Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > The Dungeon > Archived (Click Header To See Sub-Forums) > Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 11 Only)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 11 Only) Post Development Version comments and questions that don't belong in Bugzilla here. These posts will be moved or deleted once the Final version is released

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 7th April 2009, 07:53 PM
BobNutfield Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 90
Older Laptop - Possibly faster with F11?

Hello Everyone,

I have auxilliary laptop that I use as a workhorse on the move. I have been running F9 on it for several months and it worked satisfactorily. Knowing that F9 will no longer be supported sometime soon after F11 is released, I used Preupgrade and went ahead and upgraded to F10. The upgrade went fine, but there are little niggly issues that are more of an irritant than they are serious (Firefox fonts, etc.) But my main problem is that the lappy runs considerably slower now using no heavy graphics. Even screensavers just crawl now. The specs are:

Celeron M 1.4Ghz processor
1.5G memory
Intel 82852/855GM graphics

Overall, not the most powerful system, but I certainly thought it was meaty enough to run Fedora with a little pep. It has in the past, until F10.

My question is: I have read the release notes on F11 and I know faster boot times are a goal and greater general overall speed. Is it anyone's opinion that I can realize a speed increase with F11 using this laptop, or has Fedora just outgrown these specs to expect any degree of speed? I have even tried the live CD, but I know I can not get a true picture of the real performance I will get from a live CD. If I am not likely to realize any better speed performance, I will either stick with F10 for now or consider Slackware as a replacement. I would prefer to keep Fedora, but I need a little more speed.

Thanks for any thoughts

Bob
  #2  
Old 7th April 2009, 10:31 PM
hephasteus Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Age: 48
Posts: 528
You've got graphics driver problems with fedora 10. Fedora 10 is not slow.
  #3  
Old 7th April 2009, 10:48 PM
BobNutfield Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by hephasteus View Post
You've got graphics driver problems with fedora 10. Fedora 10 is not slow.
OK, thank you for that response. That is encouraging. Is there a fix? What is wrong with the Mesa driver which is being used? Is there another driver that I could use?

Thanks


Bob
  #4  
Old 8th April 2009, 01:02 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hello:

If you edit your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file
and amend/change
Driver "XXXX"
to
Driver "intel"

Save, exit and try

Ctrl Alt Backspace to restart your X server and see how it goes.

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
  #5  
Old 8th April 2009, 01:05 AM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,250
Evening, Seve! <....>
  #6  
Old 8th April 2009, 01:08 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Hey Dan.

How are things ?

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
  #7  
Old 8th April 2009, 01:24 AM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,250
Doing great. Just down here shivering and living the dream. <....> (We hit 30F last night.) But on the bright side, it slowed the weeds down a bit. <....>
  #8  
Old 8th April 2009, 01:32 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
We had a tinge of snow flakes here ..... yikes.

Nothing serious but like you, it did freeze here during the night.

It's all over now ........... I promise

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
  #9  
Old 8th April 2009, 01:51 AM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,250
I'll take your word for it ... and go fill the heaters again ... just in case. <....>

I wonder though, you guys are always generous to sending us those Arctic cold fronts. Do you ever get any of these good old Texas swelters we send up thataway?
  #10  
Old 8th April 2009, 02:15 AM
Seve Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The GTA, Ontario, Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 12,371
Well of course.

I'm no meteorologist but I think a lot of those fronts etc. (from that part of the US) are seriously moderated by the Great Lakes in this part of Ontario.

Mother Nature is looking out for us .....

Seve
__________________
Registered Linux User: #384977
.................................................. ............
See the Links below for more Help and those much wanted extras ... :)
  #11  
Old 8th April 2009, 02:35 AM
Dan Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 23,250
Dang!

Back to the drawing board! <....>
  #12  
Old 8th April 2009, 08:43 AM
BobNutfield Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seve View Post
Hello:

If you edit your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file
and amend/change
Driver "XXXX"
to
Driver "intel"

Save, exit and try

Ctrl Alt Backspace to restart your X server and see how it goes.

Seve
Thank you for that suggestion, but that is already in my xorg.conf file:

Quote:
Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "intel"
I guess that Fedor is just too heavy duty for a Celeron M 1.4GH. Just not enough to get a smooth response.

Thanks for the help

Bob
  #13  
Old 8th April 2009, 10:50 AM
cenomanien Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sablé (72), France
Posts: 30
Hello,

Have you tried, as recommended in this thread http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=207320 , modifying your xorg.conf as follows :

Code:
Section "Device"
    Identifier "Videocard0"
    Driver "intel"
    Option "AccelMethod" "XAA"
EndSection
On a laptop less gutsy than yours (Pentium M 1.3-GHz, 512-MB memory, 82852/855GM Intel graphics), F10 is running fine considering the hardware; and F11 is OK with default installation + nomodeset boot option.

Last edited by cenomanien; 8th April 2009 at 12:09 PM.
  #14  
Old 8th April 2009, 04:44 PM
Schelling Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Mazatlan, Mexico
Age: 37
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobNutfield View Post
Thank you for that suggestion, but that is already in my xorg.conf file:



I guess that Fedor is just too heavy duty for a Celeron M 1.4GH. Just not enough to get a smooth response.

Thanks for the help

Bob
Hi, I have an Asus Eeepc 900, 512 ram and a Celeron processor running Fedora 10 with Lxde instead of Gnome, and it works beautifully, maybe you should try something like that.

Raúl
__________________
La afirmación es el principio de sujeción.

Forgive my spelling, English is not my main language :)


[COLOR=Red]Linux register user: #446261
  #15  
Old 8th April 2009, 07:14 PM
BobNutfield Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by cenomanien View Post
Hello,

Have you tried, as recommended in this thread http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=207320 , modifying your xorg.conf as follows :

Code:
Section "Device"
    Identifier "Videocard0"
    Driver "intel"
    Option "AccelMethod" "XAA"
EndSection
On a laptop less gutsy than yours (Pentium M 1.3-GHz, 512-MB memory, 82852/855GM Intel graphics), F10 is running fine considering the hardware; and F11 is OK with default installation + nomodeset boot option.
Wow, what a difference. I have used this option before with Slackware to solve a problem, but it did not occur to me to try it with Fedora. Thank you. That solved it. Scrolling in firefox is now normal.

I am now going to study the notes for Fedora 11 and determine if there is any benefit to upgrading. I don't necessarily have to have the newest version, but I always upgrade shortly before the version I am using loses its support..

Thanks again for the tip.

Bob
 

Tags
f11, faster, laptop, older, possibly

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Live CD and Older Laptop LubeckTech Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 4 17th April 2009 01:33 AM
older laptop for fedora 7/8? pedora Hardware & Laptops 2 22nd November 2007 06:08 PM
cd-rom, usb and possibly automount majoros Using Fedora 2 4th July 2006 03:23 PM
Possibly need to fix my MBR, help optV Using Fedora 3 21st November 2005 09:35 AM


Current GMT-time: 10:11 (Thursday, 21-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat