Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 11th March 2009, 04:19 PM
schneidz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 66
how to use my internal cdma radio ?

hi i am using fc-9 live-usb on a dell latitude d620.
it has an internal cdma radio:
Code:
[root@localhost ~]# lsusb
...
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 413c:8114 Dell Computer Corp. Wireless 5700 Mobile Broadband (CDMA EV-DO) Minicard Modem
...
[root@localhost ~]# ifconfig
eth3      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:15:C5:53:C9:A6  
          inet addr:192.168.5.6  Bcast:192.168.5.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::215:c5ff:fe53:c9a6/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:2505 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2493 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:2301776 (2.1 MiB)  TX bytes:449052 (438.5 KiB)
          Interrupt:18 

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:1358 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1358 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:68060 (66.4 KiB)  TX bytes:68060 (66.4 KiB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:18:DE:92:40:BE  
          inet addr:192.168.5.3  Bcast:192.168.5.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::218:deff:fe92:40be/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:65 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:15 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:22200 (21.6 KiB)  TX bytes:4283 (4.1 KiB)

wmaster0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-18-DE-92-40-BE-F4-FF-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00  
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

[root@localhost ~]# iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth3      no wireless extensions.

wmaster0  no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11  ESSID:"hyper"  
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.462 GHz  Access Point: 00:1B:2F:E0:C5:96   
          Bit Rate=54 Mb/s   Tx-Power=14 dBm   
          Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr=2352 B   
          Encryption key:off
          Link Quality=93/100  Signal level=-37 dBm  Noise level=-76 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0

pan0      no wireless extensions.
[root@localhost ~]# dmesg
...
usb 1-2.2: Product: Novatel Wireless EXPD CDMA
usb 1-2.2: Manufacturer: Novatel Wireless Inc.
...
when i select 'auto cdma network connection' from the NetworkManager Applet 0.7.0 it seems to do nothing. i assume it will prompt me what cell network to connect to and stuff.
i am able to access the internet on my cell phone; am i able to do the same on my laptop or do i need to pay for an additional data plan from my carrier ?

i am not sure what this Novatel Wireless EXPD CDMA thing is supposed to do ?

thx
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th March 2009, 04:48 AM
schneidz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 66
i made some progress
Code:
[root@localhost ~]# wvdialconf
Editing `/etc/wvdial.conf'.

Scanning your serial ports for a modem.

Modem Port Scan<*1>: Scanning ttyUSB0 first, /dev/modem is a link to it.
WvModem<*1>: Cannot get information for serial port.
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- OK
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 Z -- OK
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 -- OK
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 -- OK
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 -- OK
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0 -- OK
ttyUSB0<*1>: Modem Identifier: ATI -- Manufacturer: NOVATEL WIRELESS INCORPORATED
ttyUSB0<*1>: Speed 9600: AT -- OK
ttyUSB0<*1>: Max speed is 9600; that should be safe.
ttyUSB0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0 -- OK
ttyS0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 2400 baud, next try: 9600 baud
ttyS0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 9600 baud, next try: 115200 baud
ttyS0<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- and failed too at 115200, giving up.
Modem Port Scan<*1>: S1   S2   S3   
WvModem<*1>: Cannot get information for serial port.
ttyUSB1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 2400 baud, next try: 9600 baud
ttyUSB1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- failed with 9600 baud, next try: 9600 baud
ttyUSB1<*1>: ATQ0 V1 E1 -- and failed too at 115200, giving up.

Found a modem on /dev/ttyUSB0, using link /dev/modem in config.
Modem configuration written to /etc/wvdial.conf.
ttyUSB0<Info>: Speed 9600; init "ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0"
[1]+  Done                    gedit /etc/wvdial.conf
[root@localhost ~]# gedit /etc/wvdial.conf &
[1] 18266
[root@localhost ~]# 
[root@localhost ~]# 
[root@localhost ~]# wvdial
--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.60
--> Cannot get information for serial port.
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATZ
ATZ
OK
--> Sending: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATDT#777
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATDT#777
CONNECT
--> Carrier detected.  Waiting for prompt.
~[7f]}#@!}!}!} }=}!}$}%\}"}&} } } } }#}%B#}%}%}&}2Rf}>}'}"}(}"`n~
--> PPP negotiation detected.
--> Starting pppd at Wed Mar 11 23:40:07 2009
--> Pid of pppd: 18307
--> Using interface ppp0
--> pppd: [10]��[08]Ț�[08]
--> pppd: [10]��[08]Ț�[08]
--> pppd: [10]��[08]Ț�[08]
--> pppd: [10]��[08]Ț�[08]
--> pppd: [10]��[08]Ț�[08]
--> Disconnecting at Wed Mar 11 23:40:18 2009
--> The PPP daemon has died: Authentication error.
--> We failed to authenticate ourselves to the peer.
--> Maybe bad account or password? (exit code = 19)
--> man pppd explains pppd error codes in more detail.
--> I guess that's it for now, exiting
--> The PPP daemon has died. (exit code = 19)
and heres my wvdial.conf:
Code:
[Dialer Defaults]
Init1 = ATZ
Init2 = ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
Modem Type = Analog Modem
ISDN = 0
Phone = #777
Modem = /dev/modem
Username = 9999999999@sprintpcs.com
Password = sprintpcs.com
Baud = 9600
does anyone know what the appropriate user/ pass for sprint would be ?
_______________

i called tech support at sprint. i am told that i need to set up another line for the laptop(unlimited data plan 59.99/mo.)

Last edited by schneidz; 12th March 2009 at 05:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cdma, internal, radio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing CDMA Modem levglonti Servers & Networking 1 31st March 2009 02:09 PM
CDMA modem vld Servers & Networking 0 23rd February 2009 06:22 PM
USB CDMA connection problem amitprabhakar Servers & Networking 0 23rd November 2007 04:43 PM
How to connect to internet using CDMA phn? maxarcher Hardware & Laptops 1 11th July 2006 07:02 PM
How to connect to internet using CDMA phn? maxarcher Hardware & Laptops 0 11th July 2006 06:38 PM


Current GMT-time: 14:05 (Sunday, 21-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat