Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora and it's software that do not belong in any other forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th April 2009, 03:24 AM
mikazo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7
Question Wicd on Fedora 10 will not connect to WPA/WPA2 network after install

Hi,

I just installed wicd-1.5.4 on Fedora 10, but I can't connect to WPA/WPA2 encrypted networks. I tried what it said on the main troubleshooting page on the Wicd website, but since I'm not running a Debian-based system, I don't have a /etc/network/interfaces file.

My /var/log/wicd/wicd.log file is as follows after trying to connect to an encrypted network:

Code:
2009/04/09 06:05:33 :: Attempting to authenticate...
2009/04/09 06:05:33 :: iwconfig wlan0
2009/04/09 06:05:33 :: iwconfig wlan0
2009/04/09 06:05:33 :: wpa_supplicant -B -i wlan0 -c /var/lib/wicd/configurations/001a70dfe00c -D wext
2009/04/09 06:05:33 :: iwconfig wlan0
2009/04/09 06:05:33 :: iwconfig wlan0
2009/04/09 06:05:33 :: iwconfig wlan0
2009/04/09 06:05:33 :: iwconfig wlan0
2009/04/09 06:05:33 :: Putting interface up...
2009/04/09 06:05:33 :: ifconfig wlan0 up
2009/04/09 06:05:33 :: iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
2009/04/09 06:05:33 :: ['iwconfig', 'wlan0', 'essid', 'dd-wrt', 'channel', '11', 'ap', '00:1A:70:DF:E0:0C']
2009/04/09 06:05:33 :: iwconfig wlan0
2009/04/09 06:05:33 :: iwconfig wlan0
2009/04/09 06:05:33 :: WPA_CLI RESULT IS None
2009/04/09 06:05:33 ::  iwconfig wlan0
2009/04/09 06:05:33 :: exiting connection thread
2009/04/09 06:05:33 :: iwconfig wlan0
2009/04/09 06:05:34 :: ifconfig eth0
2009/04/09 06:05:34 :: ifconfig wlan0
The last two lines repeat if Wicd is sitting idle. I have it set to use the wext driver under settings, and NetworkManager connects to any network, so I'm pretty sure it's not a driver issue. Does anyone have any ideas? Thanks.

-Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11th April 2009, 04:03 AM
Stealthgnome Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Try resetting. I updated and couldn't connect to a WEP. After I restarted, it was fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th April 2009, 04:04 AM
mikazo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7
I've tried rebooting quite a few times. Also tried reinstalling.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th April 2009, 06:50 AM
scottro Offline
Retired Community Manager -- Banned from Texas by popular demand.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,142
Was the card working previously, with either NetworkManager or command line?

This may be a card driver, rather than wicd, issue.
__________________
--
http://home.roadrunner.com/~computertaijutsu

Do NOT PM forum members with requests for technical support. Ask your questions on the forum.


"I don't know why there is the constant push to break any semblance of compatibility" --anon
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th April 2009, 12:04 PM
SomeDamFool Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Groom Lake Nevada
Posts: 491
If network manager is running try stopping it. Wicd is fickle, sometimes it works with network manager running, and sometimes it doesn't.
Mike
__________________
su -
I am root the great and powerful
Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14th April 2009, 12:37 AM
mikazo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7
I made completely sure that NetworkManager is not running at the same time as Wicd. The card works fine with NetworkManager. I've been talking to the people in #wicd on freenode IRC and they let me try out the latest build of the upcoming wicd 1.6

This fixed my problem, however only sort of. Now what I have to do every time I boot is kill the wicd-daemon and wicd-client that's currently running, then restart it with sudo wicd and wicd-client before anything works. I checked the logs and they are identical except that the first daemon fails to connect and the second daemon succeeds.

ps aux | grep wicd tells me that the daemon from boot is running as root, so that's not the problem either. Any other ideas?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
connect, fedora, install, network, wicd, wpa or wpa2

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not able to connect to WPA2 secure wireless networks with broadcom 4312 snhemanthm Servers & Networking 1 2nd February 2012 02:43 PM
Unable to connect to WPA2 network in Fedora 11 Alpha Overlord Laharl Servers & Networking 3 9th May 2009 07:25 PM
fedora 8, iwl3945 card and WPA2 encrypted network slade17 Servers & Networking 5 2nd June 2008 04:21 PM
Unable to connect to a wireless network using WPA2 Enterprise security ragas Servers & Networking 4 27th January 2008 01:58 AM
Wicd network manager orsula Servers & Networking 13 13th December 2007 05:15 PM


Current GMT-time: 04:22 (Saturday, 19-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat