Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 15th May 2009, 12:26 PM
timcoote Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 32
Preupgrade question

Hullo
I've got an f8 box that I'd like to upgrade to f10 (and maybe then f11, when it's been around a while). this is my internal home storage and toy development box. It's headless, so I prefer to use preupgrade-cli (and I'd prefer an ssh login to see what's really happening, rather than the heavily filtered fullscreen only vnc view that's currently available, but that's a different issue).

I'm testing on vmware fusion machines to get a working recipe first, which seems to work quite well.

I'm stuck at the moment because of some dependency errors, probably due to some rpm errors somewhere. for some reason nspr-4.7.2-2.fc10.i386.rpm does not get added to the rpms to install, leaving stuff like ssh(d) and rpm broken. This is easy enough to fix if I've got a console, but I haven't.

How can I coerce preupgrade to get a complete set of rpms into the upgrade process?

Another annoyance is the the preupgrade-cli process turned off sshd for the upgraded f10, which is not good for a headless device. Any suggestions on who I can make this point to?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19th May 2009, 05:02 PM
timcoote Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 32
work around to broken preupgrade-cli

just in case anyone's going to benefit, I was able to download the relevant nspr rpms (yumdownloader), extract the libraries (rpm2cpio) and then copy them *all* to /lib, after running preupgrade-cli, but before rebooting

I'm guessing that there's no bug list for this as f8 is no longer supported.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
preupgrade, question

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using preupgrade to go from F 9 to F 10 sidebrnz Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 13 23rd February 2009 03:25 AM
Why preupgrade windsea Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 9th January 2009 06:53 PM
F8 -> F9 with preupgrade can i use kde 3.5 ejgutierrez Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 20th July 2008 04:33 AM
Question about preupgrade (fc7 to fc9) burnie Fedora Focus 0 5th June 2008 05:30 PM
F7 to F9 preupgrade -- What I had to do alake Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 26th May 2008 02:21 AM


Current GMT-time: 20:39 (Monday, 22-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Van Ness Travel Photos on Instagram - Kantor bupati Rote Ndao Instagram Photos