Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 14th March 2009, 12:15 AM
nilayasundar Offline

updates for fedora 9 without internet

Is it possible to update fedora 9 without internet (after installation) (something like service packs in windows). I'm a newbie. Please help with links and complete details. no shortforms please .
Old 14th March 2009, 01:23 AM
JohnVV Offline

the short answer is NO
there are about 600 meg to over 3 gig of updates depending on what you installed ( basic or full install )

connect to the net .

h t t p ://celestiamotherlode.net/catalog/show_creator_details.php?creator_id=10
Old 14th March 2009, 01:33 AM
Demz

Quote:
Originally Posted by nilayasundar View Post
Is it possible to update fedora 9 without internet (after installation) (something like service packs in windows). I'm a newbie. Please help with links and complete details. no shortforms please .
you could get someone to download all the RPM's you need an burn them onto DvD/CD an then cd to your dvd drive or cdrom an then install them but in full as John has said you really do need internet connection as yum needs to pull in dependencies for Programs you have
Old 14th March 2009, 04:12 AM
nilayasundar Offline

I have internet connection on my laptop but not with the desktop which has fedora installed. And i also have a DVD writer and an USB as well. But where do i find the rpm and how do i identify that these are the ones i'm looking for. In windows it would just be service pack 1, 2 and 3. Any similar rpms in fedora as well. The problem with internet is that i only have a wifi internet shared with modem out of my reach for a wired internet.
Old 14th March 2009, 05:26 AM
Demz

Quote:
Originally Posted by nilayasundar View Post