Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 16th September 2004, 02:12 PM
mshokrey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 62
Angry i don't know how to solve it

the problem is that when i run the following :
[root@Mohammed mohammed]# CHKFONTPATH -a /usr/share/fonts/local/
i got the following reply
bash: CHKFONTPATH: command not found
[root@Mohammed mohammed]#

Plz how can i manage to run this command??????????????????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16th September 2004, 02:14 PM
ewdi Offline
Retired Admin
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Penguin Land
Age: 64
Posts: 1,939
make sure it's installed
if not get it here
mirror.linux.duke.edu/pub/ fedora/linux/core/2/i386/os/Fedora/RPMS/

or see if it's in /sbin and /usr/bin
__________________
+ Visit My new blog
- [B]SlashGear US, SlashGear Japan, and
+Founder & Admin of www.fedoraforum.org

Follow me at http://twitter.com/ewdi

Laptop : MacBook Pro 2.4Ghz 4GB DDR, 20-inch iMac Aluminium/4GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th September 2004, 02:39 PM
malex Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Age: 53
Posts: 8
maybe you have to type in lowercase.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th September 2004, 02:52 PM
mshokrey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 62
Unhappy Okay

how can i check if it is installed or not
???????????????????????????????????????????????
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th September 2004, 03:01 PM
mshokrey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 62
hey wait

i already download it and when i run it it give me the following
[root@Mohammed mohammed]# rpm -ivh chkfontpath-1.10.0-1.i386.rpm
Preparing... ########################################### [100%]
package chkfontpath-1.10.0-1 is already installed
[root@Mohammed mohammed]# chkfontpath
bash: chkfontpath: command not found
i think if means that it is already installed
so when i run the command again it give me the same message
you have any other suggests
??????????????????????????????????
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th September 2004, 03:07 PM
ghaefb Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Slovenia
Age: 31
Posts: 1,713
You need to use superuser(root) privilegies to run this command.
Run the su command like this 'su -' not just 'su'
And enter your root password.
Then try to run 'chkfontpath'. Or like this '/usr/sbin/chkfontpath'

And please read Posting guidelines about your question marks and exclamation marks
__________________
_ghaefb


blog & sysinfo
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th September 2004, 03:30 PM
blammo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: That toddlin' town...
Posts: 296
After reading the first post I typed "slocate chkfontpath" and it told me that "chkfontpath" was under /usr/sbin

Typing a path to a command is pretty basic stuff. No offense, but a Linux for Dummies book would come in handy here. Aye Carumba!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16th September 2004, 05:00 PM
mshokrey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 62
Thumbs up Thaks!

So, thank you very much for this help But, please tell what is the difference between su and su - ?
Because when i run su - this command works???
At last thank you again
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16th September 2004, 05:37 PM
ghaefb Offline
Retired Community Manager
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Slovenia
Age: 31
Posts: 1,713
When you run 'su -' the root path is set. The path of superuser is different from the path of a normal user. Usually root has /sbin and /usr/sbin included... so that's why you could run 'chkfontpath'
__________________
_ghaefb


blog & sysinfo
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16th September 2004, 05:38 PM
tashirosgt Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,961
The two commands may give you different paths. Use the command:
echo $PATH
to see your path (the directories that are automatically searched for the commands that you type).
Other things in the environment may also be different. Use the command
env
or
env | less
(type q to quit) to see your environment.
__________________
"Never let the task you are trying to accomplish distract you from the study of computers."
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 16th September 2004, 06:03 PM
mshokrey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 62
Arrow Thanks

Ok thanks for help again
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 16th September 2004, 07:07 PM
taylor65 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 806
Also, chkfontpath isn't used anymore. So it won't add any fonts for you. It's the whole thing about switching to a different font engine. I ran into this when trying to add new fonts. Do a search about this and you'll find some info about how to add fonts - it's in the release notes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
solve

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to solve this ? peturkirke Using Fedora 5 29th October 2008 06:51 PM
I cant believe no one can solve this one elgaza Using Fedora 1 21st November 2007 03:29 PM
yum - How does it solve dependencies? Borkar Using Fedora 2 7th September 2006 10:29 AM
the yum has a problem,how to solve it first007boy Using Fedora 10 27th October 2005 01:54 AM


Current GMT-time: 09:33 (Wednesday, 17-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat