Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 19th June 2009, 08:01 PM
bigods Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
Question Can browse internet but cant ping (on F10)

Hello all.

I'm using FC10 on my box at work. It is behind an anthenticated proxy for internet connection.
In Gnome, I configured the Network Proxy through the GUI, as my browsers too.

So I can browse internet pages, install packages thru Add/Remove Software GUI, but I cant do it in the command line, using yum install, for example.
Then trying to figure it out, I saw that it cant reach the package mirrors.
It isnt a DNS problem, I set the /etc/resolv.conf correctly, as the host command works correclty.
I can ping the local pcs on the network too.
Firewall is disabled.
Below some simple tests:

[rtovo@davinci ~]$ ping mirrors.fedoraproject.org
connect: Network is unreachable
[rtovo@davinci ~]$ host mirrors.fedoraproject.org
mirrors.fedoraproject.org is an alias for wildcard.fedoraproject.org.
wildcard.fedoraproject.org has address 66.35.62.166
[rtovo@davinci ~]$ ping 66.35.62.166
connect: Network is unreachable
[rtovo@davinci ~]$ ping 192.168.20.31
PING 192.168.20.31 (192.168.20.31) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.20.31: icmp_seq=1 ttl=128 time=143 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.20.31: icmp_seq=2 ttl=128 time=27.6 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.20.31: icmp_seq=3 ttl=128 time=27.5 ms
^C
--- 192.168.20.31 ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 2804ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 27.580/66.164/143.251/54.508 ms
[rtovo@davinci ~]$ sudo iptables -L
Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination
[rtovo@davinci ~]$


What could be the problem?
Tried to search the foruns, google, but nothing worked.

Thanks

Last edited by bigods; 22nd June 2009 at 03:49 AM. Reason: added info. fix typos
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24th June 2009, 04:19 PM
bigods Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
No ideas at all?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th June 2009, 05:44 PM
jimleong Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 12
Display the routing tables with "netstat -nr" , and see if you have a default route set.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th June 2009, 06:38 PM
bigods Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 4
The Gateway field was 0.0.0.0

Tried to set the gateway manually via /etc/sysconfig/network and it didn't work.

Then running route add default gw 192.168.50.1 everything worked fine!

Thanks a lot!

Last edited by bigods; 24th June 2009 at 07:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
f10, internet, network

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can ping internet, but not browse hwmax Servers & Networking 13 30th August 2006 01:57 PM
Able To Ping, But Cannot Browse logitron Servers & Networking 14 23rd November 2005 12:53 AM
Can ping internet via IP but cant browse - DNS problem rcfearn Servers & Networking 3 6th July 2005 02:26 AM
can not browse internet but can ping wireless router banner Servers & Networking 0 27th June 2005 04:06 PM


Current GMT-time: 03:45 (Tuesday, 21-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Athlone Photos on Instagram - Yefremov - Zeerust Travel Photos on Instagram