktop file in "/etc/sysconfig " must be made
For example for my kde boot into Gnome I use this
------
/etc/sysconfig/desktop
Code:
DESKTOP="GNOME"
DISPLAYMANAGER="KDE"
hmmmmm i did something like this
displaymanager="slim"

it worked but the problem is i cant c my media devises after that
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 30th October 2009, 03:09 PM
Jhinx26 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 14
windows_xp_2003ie
Is this applicable for FC11?

Thanks - Jhinx
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 31st October 2009, 12:07 PM
Jhinx26 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 14
linuxfedorafirefox
Tried in FC11 and it worked.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change, fedora, login, login window can, screen

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change login screen Fedora 10 renzokukenrd Using Fedora 13 19th October 2009 05:09 PM
Login screen "reboots" after attempted login. jorgen182 Using Fedora 12 17th September 2009 11:29 AM
Fedora Core 10: Login Window to enable automatic login bghayad Using Fedora 1 8th June 2009 04:27 PM
f10 - unable to change login window/screen untony Using Fedora 1 27th December 2008 07:51 PM
change the language for login window of fedora 8 leorex Using Fedora 0 20th February 2008 04:46 AM


Current GMT-time: 06:39 (Tuesday, 29-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat